citizens of Kenya whom we expect to vote rationally

no one could stand up for that kid, a bus full of adults,watu wako kwa simu tu, is it a case of low self-esteem from colonialism hangovers or effects of generational poverty manifesting?

https://kenyanlist.net/index.php?threads/generational-poverty.19729/

Thanks for the link @wrongturn asking real questions about myself now.

And it brings to memory a time when something similar happened to me.

I had just turned 18 and I was on my way to pick up my National ID

I was waiting in queue with everyone else when a large land cruiser came in to the compound and parked right next to the office. (Askari had told us this wasn't allowed and everyone else with a car had parked in the designated parking lot.)

From the car 2 mzungus stepped out and walked right past everyone into the office.

I was expecting the clerk serving us (who btw moments ago shouted at us to form a straight line) to tell them off.

Yes. I know. I was still naïve. I had just finished Form 4 less than 5 weeks prior and I had a very idealized image of Kenya back then.

The mzungus were not only welcomed like honored guests, but they were served in record time(less than 2 mins)!

You'd think they had made an appointment. Nope! regular walk ins like everyone else.

I of course protested and I expected everyone else to protest with me. (Yes, I know. Very naïve)

To my surprise, not only did no one say anything, but they also side stepped in order to allow the superior race to get through faster.

I think I had suppressed this memory.

Thanks for sharing and allowing me to make some sense of it.

Generational poverty is a beast that must be slayed!

it might be a case that they know nothing will hapen.
its suggested the buses/sacco are well conected, so you might speak only to find yourself in problems.

wangeteta wote dere adecide kuwapeleka westi awawache huko?

there is little we can do

it might be a case that they know nothing will hapen.
its suggested the buses/sacco are well conected, so you might speak only to find yourself in problems.

wangeteta wote dere adecide kuwapeleka westi awawache huko?

there is little we can do

sema hauna courage, if you have it, such "safe" thoughts won't come to your mind. You'll stand up for the kid.
People like playing safe that's why you get trampled upon, sometimes it's good to stand up for something.
People's fear have created the monster that is matatu menace.

teach your children courage or Rather take your kids to schools where confidence is instilled at a young age so that they don't grow up like the generation born in 80s or early 90s.

sema hauna courage, if you have it, such "safe" thoughts won't come to your mind. You'll stand up for the kid.
People like playing safe that's why you get trampled upon, sometimes it's good to stand up for something.

teach your children courage or Rather take your kids to schools where confidence is instilled at a young age so that they don't grow up like the generation born in 80s or early 90s.

Weueeeeeh!

true, but being courageous by yourself wont work.
even if Karua becomes president, there is little she'll achieve with her courage if all others wont join her.

courage is good, but know who you are courageous for, around, and to whom.

true, but being courageous by yourself wont work.
even if Karua becomes president, there is little she'll achieve with her courage if all others wont join her.

This is what @wrongturn is saying.

Courage is knowing that the odds are stacked against you AND still going in bare chested anyway.

This is the courage our mashujaas of old did when fighting the colonialists

They did the same when fighting for multiparty elections.

And now the same courage is needed to make society work as intended.

As Samora Machel once said:

PRODUZIR É APRENDER, APRENDER PARA PRODUZIR E LUTAR
MELHOR.

A LUTA CONTINUA!
INDEPENDÊNCIA OU MORTE,
VENCEREMOS!

---

TO PRODUCE IS TO LEARN, TO LEARN TO PRODUCE AND TO FIGHT
BEST.

THE FIGHT GOES ON!
INDEPENDENCE OR DEATH,
VICTORY!