Govt Introduces Rule Requiring All Landlords to Install CCTV Cameras

Mishale

Govt Introduces Rule Requiring All Landlords to Install CCTV Cameras
  • By Paul Kurgat on 28 July 2021 - 5:17 pm

CCTV cameras in Nairobi

Twitter

The government will have access to Close Circuit Television (CCTV) cameras in all public facilities should a new CCTV policy be passed by parliament.
In the new CCTV Policy, the government seeks to have direct access to CCTV cameras mounted in institutions, businesses and facilities within public areas.
These include offices, schools, universities, restaurants and pubs, shopping malls and hotels.

g

CCTV footage released by an Airbnb in Nairobi
File

Owners of the various institutions will be required to remit to the ministry raw footage recorded by their CCTV cameras every three months (quarterly).
In addition, the ministry demands the cameras to be installed in all public areas across the country. The installed CCTVs will have to be registered with the relevant authorities.

The owners will be mandated to ensure the cameras operate 24/7 and report any malfunctions immediately when they occur.

They will further be required to report all security-related incidences captured by the cameras to the relevant authorities. Failure to comply with the policy would warrant closure of businesses, fines and even a jail sentence if proven guilty in a court of law.
Installation of CCTV cameras that will cover police stations, State House and military camps is unlawful.

don't know how true this is, and if it will be passed.
time to make money through importation of CCTV Cameras

Let the government procure, install and maintain these cameras only in government institutions as they see fit.

Any other public space it's illegal to install surveillance willy nilly as it also risks being defeated by existing data privacy laws.
but most businesses have CCTV cameras just that they don't hand over the footage to the authorities.
if the law is adjusted to, "must keep footage for three months and submit to a court of law for any case requiring the footage" be better?

in the near future, the world will have to relook the "privacy laws" for everyone's sake

If I were operating a business center in Githurai, Kasarani or (insert your village here), I would install that CCTV. Most stall tenants would like to have it installed. In fact most of mpesa stalls have them installed.

If I had footage facing a public place (road, park, etc), I wouldn't mind sharing it with the authorities at any time, live or otherwise. However, I wouldn't share footage collected within the premises without concurrence of the tenant(s) or a court order. People have reasonable expectations of privacy.

The authorities must make it is to collect that footage. They could run a utility cable or WIFI to my premises to enable collection of that data. They should pay for data collection and storage. Private business is not in the business of subsidizing government business. I think a clever lawyer can have that clause of mandatory repair get thrown out on constitutional ground. Something like making it criminal to get broke.

If I were operating a business center in Githurai, Kasarani or (insert your village here), I would install that CCTV. Most stall tenants would like to have it installed. In fact most of mpesa stalls have them installed.

If I had footage facing a public place (road, park, etc), I wouldn't mind sharing it with the authorities at any time, live or otherwise. However, I wouldn't share footage collected within the premises without concurrence of the tenant(s) or a court order. People have reasonable expectations of privacy.

The authorities must make it is to collect that footage. They could run a utility cable or WIFI to my premises to enable collection of that data. They should pay for data collection and storage. Private business is not in the business of subsidizing government business. I think a clever lawyer can have that clause of mandatory repair get thrown out on constitutional ground. Something like making it criminal to get broke.
Your IP address is public facing. How would you like admin to sell or distribute it to a third party without your knowledge or consent.... Simply because it is a public IP address. ama cookies which track your movement all around the internet.

PS: Magdalena, if you do that kind of sh*t, stop.

Your IP address is public facing. How would you like admin to sell or distribute it to a third party without your knowledge or consent.... Simply because it is a public IP address. ama cookies which track your movement all around the internet.

PS: Magdalena, if you do that kind of sh*t, stop.

I don't know what you are talking about. Elaborate on IP examples.

When you walk in downtown Nairobi, or many other suburbs, in a public place, expect to be filmed repeatedly. You are not entitled to privacy in a public place. That's why the government can install all those CCTV cameras all over. However, you have reasonable expectations of privacy within your own premises (whether residential or commercial).

I don't know what you are talking about. Elaborate on IP examples.

When you walk in downtown Nairobi, or many other suburbs, in a public place, expect to be filmed repeatedly. You are not entitled to privacy in a public place. That's why the government can install all those CCTV cameras all over. However, you have reasonable expectations of privacy within your own premises (whether residential or commercial).
Sorry, too tired to give a CCNA class. Privacy expectations are universal. They do not start and stop at your gate only. The footage captured at say a traffic stop is only used in a court of law as evidence for an ongoing case. Any other footage is protected from exposure by data privacy laws and is deleted after a predefined time.
tenor (12).gif

I am concerned about the repository for the collected footage. Does the govt have the capacity to store all the submitted footage ama hii ni saga kama ile ya speed governors?

Makes sense from a security point of view, let them work on the privacy issues, though don't know how much is possible for surveillance videos.

I am concerned about the repository for the collected footage. Does the govt have the capacity to store all the submitted footage ama hii ni saga kama ile ya speed governors?
itakua kaa hio ya speed governors na ya speed cameras, traffic lights..........