Dairy farmers accuse firm of duping them on prices

Some farmers in Nyeri have declined to sell their milk to a leading processor despite the dairy firm enticing them with Sh43 per litre of milk.

Farmers said after luring them, the processor reduce the prices drastically leaving them with no option but to offload huge volumes of the produce at low prices.

The farmers said the processor has been duping them and have learnt their lessons, adding that they have decided to stick to their cooperatives that pay Sh37 a litre.

Mr John Ithatu delivers 70 litres of milk to Watuka Cooperative. Previously, he had signed a six-month contract to deliver to the processor.

"They breached the contract within the first few months and claimed there was excess milk," he said adding that their strategy has always been to pay farmers more than their cooperative and any other competing processor.

In 2018, he said the professor offered Sh35 per litre of milk and later reduced it to Sh17.

ALSO READ
"They come here and conduct aggressive campaigns luring farmers to sell to them but now farmers are tired," he added.

Farmers said they are always compelled to rebuild their cooperatives after their contract with the processor ends.

"Cooperatives have collapsed because farmers have abandoned them lured by high prices," Mr Ithatu added.

A majority of farmers in Kieni rely on dairy as their main economic mainstay.

"We can afford basic needs because of the milk we sell... they (the processor) leave us desperately looking for a milk buyer which is not easy to find," he noted.

Cecilia Mathenge has been a dairy farmer for decades and has seen her cooperative struggle to rebuild after farmers opt out of the society for better prices promised by the giant processor. She said whenever they want to pull out of the deal, they accuse farmers of milk adulteration.

milk.jpg

Some farmers in Nyeri have declined to sell their milk to a leading processor despite the dairy firm enticing them with Sh43 per litre of milk.

Farmers said after luring them, the processor reduce the prices drastically leaving them with no option but to offload huge volumes of the produce at low prices.

The farmers said the processor has been duping them and have learnt their lessons, adding that they have decided to stick to their cooperatives that pay Sh37 a litre.

Mr John Ithatu delivers 70 litres of milk to Watuka Cooperative. Previously, he had signed a six-month contract to deliver to the processor.

"They breached the contract within the first few months and claimed there was excess milk," he said adding that their strategy has always been to pay farmers more than their cooperative and any other competing processor.

In 2018, he said the professor offered Sh35 per litre of milk and later reduced it to Sh17.

ALSO READ
"They come here and conduct aggressive campaigns luring farmers to sell to them but now farmers are tired," he added.

Farmers said they are always compelled to rebuild their cooperatives after their contract with the processor ends.

"Cooperatives have collapsed because farmers have abandoned them lured by high prices," Mr Ithatu added.

"We can afford basic needs because of the milk we sell... they (the processor) leave us desperately looking for a milk buyer which is not easy to find," he noted.

Cecilia Mathenge has been a dairy farmer for decades and has seen her cooperative struggle to rebuild after farmers opt out of the society for better prices promised by the giant processor. She said whenever they want to pull out of the deal, they accuse farmers of milk adulteration.

View attachment 53116

SI muacha AFANYE KAZI?

I think it is time bonobos got to understand the power they have over parasitic owners of capital. Kwa umoja nkikamua ng'ombe wenu for a week and donate the milk to neighbours and opharnages, the giant milk processor will come begging. They have utilities to pay, workers to pay, depreciation to worry about, bank loans yo service such that operations ikilegea for a week, the effects zitafika mpaka kwa balance sheet. But Kenyans are too divided for their own good.

A case of straying from the herd and getting eaten alone. Instead of leaving their co-operative to be the aggregator and benefit from their bargaining power he goes alone thinking the management fee is too much. You hardly hear farmers affiliated to Mukurweini Dairy Co-operative with these tales of woe yet they also sell their milk to the big processors too and turn what they cannot offload into value added products.

I think it is time bonobos got to understand the power they have over parasitic owners of capital. Kwa umoja nkikamua ng'ombe wenu for a week and donate the milk to neighbours and opharnages, the giant milk processor will come begging. They have utilities to pay, workers to pay, depreciation to worry about, bank loans yo service such that operations ikilegea for a week, the effects zitafika mpaka kwa balance sheet. But Kenyans are too divided for their own good.
You are day dreaming. There will always be someone to replace you. Farmers coming together to create a cooperative and treat their milk and market it is the way to go and that is what they do. The problem here is certain people who think Kenya is their property went as far as trying to create a law to force farmers to sell their milk to them.

There are many govt and private milk processors eg KCC, Githunguri, Mt Kenya, Daima, Nyandarua, Nyansiongo etc. Wauze huko. Hii ni kama ile upus ya Kenyans complaining about safaricom and yet they are free to switch to airtel, telkom etc.

You are day dreaming. There will always be someone to replace you. Farmers coming together to create a cooperative and treat their milk and market it is the way to go and that is what they do. The problem here is certain people who think Kenya is their property went as far as trying to create a law to force farmers to sell their milk to them.
Which law was created to force farmers sell their milk to one company? If you go to the supermarket there are many many companies selling milk and they also have milk atms. Hata kwa estates milk atms zimejaa and they source milk directly from farmers. Hapo kangemi you will see mtungis of milk being offloaded from matatus daily. So which law is this you are talking about ama ni ile kubwekabweka ya takatakas?

ALSO READ

View attachment 53116

Tunajua it's the evil corp, hio products zao ziko permanently banned kwangu

Niliona mtu akisifu that giant's 'competitive' price of 42 bob nikawashwa sana but nilijifunza kunyamaza. He conveniently forgot that asterisk on it. Took my samples there ikapimwa and was told inatoshana na 38 bob and that was it. Now that I'm hearing about the breach of contract whenever the product floods the market , there's some purring satisfaction knowing tungeingia kwa mtego. Kusambaza kitongoji duni and hospitals na fifte remains the best.

Your milk your choice. You sell wherever you want.

It's clear their greed is killing them. They have a cooperative that can sustain them but they want to be rich quickly.

Which law was created to force farmers sell their milk to one company? If you go to the supermarket there are many many companies selling milk and they also have milk atms. Hata kwa estates milk atms zimejaa and they source milk directly from farmers. Hapo kangemi you will see mtungis of milk being offloaded from matatus daily. So which law is this you are talking about ama ni ile kubwekabweka ya takatakas?
I am not surprised that you blank out anything wrong the government does. There was a proposed law on milk that prohibited milk farmers from selling raw milk to other people unless it was pasteurized. They were also being forced to sell milk directly to a processor.

Are you sure?

ALSO READ

View attachment 53116

Third rate journalism. Lazy! Why didn't they publish the name of the processor along with both contract from the processor and the cooperative society? They are hiding behind the cloak of respectable journalism to smear Brookside.

Soko ni huru! We live in a liberalized economy. If farmers feel like ferking their coops and sell their produce to the highest bidder during scarcity, so be it. When there is a glut, si watapambana na hali yao? Haki ile ujinga iko hii nchi ni legendary. @Guka Snr, kuja utukane Bonobos 😁