Greed In most Kenyan businesses

Such greed wont take you

Tell that to Apple. Airpods go for about Sh17,000. They are plastic and cheap metal. You think they cost Sh16,980 to make? They're outdoing big tech companies in revenue. If that's not going far, I don't know what is.

Screenshot_20210725-132023_Twitter.jpg

Hakuna kitu kama reasonable. If you can't get it elsewhere, or if you don't know where to get them, I'll price it how I want. I used to get some stuff I won't name for Sh19 in China and I sold them for Sh750. They moved like hot cakes until people flooded the market with them. Now they go for about Sh80 which is still a huge margin. I still have an ad with Sh580 as the price and it gets orders every now and again.
If its a labour contract I will give the prices for local hardware uende ujitafutie... what most client tend to do they rush to gikomba thinking it cheaper than the local hardware but once you include transport unakuta you didn't save shit .....
But for supply and fix I will give the prices that are slightly lower than the local hardware which in any case you were still willing to buy from .... mimi I if relationship with ppl or companies who will gives a good discount sijui mbona inakuasha.
Just sums up my findings greed is real in the business environment. People do your due deligence lest you get slapped with the stupid tax.

It's not greed its business.... assuming you wanted to buy a car and you had option to buy it from a dealership or import it.... but after doing you due diligence on importation ukaona hio hustle hautaki and you end buying from the dealership.... months later you find out it was cheaper for you to import are you going to go back to the dealership to ask for a better discount?
And a 15% - 20% Mark up for a product is very normal. Do your homework.

Fixed that for you.
I know you will catch feelings but the reason Somalis are soo "good" in business is because most have an exactly opposite philosophy in business which aimes at reasonable profits while relying on volumes. As a Somali am totally disgusted at your business mentality, its pure greed and robbery. This is why most people prefer Somali business whethere be in Luthuli, Restaurants (huge servings) or the clothing sector in Eastleigh. This model keeps you in business for long then a greedy short sighted person like you tries to compete in the same industry and when you fail start lamenting "ohh waria hawalipi tax blah blah" :LOL:

It's not greed its business.... assuming you wanted to buy a car and you had option to buy it from a dealership or import it.... but after doing you due diligence on importation ukaona hio hustle hautaki and you end buying from the dealership.... months later you find out it was cheaper for you to import are you going to go back to the dealership to ask for a better discount?
And a 15% - 20% Mark up for a product is very normal. Do your homework.
Are you seriously trying to justify selling a product at 3400 when its retail price is 2800 in the same market? This is called ripping off your customers and although might be legal but socially its a degenerate thing to do. Or is ripping off consumers a business strategy now?

blocked board retail @ 2800 ? Where kesho call comply who are actual manufacturers watakupea io bei 3300 ata gikomba ni 3300 ....... you honestly think all the traders in gikomba don't know they can sell more if they lowered the price to 2950 or something...and the boards from uganda which you talking about are made by Chinese company and they aint shit. Most fundis will advise you against using them.

blocked board retail @ 2800 ? Where kesho call comply who are actual manufacturers watakupea io bei 3300 ata gikomba ni 3300 ....... you honestly think all the traders in gikomba don't know they can sell more if they lowered the price to 2950 or something...and the boards from uganda which you talking about are made by Chinese company and they aint. Most fundis will advise you against using them.
Nigga English do you speak it. I can get you genuine Grade A blockboard in Gikomba right now at 2800. And you call yourself a builder utter incompetence. It seems you're also not safe from the stupid tax :ROFLMAO:

Hakuna kitu kama reasonable. If you can't get it elsewhere, or if you don't know where to get them, I'll price it how I want. I used to get some stuff I won't name for Sh19 in China and I sold them for Sh750. They moved like hot cakes until people flooded the market with them. Now they go for about Sh80 which is still a huge margin. I still have an ad with Sh580 as the price and it gets orders every now and again.
Exactly the problem I was highlighting. Afadhali niuze reasonably nikuwe na customers milele kuliko niweke profit margin ya juu nikule for six months to a year before the competition comes kunirusha ndani ya kaburi la sahau. Customers are only loyal to their pockets

Greedy people will never comprehend such a business philosophy and its what has made walmart and Carrefour international brands

Nigga English do you speak it. I can get you genuine Grade A blockboard in Gikomba right now at 2800. And you call yourself a builder utter incompetence. It seems you're also not safe from the stupid tax :ROFLMAO:
Yep, imported boards from India and uganda is 2800 but comply/ locally manufactured board retails @ ksh3300 wacha ujinga.

I know you will catch feelings but the reason Somalis are soo "good" in business is because most have an exactly opposite philosophy in business which aimes at reasonable profits while relying on volumes. As a Somali am totally disgusted at your business mentality, its pure greed and robbery. This is why most people prefer Somali business whethere be in Luthuli, Restaurants (huge servings) or the clothing sector in Eastleigh. This model keeps you in business for long then a greedy short sighted person like you tries to compete in the same industry and when you fail start lamenting "ohh waria hawalipi tax blah blah" :LOL:

I have paid hefty Stupid Man Tax countless times to Somalis that you're praising.

I don't catch feelings, I try to get a better deal.

Me too, bro.

We now go back to where we begun. What's reasonable is what the largest number of customers are willing to pay. Maximizing volumes and numbers.

Apple produces airpods at less than Sh1,000. Customers are willing to pay, and do pay, Sh17,000 for them. Is that reasonable?

I don't know what the fuss is isn't this what free market advocates for, willing seller willing buyer, market forces of demand and supply control prices, if you're not keen enough to do research you will pay stupid tax

She did nothing wrong.... if you had a bq that is exact price that will be in it. Ata ukienda comply you will not find the boards for less that 3250.
Funny how across the road from Comply is Timsales. Comply sources their boards from Timsales and adds a mark up. Problem is,Timsales usually sells all their products to other and are left selling 'our of stock' to individual clients.

Yet the op thinks he has discovered Kryptonite it fucking business.... and when you go to gikomba you will find boards bearing stickers from both companies selling for the same retail price of ksh3300.

Maybe what contractors should consider is giving attractive prices of the materials to their clients and instead charge more for their professional service. This way you make it clear to the client that you are charging for your skills, experience and efforts in building relationships/supply networks. Of course you are not obligated to reveal your suppliers. That way a smart client would feel less cheated and build more trust, which is a source of future business