its always adivisable to go with a qualified mechanic while purchasing a truck.

Before you replace any part have the vehicle checked some mechanics can sell you all the parts they have in store that fits your car .
Not related to the problems you are currently experiencing but genuine OEM oil filter , a reputable brand air filter Bosch , Herth & Buss , Blueprint or if you can get a Denso . For oil get Aisin thank me later .These are parts you can buy ukae nazo in readiness for the next service .Available from Toyotsu next time unakuja Nairobi .

View attachment 61342
Zapp mimi huservice TOTAL Machakos, air cleaner oil and oil filter nabuy hapo tu. I suspect some shitty fuel messed my car.

Hapo Total ya machakos salimia Mutune. Used to service there but they lack original and specific parts.

Weuh! btw my car imeloose power of late, googled all the possible problems and I've settled on a faulty fuel filter. Time mafuta ilienda 'missing' my car was jerking like crazy when cruising over 80km/hr, the problem went off on its own,probably mafuta mbaya. Wakuu, what else could be wrong?
Sounds like your vehicle has received a hardware update. I am ashamed to say I am jealous you have somehow managed to acquire massage seats na venye economy ni mbaya.

Shida ya some petrol stations they service using ile oil ya drum .Some time they might not have your recommended viscosity so wanatumia what they have .This in turn affects your fuel economy and causes engine wear at low temperatures.
The oil filter is a critical part too .Inside that filter is a bypass valve that is supposed to open at a specific pressure . Getting the wrong filter means the valve will open at the wrong pressure rating .For instance an OE Subaru filter bypass valve is rated at 23 PSI .This in simple terms means whenever the oil pressure is below 23 all the oil must go through the filter element .Any pressure beyond 23 will force the valve to open to create a free flow .That means if you get a Teson cheapie with a rating of 12 PSI the valve will be open earlier than OE allowing unfiltered oil to circulate back to the engine .This is almost as bad as having no filter .
A higher rated filter would restrict oil flow and starve your engine at high RPMs.
The same with a bad air filter .Get a bad one and dust will go past the filter and mess up your butterfly valve .
Buy OE service parts na chances za kufungua engine in the car lifetime zitapungua .

@Introvert correct me where I am wrong .

Before you replace any part have the vehicle checked some mechanics can sell you all the parts they have in store that fits your car .
Not related to the problems you are currently experiencing but genuine OEM oil filter , a reputable brand air filter Bosch , Herth & Buss , Blueprint or if you can get a Denso . For oil get Aisin thank me later .These are parts you can buy ukae nazo in readiness for the next service .Available from Toyotsu next time unakuja Nairobi .

View attachment 61342
Your responses are usually very helpful and well thought out. Ni kama comment section ya Indian educational videos. Good stuff 👏🏾

Shida ya some petrol stations they service using ile oil ya drum .Some time they might not have your recommended viscosity so wanatumia what they have .This in turn affects your fuel economy and causes engine wear at low temperatures.
The oil filter is a critical part too .Inside that filter is a bypass valve that is supposed to open at a specific pressure . Getting the wrong filter means the valve will open at the wrong pressure rating .For instance an OE Subaru filter bypass valve is rated at 23 PSI .This in simple terms means whenever the oil pressure is below 23 all the oil must go through the filter element .Any pressure beyond 23 will force the valve to open to create a free flow .That means if you get a Teson cheapie with a rating of 12 PSI the valve will be open earlier than OE allowing unfiltered oil to circulate back to the engine .This is almost as bad as having no filter .
A higher rated filter would restrict oil flow and starve your engine at high RPMs.
The same with a bad air filter .Get a bad one and dust will go past the filter and mess up your butterfly valve .
Buy OE service parts na chances za kufungua engine in the car lifetime zitapungua .

@Introvert correct me where I am wrong .
Weuh, Zapp I salute you, over to you @Introvert.

Lori hazina spark plugs
469875_ce1962c14da22c969e664560e098b2bc.gif

Weuh! btw my car imeloose power of late, googled all the possible problems and I've settled on a faulty fuel filter. Time mafuta ilienda 'missing' my car was jerking like crazy when cruising over 80km/hr, the problem went off on its own,probably mafuta mbaya. Wakuu, what else could be wrong?
Seems like a fuel pump on its way out to me. Check if the problem occurs after driving for some kilometres and if it is accompanied by unexplained stalling and some pungent out of the ordinary smell.

hii shida ya fuel pump huwa sana sana wa wale watu wa kuzoea ku drive with the fuel warning light on .
Story za muguka base aka old wives tales. Unataka kusema pump inaokotanga uchafu chini ya tank? There are 1001 reasons why a fuel pump would fail and driving on empty ain't one of them at least to us motoring purists. To start with, there is a sieve at the base of the pickup tube to sieve out any impurities in the tank. Secondly, it is often explained by misguided motoring "gurus" like JM Baraza that the pump will fail as a result of running dry tank ikiwa empty. Hii pia ni umeffi since the car would stall at the first sign of the pump's inability to pick up fuel. Over to you @Introvert in studio.

Story za muguka base aka old wives tales. Unataka kusema pump inaokotanga uchafu chini ya tank? There are 1001 reasons why a fuel pump would fail and driving on empty ain't one of them at least to us motoring purists. Over to you @Introvert in studio.
Sija mention uchafu , the dirt can be filtered by the kichungi but to the best of my knowledge the pump uses the fuel to dissipate some of the heat generate when the pump is working (Every time ignition is on the pump is on ).
Insufficient cooling might lead to premature failure.

Sija mention uchafu , the dirt can be filtered by the kichungi but to the best of my knowledge the pump uses the fuel to cool .
Theoretically you are right but practically, your argument presents a logical fallacy. How do we explain the thousands of vehicles that rarely "taste" fuel worth more than 1000 but with perfectly working fuel pumps? Consider the basic design of a typical fuel pump housing that is usually mated to the fuel gauge. Granted, at no point will the pump be submerged in fuel to aid in cooling as you theorise. No?

Mkuu , i might be wrong na ukuwe right or vice versa .Wacha tuone others watasema aje . We learn something new everyday .

The pump is submerged to aid cooling.

"Fuel Pump 101: The Basics of Fuel Pump Diagnosis and Repair | 2017-10-24 | Auto Service Professional" https://www.autoserviceprofessional...-the-basics-of-fuel-pump-diagnosis-and-repair

Ironical/Satirical, i need help. You should be a literature teacher. We need a mechanical faga right here you know!
Haha, wacha nisaidie. Kama gari inatingika it means the vehicle is having trouble generating power to drive the pistons. Possibly the fuel you suggested was not igniting properly which then meant the explosion was not driving down the pistons efficiently. If the issue persists you need to have the engine looked at in case some further damage occured. Sijui kama nimekusaidia mwarimu ama niite ule makanika.

Kuna time pia my 1st jalopy was shaking whenever I braked.. Kumbe it was worn-out brake disks. You can also cross check that