How to start your own ISP

AU5

If you are tired of the speeds of your current ISP maybe you can become your own ISP and provide internet to your neighbours. In most European Countries there are lots of neighbourhood ISP providers giving people faster speeds at cheaper prices. I think we can replicate the same in Kenya, what do you think?

an example is this guy from California US

or these guys in Detroit

Did some research and came across this blog that has detailed guide for what you need and the costs plus how to set them up https://startyourownisp.com/

Step by Step Guide#
Step 1: Evaluate an Area: Make sure your area is a good candidate for a Wireless Internet network.

Step 2: Find a Fiber Provider: Find a building where you can purchase a fiber connection and use the rooftop to start your wireless network.

Step 3: Find Relay Sites: Extend your network wirelessly toward your customers.

Step 4: Pick a Hardware Platform: Evaluate available options for wireless hardware.

Step 5: Billing and Customer Management: Make sure you’re able to get paid and support your customers.

Step 6: Network Topology: Design your network topology to make your network reliable and scalable. Routers, switches, IP addresses, VLANs, etc.

Step 7: Build your Infrastructure: Install hardware for your fiber connection and your relay sites.

Step 8: Install a Customer: Get your first customer online!

Step 9: Marketing: Let people know about your service so they can experience a better Internet connection!

Step 10: Maintenance: Keep your network running smoothly, even in bad weather.

Here is the link to their spreadsheet with cost break down

Here is what the say about the speeds you need

You probably need less than you think. A 1Gbps fiber connection will easily serve 500-800 customers, regardless of the speed plans you offer. Interestingly, customers don’t tend to use more data in total with higher speed packages - the average usage on the fiber connection ends up being about the same regardless of what speed plans you offer.

So Magwiji, which ISPs can provide fiber connection of 1Gbps in Kenya?
Also, what do you think of this concept? Let's discuss

Idea iko chonjo.what are the cost implications in Ke.how much does CA charge? Will the big boys allow you to use their fiber in an area they are already serving?kuna time Zulu waliniletea shida juu ya kusambaza net.....

CA license itself will cost you several mirrions.
Add the switching and routing equipment several mirrions.
Add billing infrastructure. Hapo ata sins idea what you would use, leave alone the costs.

But if you have wherewithal to the tune of several tens of mirrions,its a worthy idea.

CA license itself will cost you several mirrions.
Add the switching and routing equipment several mirrions.
Add billing infrastructure. Hapo ata sins idea what you would use, leave alone the costs.

But if you have wherewithal to the tune of several tens of mirrions,its a worthy idea.

if you went through hiyo google sheets ungeona cost breakdown ya Billing, switching and routing equipment

Idea iko chonjo.what are the cost implications in Ke.how much does CA charge? Will the big boys allow you to use their fiber in an area they are already serving?kuna time Zulu waliniletea shida juu ya kusambaza net.....

angalia hiyo Gugu sheets, only extra charges might be on taxation especially when importing

If you are tired of the speeds of your current ISP maybe you can become your own ISP and provide internet to your neighbours. In most European Countries there are lots of neighbourhood ISP providers giving people faster speeds at cheaper prices. I think we can replicate the same in Kenya, what do you think?

or these guys in Detroit

Did some research and came across this blog that has detailed guide for what you need and the costs plus how to set them up https://startyourownisp.com/

Step by Step Guide#
Step 1: Evaluate an Area: Make sure your area is a good candidate for a Wireless Internet network.

Step 2: Find a Fiber Provider: Find a building where you can purchase a fiber connection and use the rooftop to start your wireless network.

Step 4: Pick a Hardware Platform: Evaluate available options for wireless hardware.

Step 5: Billing and Customer Management: Make sure you’re able to get paid and support your customers.

Step 6: Network Topology: Design your network topology to make your network reliable and scalable. Routers, switches, IP addresses, VLANs, etc.

Step 7: Build your Infrastructure: Install hardware for your fiber connection and your relay sites.

