Government set to demolish 800 homes that have grabbed Ngong Forest land

Cortedivoire

More than 800 homes will be brought down as the government moves to recover and reclaim grabbed land that was hived off Ngong forest
Targeted areas are Royal Park, Sunvalley I and II, Lang’ata Gardens, Langa’ta View Gardens, Forest Edge, Kenya Medical Association Estate and St Mary’s Hospital,

More than 800 homes will be brought down as the government moves to recover and reclaim grabbed land that was hived off Ngong forest
Targeted areas are Royal Park, Sunvalley I and II, Lang’ata Gardens, Langa’ta View Gardens, Forest Edge, Kenya Medical Association Estate and St Mary’s Hospital,

And they will run to court, get injunctions to kingdom come. Hii ni vitisho baridi

105809926_4241673609205997_6248802182801975414_n.jpg

In all fairness, they deserve compensation from the government should the evictions happen. These areas were not settled overnight. Various sections of the government gave credence to this settlement through acts of omission and commission. As a third party, how am I supposed to suspect that a property is fraudulent when the deed checks as genuine from the relevant authorities?

At this rate perhaps it is time to pause and commission a study into how many homes and properties are built on public land, forest land and communal land all over the country, 800 homeowners suddenly becoming homeless does not help our bid to alleviate poverty.

Considering the fact that in most fraudulent land deals government officials were complicit plenty of innocent buyers stand to lose their hardearned properties, besides, the properties already built represents the nation's collective wealth, we need to find ways to achieve both goals concurrently.

In all fairness, they deserve compensation from the government should the evictions happen. These areas were not settled overnight. Various sections of the government gave credence to this settlement through acts of omission and commission. As a third party, how am I supposed to suspect that a property is fraudulent when the deed checks as genuine from the relevant authorities?
Sir, I totally disagree. These parcels were flagged a long time ago. Even a cursory look can tell you that they are on illigal land. My taxes should not be used to pay for stupidity.

Mbona sisi watu tumekaa Langata kutoka karne ya kumi hatukununua?

I have always known hii area italeta noma. Watu wamejenga almost on top of graves za Langata Cemetry. And for some reasons many are Somalis..
True.
As late as 1997, near dog unit there's a pond that was very good for meditating.
Occasionally one could see an antelope and buffalo dung.
Then KMA sprung up and St Mary's, then everywhere got built up.
Later, it became difficult to access Langata through the forest from Bomas after they started walling up that place so Omosh's walk route had be changed.
The construction of those exquisite Cytonn homes by the stream ruined Omosh's duf mpararo joint.
WP_20151023_002.jpg

True.
As late as 1997, near dog unit there's a pond that was very good for meditating.
Occasionally one could see an antelope and buffalo dung.
Then KMA sprung up and St Mary's, then everywhere got built up.
Later, it became difficult to access Langata through the forest from Bomas after they started walling up that place so Omosh's walk route had be changed.
The construction of those exquisite Cytonn homes by the stream ruined Omosh's duf mpararo joint.
View attachment 16404
Wabomoe hizo manyumba people learn a lesson. Na wakimaliza hapo wateremke pale Wilson..........aerodrome imekuwa kama cattle boma with manyattas all around.........

Uchungu itakuwa mingi sana.
Wololo.
Umeona vile Tobiko amesema. Nimecheka. Eti they are going to create a corridor across Langata Road and release the NNPark lions to sort them out..........Ha ha ha ha!

“We’ll go by the legal notice that gazetted the forest, and not the titles to recover the land, and those who bought can go and recover their money from whoever sold the land to them. We’re not going to spend our time ‘squabbling’ with anybody; we will simply fence you in and release the animals,” the CS said.

He added: “We’ll not bother ourselves taking anybody to court. Whoever holds a purported title knows it is not worth the paper it is written on. So don’t wait for us to fence you in.”

Sir, I totally disagree. These parcels were flagged a long time ago. Even a cursory look can tell you that they are on illigal land. My taxes should not be used to pay for stupidity.

Mbona sisi watu tumekaa Langata kutoka karne ya kumi hatukununua?
You are speaking from a point of prior knowledge. To an outsider with no knowledge of the area's history, that is just a normal piece of land. And where you have roads, water, electricity, established neighboring estates, and legal papers, you would treat everything else as rumors. I am sure a few doubting residents caved in after resisting the temptation to buy for many years.

Again, I beg to differ. Anybody buying land in Nairobi MUST visit Survey of Kenya and see the mother title. In this case the mother title would show that the land was originally Ngong Forest. The next question by anybody with basic knowledge would be, 'if this was forest land, was it degazzetted? What is the gazette notice?'.

Government land canno be delineated without a gazette notice.

Due diligence kwani ni majina ya kurebesha dictionary?