Dating in Kenya Towns

By Silas

Dating in this Kenyan big towns after 25 is interesting nowadays. You rarely see people dating beyond three months. You rarely see people loyal and faithful to one partners. Every unattached person has 3-5 people they meet for dates and sleep with each other depending on the availability. Both men and women have learnt to manage their feelings and expectations.

We are like players in a bench. Waiting for our turn. Some people are like those players in a bench who never play or given the last 5 minutes when their team has won. Or those defenders called in to defend a narrow lead. So a girl will have like 4-5 regulars. A man will have his 4-5 girls. I am talking about average guys. Not those men or women on high circulation, weekend in, weekend out.

Quite ironic. Nowadays as a man, you don't even have to hide toothbrushes or panties or any paraphernalia girl leave in men's houses to mark territory. Girls no longer ask, hii brush ni ya nani or this hairpin. Men no longer snoop on their girls' phone. In fact your sneak link can even flirt for all your care, lie to her boyfriend about her sick mother before she comes for cuddling with you as you sip Gilbeys. There is a whole bunch of girls in their 20s, for whom anything goes, weekend in, weekend out. Tonight, you will pick her in a club in Kitengela, she will give her number to the man who will have her next week.

Used to be men who were homeless, the so called Karubandika, or Yahaya. Well dressed man who zoom around town but with no fixed abode. Nowadays it is young women.
Blessed with a youthful beauty, low-maintenance hairstyle, wash &dry short clothes, they zoom from one bachelor pad to the next. They stay as long as the man wants. As long as there is water, food and Netflix, the girls don't mind.

Nobody knows who their parents are. They don't have a known job. Wako tu. Living the best days of their life. Halafu pia hawana ubaya na msee. You keep her, she will serve you. You kick her out, onto the next thirsty fellow. These bachelor's, 25-34 who don't want to marry usually rely on this clique. And they are there in every town.

Very interesting evolution on intersex-dynamic in our cities.
We need our own version of Sex and City.
We will be running a series on this soon.

by silas