KCPE - nairobi candidates deducted marks?

You go on with your lesson. Tell how this distribution is done. And then answer my questions above.

Why can't allow the first past the post?
Ok. Naona umeogopa kufikiria. Let me do it for you 😁😁😁😁.

1) You could say that since there are 3+7+9=19 cows and 250kgs, you share the feeds equally amongst the cows. That would mean around 12.5kgs per cow, meaning kamau gets 37.5kgs, Otieno 87.5kgs and Mueni 112.5kgs.

What that means is that you have deducted Kamau 12.5kgs, Otieno 62.5Kgs and Mueni has just got an extra 2kgs. That is the layman's understanding of moderation.

2) You may take 250/310= 81% and thereby give everyone 81% of the feeds requirements.
So Kamau gets 40kgs, missing 10
Atieno gets 121,missing 29
Mueni gets 89, missing 21.
This looks fair enough. Doesn't it? However, we haven't considered that some.cows may be weaker than others and therefore will continue being weaker while the fattest ones continue being fatter.

3) Alternatively, you could give each person a β…“ of 250 kgs (83Kgs) to share it amongst their cows. That means Kamau gets more than he needs, but then it's democracy. One man, 1kg. This is the approach exams would take without moderation.

4) Finally, you could go scientific and bring a vet to check the cows and see which ones are most affected and give them something fair enough to make their health almost at per with the rest. So he may recommend that Mueni's malnourished cows get 120kgs, Kamau's average cows get 50kgs and Otieno's overfed cows get 80kgs. He will promise that at the end of the season, all the 19 cows will be at per.
This is now scientific normalization.

Tumwelewanwa?
If not, then just take the solution @Meria proposed. Give all the cows and the feeds to Mueni. Then borrow her 😺.

😁😁😁😁

1) You could say that since there are 3+7+9=19 cows and 250kgs, you share the feeds equally amongst the cows. That would mean around 12.5kgs per cow, meaning kamau gets 37.5kgs, Otieno 87.5kgs and Mueni 112.5kgs.

What that means is that you have deducted Kamau 12.5kgs, Otieno 62.5Kgs and Mueni has just got an extra 2kgs. That is the layman's understanding of moderation.

2) You may take 250/310= 81% and thereby give everyone 81% of the feeds requirements.
This looks fair enough. Doesn't it? However, we haven't considered that some.cows may be weaker than others and therefore will continue being weaker while the fattest ones continue being fatter.

3) Alternatively, you could give each person a β…“ of 250 kgs (83Kgs) to share it amongst their cows. That means Kamau gets more than he needs, but then it's democracy. One man, 1kg. This is the approach exams would take without moderation.

4) Finally, you could go scientific and bring a vet to check the cows and see which ones are most affected and give them something fair enough to make their health almost at per with the rest. So he may recommend that Mueni's malnourished cows get 120kgs, Kamau's average cows get 50kgs and Otieno's overfed cows get 80kgs. He will promise that at the end of the season, all the 19 cows will be at per.

Tumwelewanwa?
If not, then just take the solution @Meria proposed. Give all the cows and the feeds to Mueni. Then borrow her 😺.

😁😁😁😁

Njeege! 😁😁😁

Going by scenario 4 in your example. The exam scores from KNEC are used for
1. Determining each child's performance relative to the rest of the candidate (percentile)
2. Comparing trends in subject performance across a number of years.
3. Comparing performance between schools and across different geographic regions.

Your scenario only discusses resource allocation, which I understand to be form 1 slots in public school. Is my interpretation correct?

Njeege! 😁😁😁

Going by scenario 4 in your example. The exam scores from KNEC are used for
1. Determining each child's performance relative to the rest of the candidate (percentile)
2. Comparing trends in subject performance across a number of years.
3. Comparing performance between schools and across different geographic regions.

Your scenario only discusses resource allocation, which I understand to be form 1 slots in public school. Is my interpretation correct?
You are a wise man.
Yes, that is the correct interpretation.

Tumwelewanwa?

😁😁😁😁
Sawa cherera.

You are a wise man.
Yes, that is the correct interpretation.
You are still njeege 😁😁😁.

Now tell us how a system that's optized to "allocate" form 1 slots can also be used to objectively measure performance.

If you decrease the highest scores and imcrease the lowest scores aren't you "slowing the horse, so that the donkey can catch up"?

You are still njeege 😁😁😁.

Now tell us how a system that's optized to "allocate" form 1 slots can also be used to objectively measure performance.

If you decrease the highest scores and imcrease the lowest scores aren't you "slowing the horse, so that the donkey can catch up"?
That's exactly the point.
Kwani what were you all along thinking is the objective? It's to make the slowest horse as fast as the fastest donkey.

Mzeiya is the top ranked senator in KSCE history
By the way, the record for KCPE marks was hit in our year, 2003. This lad, Nyakundi who got 486 marks. How nuts is that? And kuzidi, he was in those private boarding schools za Kirinyaga if I'm not wrong.
I wonder where he ende up and whether he got a booster to his overall marks.

By the way, the record for KCPE marks was hit in our year, 2003. This lad, Nyakundi who got 486 marks. How nuts is that? And kuzidi, he was in those private boarding schools za Kirinyaga if I'm not wrong.
I wonder where he ende up and whether he got a booster to his overall marks.
Had he been in Nairobi, he would have had 450. The top candidate has almost always been from mashinani. Very unfair to Nairobi based pupils.