Discipline your Toddler

Dranya

Vipi Wadau,

Today marks day one of discipline my toddler who is 1 year 10 months in a different way. Like leo ime bidi ni mchape ma tape nikitumia ka rod hivi hivi.

I feel so bad manze but I had to, he has been refusing to eat since jana, all he wants ni simu ku watch You-tube for Kids all day. Macho hadi zilikuwa zina mwasha aki watch banae.

The kid really likes and loves me. Reason I am saying this is because he calls everyone "Daddy" including the mum. I keep on telling the mum kitu alinishindia ni boobs za kunyonyesha, laa sivyo the kid would never look at her ata kidogo.

Anyway, we normally discipline him but by only locking him kwa room for a few minutes ama restricting him from using ka Tab or phone to watch his stuff, leo ilibidi mkono imetembea. I caned him until he fell asleep, he was shaking while crying which made me feel totally bad. I am afraid he might now start fearing me for that.

He will fear you but a kids love is so pure he will forget akiamka utamwona akikurukia mcheze. But blunder mlifanya ni kumzoesha simu. I remember the first time I disciplined my kid alikua ananenda kucheza na extension cord nikampatia slap kwa mkono but from that day aliacha. its good for a kid kujua daddy ni mkali.

Drop that phone and shut that TV. It's too much distraction. Never punish a person who's unable to understand why they're being punished. Spanking a kid who is less than three years is cruel. Kids at that age are inquisitive, and want to explore their environment. Just let them do it safely. if you cannot make your kitchen secure and safe for your kid to play in, place barriers that will stop her from going there. You should not catch feelings when she trashed the fridge or mwagas unga.

Dont hold toddlers to the same standards as school going kids. Please be understanding.

Ikifika kumpiga inamaanisha you have been issuing empty verbal threats for the longest time. You should make him understand that when you say no you mean no. If you say no and he continues doing what your are trying to stop,you move and physically but gently put a stop to whatever he is doing. And you should learnt to use different tones of your voice to signify authority,command,play etc
Ati mnatuma mtoto kwa room? At one year? Believe me he thinks kutumwa kwa room ni game...
Your boy is too young start taking the rod to.
And yes,its all right to feel guilty for beating him. You should also feel guilty for failing to start teaching him that there are times when daddy's word is final.
I also hope that you do not play the good guy when mommy says no. Coz that kid will play you like Jimi Hendrix's guitar.