Ephraim Speaks

IMG_20211217_081934.jpg

Though I do agree with him, I think the current regime only accelerated that thought process of short cuts.

The wind has been beating us since independence but maybe when Moi knew his time was up in the 90s did the attitude of hard and honest work begin to be shunned. I mean, we had an entire police service have so many from one tribe that until today, when comedians wanna sound like cops, they use that particular accent.

But goodness me, Uhuruto have been one heck of a disasterclass in this regard.

You have all these cases, some not related to the dynamic duo all the time on news including lowly civil servants acquiring massive and illigitimate wealth. Scammers such as the Kilimani bad boys dealing in wash wash and fake gold are now in politics and some are treated as celebs.

We're on a downfall and I think we ought to make some radical decisions. Yes, you and I have a choice with our ballot and neither Rao nor Ruto will steer this nation on the course it ought to be on.

Tafakari

View attachment 49951

Though I do agree with him, I think the current regime only accelerated that thought process of short cuts.

The wind has been beating us since independence but maybe when Moi knew his time was up in the 90s did the attitude of hard and honest work begin to be shunned. I mean, we had an entire police service have so many from one tribe that until today, when comedians wanna sound like cops, they use that particular accent.

You have all these cases, some not related to the dynamic duo all the time on news including lowly civil servants acquiring massive and illigitimate wealth. Scammers such as the Kilimani bad boys dealing in wash wash and fake gold are now in politics and some are treated as celebs.

We're on a downfall and I think we ought to make some radical decisions. Yes, you and I have a choice with our ballot and neither Rao nor Ruto will steer this nation on the course it ought to be on.

Tafakari

the rot started in 74, when civil servants were allowed to trade with government. Now it's hard to preach gospel of meritocracy in kenya.
We cry corruption only when we are not beneficiaries.

IMG_20211115_080428.png

View attachment 49951

Tafakari

We have normalized theft and laziness. People are not serious about what they do. They expect shortcuts na "kuangukia".

View attachment 49951

Tafakari
Wacha zako Ka-Dynasty. It's not that bleak. Part of the reason why corruptions seems or looks to have escalated during Uhuru's time is, one, the emergence of social media, two, more robust investigations by statutory bodies, and three, the fact that Uhuru has been engaged in major infrastructural projects worth trillions.

I would not be surprised if corruption has actually gone down in the central government but sky-rocketed at the county govts where scrutiny and transparency are less.

To load the burden of corruption on Uhuru is just scape-goating. Corruption took root during Moi's time when roads, public toilets, schools etc could be allocated to individuals. Nothing like that could happen during Jomos time.

Where Uhuru has failed miserably is to apply creative methods like asking for investigative help from say the FBI, constituting a special bench made up of unimpeachable commonwealth judges', etc, to deal with corruption.

Wacha zako Ka-Dynasty. It's not that bleak. Part of the reason why corruptions seems or looks to have escalated during Uhuru's time is, one, the emergence of social media, two, more robust investigations by statutory bodies, and three, the fact that Uhuru has been engaged in major infrastructural projects worth trillions.

I would not be surprised if corruption has actually gone down in the central government but sky-rocketed at the county govts where scrutiny and transparency are less.

To load the burden of corruption on Uhuru is just scape-goating. Corruption took root during Moi's time when roads, public toilets, schools etc could be allocated to individuals. Nothing like that could happen during Jomos time.

Where Uhuru has failed miserably is to apply creative methods like asking for investigative help from say the FBI, constituting a special bench made up of unimpeachable commonwealth judges', etc, to deal with corruption.
I agree, with devolution, came devolved corruption. We were just having a conversation with a colleague and he was telling me how his brother who works with a county govt, is in Uganda for three weeks and he's pocketing more than 30k/day and before that he was in Rwanda. Apparently the guy will be building a mansion when he comes back. The same governments can't even pay salaries for their hard working employees but if you are well connected you will be traversing the world and building wealth.

Is that you mzee calling for the white man? I swear you have been roughing up anyone who suggested the intervention of external actors.
Bado nashangaa. Commonwealth ya mbeberu?
For the record, I am not calling for too much intervention by the wazungu. The Commonwealth, which I detest, has countries like SA, India and Ghana who have very competent judges. As for the FBI, the Americans are less imperialistic, in the classic sense, than the Europeans. We already share a lot of security intelligence with them, so why not use their expertise to fight corruption?

Such a court would be declared unconstitutional, null and void in the morning.
Declaring it so would be null and void if the executive just ignored the judicial noise like it did in the Kinoti case. Nobody elected judges. The sovereign power of the people lies in their elected leaders, not some egocentric megalomaniacs dressed in wigs like clowns....................

JOMO is the one who started all this, Moi just continued with it rewarding his community... It's Uhuru's govt and he's responsible, thst what being a leader comprises of, aren't these county govts under his leadership? Man the whole country is under his leadership. He has to take responsibility.
Aren't you the same person who sings here people have to take responsibly and not produce like rats?

For the record, I am not calling for too much intervention by the wazungu. The Commonwealth, which I detest, has countries like SA, India and Ghana who have very competent judges. As for the FBI, the Americans are less imperialistic, in the classic sense, than the Europeans. We already share a lot of security intelligence with them, so why not use their expertise to fight corruption?

Solid rebuttal Guka.
In this case, there were no references to your usual bonobos or breeding like rats comments, so I actually concentrated on the content of your message.

JOMO is the one who started all this, Moi just continued with it rewarding his community... It's Uhuru's govt and he's responsible, thst what being a leader comprises of, aren't these county govts under his leadership? Man the whole country is under his leadership. He has to take responsibility.
Aren't you the same person who sings here people have to take responsibly and not produce like rats?
There was corruption during Jomos time, yes. There is corruption in every country. But you kids who didn't live during that time don't know what an efficient, foresighted government that old man run. Mnasoma propaganda kea gazeti eti Jomo was corrupt mnakubali. Let me give you one example. Research how houses in the expansive BuruBuru were allocated. THROUGH COMPUTERIZED BALLOTING. Which is why you find that the original owners were the face of Kenya. Contrast that with how Moi run things....and that's just one example..

I see what you're trying to say but it repurcussions of the ills that he did, were felt as years progressed, Moi just enhanced the rot.
Truth has to be said JOMO is the one who planted the seed and Moi watered it...

View attachment 49951

Tafakari
Not until we hit rock bottom and the ruling elite and midro crass get affected in a big way will there any real quest for change..