Step 9: Marketing: Let people know about your service so they can experience a better Internet connection!

liquid hudai they can do such, lakini sijui their coverage

badala ya kuleta noma that should be a wakeup call to them that there is a market they are not servicing and that is the main reason for such ideas. Kuna places kadhaa Kasarani especially huko Mwiki there exist markets for such. Akina Safcom, Zuku are birdboxing such people yet they need internet

Wanacheki ni kama unaiba customers wao.
liquid hudai they can do such, lakini sijui their coverage
Have you spoken to them?wacha niwatumie mail nione kama watarespond.

or these guys in Detroit

Step by Step Guide#

It's a little too late for such an idea. Safaricom is doing last mile connection. Zuku is doing the same and even topping up with TV. You will buy from them. They become your competitor! 4G unlimited by Safaricom indicates that when 5G is rolled out, we may have so cheap bundles or unlimited internet for free like S. Korea.

Never implement such a solution where there is fibre already. Take it to the outskirts. Where fast internet will reach 'slowly'.

I know a guy using Safaricoms unlimited 4G to serve county office. The county pays 10K PM, guy pays safcom 3K PM. And everyone is happy coz that place fibre and WiMax are a no no. Miti mingi

It's a little too late for such an idea. Safaricom is doing last mile connection. Zuku is doing the same and even topping up with TV. You will buy from them. They become your competitor! 4G unlimited by Safaricom indicates that when 5G is rolled out, we may have so cheap bundles or unlimited internet for free like S. Korea.

Never implement such a solution where there is fibre already. Take it to the outskirts. Where fast internet will reach 'slowly'.

I know a guy using Safaricoms unlimited 4G to serve county office. The county pays 10K PM, guy pays safcom 3K PM. And everyone is happy coz that place fibre and WiMax are a no no. Miti mingi
there are many areas and estates where faiba ni rumor

Reactions: AU5

Tembea Nairobi bradhe.

Also if you can say sell 20Mbps for like 2k, you can undercut Safaricom and Zuku who sell it at 5k. which is still expensive as fuck because we need to get to such levels

1584023756499.webp

1584023788019.webp

1584023821672.webp

1584023866497.webp

That is what competition gives you, having only Safaricom will create a monopoly, Monopolies are rarely innovative plus they dictate prices. Having more isps including the indipended guys that I am proposing will give us better speeds at competitive prices

there are many areas and estates where faiba ni rumor
Sure. But the cost vs benefit may not make sense at this century. In those areas without fibre, people use data bundles. And those areas not targeted by the big guys, it's simply a cost benefit analysis thing.

Support for such small network that you charge people 1500 -2000 monthly on a shared net, will make you go crazy! Big guys have economies if scale, you? Trying to survive the economy!

Used to work very well 10 years ago. We had bought capacity from KDN now liquid and they would map clients on our router. Kitu unanunua ni loops and that way, you'd connect clients all over the country using their network.
Tulinukisha kitunguu sana until Zuku walipoingia estates and 4G became prevalent and our clients were churning at a higher rate than we could replace them.

Used to work very well 10 years ago. We had bought capacity from KDN now liquid and they would map clients on our router. Kitu unanunua ni loops and that way, you'd connect clients all over the country using their network.
Tulinukisha kitunguu sana until Zuku walipoingia estates and 4G became prevalent and our clients were churning at a higher rate than we could replace them.
Well said. Time for "selling internet" is over. What I advice is targeting a dense middle income estate or group of estates. Provide free wifi internet, then push advertisement on the landing page and since the router is yours create pop up messages on browser.

Have delivery services specific to the estate. Like the mama mbona kiosk around. People can order on your internet at a small fee. Then charge premium for super speeds with no adverts and timed disconnection to bring people back to the mikrotik landing page.

People are lazy. if I can order bread and is delivered at 5bob extra. I will be ok. Especially if shops are far from my house. If I can get contacted to a plumber electrician within the estate......I will be a darling of that internet. Soon you will have sponsored Ads.

Thank me later.

I have a client in need of internet connection along Tara Road ,off Kiambi Road .Liquid Telecom wako na fiber along Tara road all the way to horse shoe village but wamekuwa wagumu to offer a solution .They are useless bunch of people.The other reliable ISP would have been Safaricom but they don't have fiber in that place yet . I am contemplating signing the client to Safaricom 4g unlimited .

Good idea. Bora ukishapea safcom 3k yao ubaki na kakitu. Uko poa. Coz client will be happy.