Do you have a KRA Pin Number?

Below is an insane statistic.
I'd have guessed 80
Below is an insane statistic.
I'd have guessed 80% of us are registered.

Ndio maana some people propose that only taxpayers should vote 😏

@mzeiya,
I don’t mean to derail your opinion but why is this Government so obsessed and preoccupied with taxes?
Every other day all we hear is introduction of this and that tax. Mpesa taxes, Till number taxes, Agricultural taxes etc etc.

As important as tax collection is, you cannot develop a country by taxing more and more. Most Kenyans don’t have much left to pay more and more taxes given our economic outlook.
As it is often said, you cannot tax a country into prosperity.

Over and above levying, you also need to spur economic activity. You need to encourage novel and new products and services to the market.
But this requires thought, ingenuity and initiative not crude politics, points-scoring and Punch-Judy antics.

Where are the wheel-barrows, fertilisers and hustler’s funds and are they spurring economic activities as we were made to believe?
Kibaki encouraged online economic activities through mobile technology and fibre optics.
Uhuru, for all his sins, travelled far and wide and sought markets for avocados and macadamia (Kenya is third largest producer and rising) and encouraged Folks to plant.

What is JSKS doing other than introducing more and more taxes for mama mboga and boda boda?

@mzeiya,
I don’t mean to derail your opinion but why is this Government so obsessed and preoccupied with taxes?
Every other day all we hear is introduction of this and that tax. Mpesa taxes, Till number taxes, Agricultural taxes etc etc.

As important as tax collection is, you cannot develop a country by taxing more and more. Most Kenyans don’t have much left to pay more and more taxes given our economic outlook.

Over and above levying, you also need to spur economic activity. You need to encourage novel and new products and services to the market.
But this requires thought, ingenuity and initiative not crude politics, points-scoring and Punch-Judy antics.

Where are the wheel-barrows, fertilisers and hustler’s funds and are they spurring economic activities as we were made to believe?
Kibaki encouraged online economic activities through mobile technology and fibre optics.
Uhuru, for all his sins, travelled far and wide and sought markets for avocados and macadamia (Kenya is third largest producer and rising) and encouraged Folks to plant.

What is JSKS doing other than introducing more and more taxes for mama mboga and boda boda?
Advice from IMF and World bank ex-employees kama David Ndii....
They are just creating an environment for black markets to thrive

Sjui nani ameambia hawa maJS having a PIN equals paying taxes.
As long as our economy remains largely informal, making everyone pay income tax will remain a nightmare.
I guess the number of those with PINs are more, owing to the fact a PIN cert is a requirement if you want to benefit from helb.

Advice from IMF and World bank ex-employees kama David Ndii....
They are just creating an environment for black markets to thrive
Over here in UK, the PM is going to every city and encouraging SME to increase production and come up with new products.
The Government is offsetting cost of new machinery and expansions with tax payable.
Very innovative, if you asked me.

Sometimes ago, I went in a certain shop to buy a hard disk. The price was ksh. 6300, of which I proceeded to pay. Like a good kenyan who wanted to help govt collect taxes, I demanded a printed receipt from the ETR machine, since they had one. Hehe.....they told me I should pay ksh 8500 then. Mimi singekubali, so nkawashow wakae na izo mareceipts zikae.
To be truthful if taxes become punitive, consumption will go down, and ultimately they'll lower the overall tax collected.
Si ni juzi tu they implimented more taxes on airtime, and the revenue collected from it dropped by 7B?

Over here in UK, the PM is going to every city and encouraging SME to increase production and come up with new products.
The Government is offsetting cost of new machinery and expansions with tax payable.
Very innovative, if you asked me.
That is what ought to happen. Most rich Kenyans have acquired their wealth via theft so expecting a thief to encourage you to start a business is a tall order.
We can't tax ourselves into prosperity

Sometimes ago, I went in a certain shop to buy a hard disk. The price was ksh. 6300, of which I proceeded to pay. Like a good kenyan who wanted to help govt collect taxes, I demanded a printed receipt from the ETR machine, since they had one. Hehe.....they told me I should pay ksh 8500 then. Mimi singekubali, so nkawashow wakae na izo mareceipts zikae.
To be truthful if taxes become punitive, consumption will go down, and ultimately they'll lower the overall tax collected.
Si ni juzi tu they implimented more taxes on airtime, and the revenue collected from it dropped by 7B?
I am very much like you. In fact, I have a file that is overflowing with receipts and expired warranties.

However, the fact that we're taxed quite highly means many now opt to purchase whatever they can from outside the country and I'm not sure if tax is always paid.

For instance, wifey due to her nature of work desired a high spec laptop, Mac with M1 or 2 chip to be specific. Hapa zilikuwa almost 200K inclusive of Vat but she opted to wait and buy it at BestBuy while travelling for half the price.

Hope Nabii will look at the issue of trade imbalance with soberness.

@mzeiya,

Very nice veery nice, I support you here, we should avoid paying taxes as much as possible. I would rather bribe the KRA guy at mombasa 30k than pay huge taxes of 60k