China Square Mall

Iko pale next to Kenyatta University. They have a wide variety of merchandise at reasonable prices. Ukitaka kutembea Nairobi and you are not sure what to carry back home, drop there for the widest choice anywhere. Hakuna kuchomeka na jua tena kamukunji ukitafuta vikombe za kaulo. Lakini apana jaribu kupeleka mwanamke uko. Utaumia saidi.

1677251428203.png

1677251737845.png

1677251798848.png

1677251860169.png

1677251948486.png

1677252050306.png

😅😅😅😅 Ungefafanua kuumia mfuko ama kimwili. I have seen kungurus on tiktok wakipigana sweep huko over cheap chinese goods.
First you will be forced to take a 10km stroll viewing and assessing stuff you don't care about. Then, after you are all tired and ready to do anything to leave the place, you will be presented with a small mountain of items she never realized she needed. And since you are too exhausted to process the damage that is about to happen, you will go ahead and pay for the small mountain. The real cost sinks in the next day when you try to enumerate the alternative projects that could have benefited from that spending.

So tiring someone is a tactic they employ, it pays to be a silent person then.

Iko pale next to Kenyatta University. They have a wide variety of merchandise at reasonable prices. Ukitaka kutembea Nairobi and you are not sure what to carry back home, drop there for the widest choice anywhere. Hakuna kuchomeka na jua tena kamukunji ukitafuta vikombe za kaulo. Lakini apana jaribu kupeleka mwanamke uko. Utaumia saidi.

View attachment 85321
View attachment 85322
View attachment 85323
View attachment 85324
View attachment 85325
View attachment 85326
Wamekulipa?

By the way maandamano ya business community wa Rifarori yalifanyika?

Hii ni kawaida. You just put your foot down. Just drive her there, tell her to call you after amemaliza shopping, halafu unaingia mahali hapo unaitisha kanusu. Ask for chips or Lyonnaise takeaway for her umpatie when she inevitably smells the goat meat on your breath.

Kamakis is less than 3km away

Seems like this store has rattled kamukunji, gikomba, Eastleigh traders. What do you think of CS kuria's suggestion
It is understandable because government policy is not to allow foreigners to do jobs that Kenyans can do especially low end jobs. Lakini as a consumer, asituletee priss. This place is a 5 minute drive from my home and I can get anything I want rather than going to town and the dirty, dusty and crazy Eastleigh.

The business culture in Kenya follows a capture-exploit model, where businesses count on holding markets captive for exploitation.This explains the high number of business people enjoying first-world lifestyles earned from selling to extremely poor markets.This model was introduced by the colonialist, and later propagated by the Indian.
Today, anyone going into business anticipates super-high profits, which explains the 1000%+ mark-ups you will find on some imports. It is ironic that the tea farmer who brought in the forex that a trader used to import goods cannot afford the same goods due to high mark-ups. If that farmer had the leeway to be selfish like the trader, he would sell his dollars at similar mark-ups, and business would grind to a halt.

The protesting traders want the Kenyan consumer to continue supporting their lavish lifestyles.

It is understandable because government policy is not to allow foreigners to do jobs that Kenyans can do especially low end jobs. Lakini as a consumer, asituletee priss. This place is a 5 minute drive from my home and I can get anything I want rather than going to town and the dirty, dusty and crazy Eastleigh.
Wasomali, being major shareholders in government will resist.

one thing about this saga is that only nyamakima and kamkunji cartels are complaining, somalis are not threatened in Eastleigh, after all they're building the biggest mall in EA and will do the same thing These "other" traders are driving the narrative that "our"business are under threat yet they've been exploiting us for years.
By now they should have realized guys are tired of insecurity in those areas, middle-class is growing and they tend to look for parking, secure shopping etc.

By the way maandamano ya business community wa Rifarori yalifanyika?
If I am not mistaken these Nyamakima and Rifarori Guys were a constant thorn on Konyagi’s legitimate fight against counterfeit goods and tax cheating.
They ran into the open arms and listening ears of JSKS and actually contributed millions to his campaigns and made the necessary noises against Dynasties.
He in turn promised them a Carte Blanche if he won the presidency.

It will therefore be very interesting to see how JSKS and Riggy G mollify and appease these traders considering that they can’t close down Chinese Square as that would be tantamount to closing down Carrefour or such a foreign owned retailer.
And just like that, this very early in the game, JSKS’s lying tongue will be exposed and opposed.

Hizo ni cartels. They are fighting for the right to sell you items at exorbitant prices.
This line is very lame, ever heard of distribution chain and job creation ? Would China permit such by foreign nationals ? Do you know goods for "repair" can't be shipped back to China literally sembuse kufungua mall huko.

Anyway let me thinned by mine, na ukisikia wagner wanataka canon fodder uniambie i can supply.

one thing about this saga is that only nyamakima and kamkunji cartels are complaining, somalis are not threatened in Eastleigh, after all they're building the biggest mall in EA and will do the same thing These "other" traders are driving the narrative that "our"business are under threat yet they've been exploiting us for years.
By now they should have realized guys are tired of insecurity in those areas, middle-class is growing and they tend to look for parking, secure shopping etc.
Somalis don't make noise kama sisi business community they lobby with heavy pockets.

If I am not mistaken these Nyamakima and Rifarori Guys were a constant thorn on Konyagi’s legitimate fight against counterfeit goods and tax cheating.
They ran into the open arms and listening ears of JSKS and actually contributed millions to his campaigns and made the necessary noises against Dynasties.
He in turn promised them a Carte Blanche if he won the presidency.

It will therefore be very interesting to see how JSKS and Riggy G mollify and appease these traders considering that they can’t close down Chinese Square as that would be tantamount to closing down Carrefour or such a foreign owned retailer.
And just like that, this very early in the game, JSKS’s lying tongue will be exposed and opposed.
These are very different analogies ama zinaitwoje. China square inaleta finished goods or to be clear , manufacturers who sold you goods at the factory wanafungua factory outlets mpiganie soko.
Kenyans are also naive, thats a Chinese gov't entity any big venture by chinku has their gava ndani.

This line is very lame, ever heard of distribution chain and job creation ? Would China permit such by foreign nationals ? Do you know goods for "repair" can't be shipped back to China literally sembuse kufungua mall huko.

Anyway let me thinned by mine, na ukisikia wagner wanataka canon fodder uniambie i can supply.
China mall is just a supermarket like any other, only that it offers a wide variety of products. They are not outlets for manufacturers as you want to claim. Actually, you could find a huge chunk of what they are selling at cheaper prices in the city if you search hard enough. You would not admit that trading in Kenya means fleecing ignorant customers. And this is a culture deeply ingrained in business. I usually buy items from Aliexpress, and it is not unusual to find the same items selling in local shops at ten times what I pay at Aliexpress. Nothing justifies such margins. If I could not buy from Aliexpress, I would not afford the products at all.

Similarly, many consumers cannot enjoy the conveniences of modern life due to greed by local businesses. The costs involved in goods importation are not exactly a secret. And the verdict is that traders have been exploiting consumers due to lack of alternatives.