Bottoms up model debate on Citizen TV now

Actually bottom-up approach is not similar to the economic stimulus program of 2008, the latter simply aimed at infusing cash into the economy through expanded government spending to boost consumption.

The key difference between the bottom-up model and trickle-down model (the 2008 stimulus was on of these) is the former counts on the market to grow the economy, the entire government machinery focuses on cutting redtape, removing obstacles for MSMEs and bridging gaps through policy mainly, government spending is an enabler of this not the driver like in the latter.

If Ndii has his way we are going to see infrastructure projects being judged based on their impact on quality of life, not their trickle-down potential, and a return to prudent financial management not the gung-ho economics of the Kenyatta era.
The only reason I likened the bottom up model to the ESP was in the way money was fed into the grassroots which encouraged the emergence and growth of small enterprises. It was around this time I remember keeping fish became a big deal. You started seeing fish restaurants cropping up in places like central where the product was not much of a delicacy.

You did a great job breaking it down. With famed economists like Ndii fashioning economic policy all that will probably hold it back is political interests. I hope that won't be the case.

Shida ya Kenya is corruption/greed/looting/plundering/gluttony/insatiability/ voracity/ rapaciousness/ materialism/covetousness/acquisitiveness etc etc. Bottom up, top down whichever economic model that politicians sell, as long as the level of corruption remains the same, the ordinary mwananchi will continue suffering economically. And it will get worse. So don't hold your breath waiting for economic change in 2022. Just relax, stop thinking too much about politics, smoke a joint every Friday and get another woman to keep you warm.

Here is a discussion in twitter on what is better between SDGs and Bottom up. Some response 😆 😆
20210728_230955.jpg

The only reason I likened the bottom up model to the ESP was in the way money was fed into the grassroots which encouraged the emergence and growth of small enterprises. It was around this time I remember keeping fish became a big deal. You started seeing fish restaurants cropping up in places like central where the product was not much of a delicacy.

You did a great job breaking it down. With famed economists like Ndii fashioning economic policy all that will probably hold it back is political interests. I hope that won't be the case.
The effects of ESP are still being felt in some parts of Central Kenya where the county Govts have also joined in to keep the projects alive i.e: fish farming and dairy products value addition/ milk preservation.

Exactly. There is a fish joint my dad took me to after we went on holiday when I was in primary school. That joint still exists to this day in karatina.

Now imagine if there was a consistent government policy that continued to encourage small and medium enterprises rather than over taxation, and the many licences involved to start a kasmall business?

Here's another definition 😆 😆 😆

Hehehe...
If you think about it no wonder everybody, even in the far reaches of the country knows about bottom up, whether they can define it or not.

Mtu akiona matako anakumbuka 'bottoms up' . Mtu akikunywa pombe, anakumbuka 'bottoms up' . Ukiingia twitter na huku senate, memes za 'bottoms up' and 'bottom upus'. Ukiingia news, 'nobody can explain bottom up. Tell them to explain!'

Meanwhile, ask anyone you meet what Raila, Mudavadi or Kalonzo want to implement in the economy. Half don't even know.

People are doing Dp's marketing for free. 😂😂

Hii umetoa wapi? Is the tumetenga song we used to hear prudent management?

Please note I premised that on Ndii getting his way in terms of influencing policy which seems likely given he is essentially UDAs brain on economic matters much like Rotich was for Kenyatta.

He has been preaching prudence since 2013, his consistency stands out.