Matters economy- From the horses mouth

I'm still looking for someone to explain to me the mathematics below.

View attachment 83032
553002_e428eaf734ad2231897deeb755b05291.png

Fuel, Electricity
Okay. So going by previous numbers, that is about 20+B a month in subsidies. So 240B a year. That is double the annual budgetary allocation to fix the CBC mess. Slightly less than the development budget and 60b less than the proposed deficit cuts intended to reduce our borrowing.

So what you are basically saying is, give Kenya an aesthetic (continue borrowing) for a year or two until we eventually collapse from defaulting.

Okay. So going by previous numbers, that is about 20+B a month in subsidies. So 240B a year. That is double the annual budgetary allocation to fix the CBC mess. Slightly less than the development budget and 60b less than the proposed deficit cuts intended to reduce our borrowing.

So what you are basically saying is, give Kenya an aesthetic (continue borrowing) for a year or two until we eventually collapse from defaulting.

The previous numbers show that it cost 9-11B a month. So subsidies were approx Shs 120B a year. Kenya loses Shs 700B a year to corruption. Fight corruption to get money for subsidies. We don't have to borrow 100%.

Where are you getting your figures from? With the Unga 'subsidy' it was coming to 28-29B.

Furthermore, this fighting corruption to get money is just hot air. Nothing about it is actionable or trackable. For example, how long do we wait for the government to fight corruption so we get the money?

The Unga subsidy only costed 8B.

Why are you evading discussing the fuel and electricity subsidy? A very big percentage of fuel and electricity components are dependent on global factors. Are you saying that Kenyans should continue paying high prices until things normalise globally?

Is there any CS who inspires confidence as it seems like all of them are competing on who will utter the most ridiculous remarks
Mutua to diasporans - 'Kaeni mahali mko Kenya sio mzuri kwa sasa
Moses Kuria - Something must kill a man and Gmo is one of them
Njuguna Ndungu -' this year is going to be worse
Ruto - 'Gmo is not bad mmeona kama nimetoa matiti, lakini nikichungulia vizuri naona nimeanza kunyesha kwa hivyo name a coomer instead

Is there any CS who inspires confidence as it seems like all of them are competing on who will utter the most ridiculous remarks
Mutua to diasporans - 'Kaeni mahali mko Kenya sio mzuri kwa sasa
Moses Kuria - Something must kill a man and Gmo is one of them
Njuguna Ndungu -' this year is going to be worse
Ruto - 'Gmo is not bad mmeona kama nimetoa matiti, lakini nikichungulia vizuri naona nimeanza kunyesha kwa hivyo name a coomer instead
Moses Kuria alete ndoto zake za uchumi

Why are you evading discussing the fuel and electricity subsidy? A very big percentage of fuel and electricity components are dependent on global factors. Are you saying that Kenyans should continue paying high prices until things normalise globally?
I am not. I am just alerting you to your attempt to reduce the actual cost of the subsidies.

I genuinely agree that Kenyans should continue paying those high prices and wait for market forces to regularize.

Kenya simply cannot afford to on-board more loans to subsidise consumption. That is how we got to where we are currently.