KCSE 2024

Kwani ilisetiwana nani juu nimeona walimu wengi socia media waki complain especiallyjuu ya Chemistry na math kama huyu-

speaking of exams I came across this piece

KCSE invigilation has to be the most boring and traumatizing exercise to ever exist. And not to mention, the worst remunerated. I cannot fathom how the generations before us endured it. Or is it getting worse?
You get to sit in that examination room for 2hrs 30 mins, doing nothing. Absolutely nothing. No phones, no magazines, no nothing. Just a hard seat that presses your buttocks so hard, and wet toes from the rain water that accidentally sipped in. It is during this moment of vulnerability that you awaken all the demons in your mind.
On the first day, you sit in a corner and you hope to be the best invigilator that ever existed. As time drags by, your thoughts slowly overtake you. Because time is literally at a standstill. Within the 1st hour, you are already done counting the iron sheets and the rafters holding them together. The strength of these crooked rafters, holding the rusty iron sheets make you think of the glue that you use to hold your relationships together. There's a similarity. You begin to see your relationship through them.
You remember all your exes. From the one who told you he couldn't marry you because you were not from his tribe, and that the parents would not approve, to the one who had promised to marry you the first day you met. You also remember how you had travelled from Kangema to Mzee Wanyama NAKURU to do laundry for the love of your life. For a moment, you let out a sigh. You suddenly notice that the students have raised their eyes and they are looking at you. That's when you realise it was a heavy loud sign.
You will be very lucky if you have a supportive and understanding supervisor. One time I worked with this guy, a supervisor, who loved invigilating. I would always wonder why he loved to sit on those hard wooden seats. He would occasionally relieve me and ask me to stretch. I was lucky. I later learnt that I was in a class where girls would sit inappropriately and the guy just enjoyed the view. I had chosen to wallow in my solitude and he had chosen his hard. It's a free world.
Thirty minutes into the afternoon session, you are done counting the tiles on the floor. Woe unto you if you are in a school with CDF-funded classrooms, because apparently they are allergic to tiles. That means you would have to spend another hour or so in your ex's single room. This overstay of thoughts however, will lead you to think about your ancestral curses. By the end of the session, you will have believed that you are undoubtedly cursed. And not just you, but your father, your uncle and your uncle's uncle. And your auntie who was married thrice.
By the end of the third day, your sanity will have waved goodbye. Your thoughts are squashed. You can't seem to connect or to stick to any line in particular. You will have thought of quitting your job and starting a second-hand clothes business in the noisest market, because at this point, you are afraid your voice will also leave you from disuse.
On the brighter side, if you are a believer, you will have questioned your relationship with Christ severally. You will have tried to remember a few Bible verses off head to prove loyalty to your maker, but you will only remember, "Jesus Wept". You will realise that He is probably weeping, not for Lazarus this time, but for you. By the end of the second week, there is a possibility that you will have given your life to Christ. Not once, not twice, but three times.
By the end of the three weeks, if you are an overthinker and a writer like me, you will have published a novel; a New York bestseller. And you will have received an invitation to give a keynote speech at the University of Edinburgh, and among the audience will be the likes of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Prof. Wole Soyinka. All this will have happened during the 2hrs 45mins of the Geography paper 2 exam.
KNEC please, at least allow us to crochet. Or better still, organise a wellness program after this exercise.
#copied
#author anonymous