Artistic Protests Gain Momentum

Mr.Tutatenga might have quashed street protests against his regime but people are getting creative in expressing their displeasure.

Akin to how Mozambicans are banging pots against the electoral injustices and more similar to how Serbians did against Slobodan Milošević using art, so are our people. Check this out.
1730966581617.png

1730966659344.png

1730966736294.png

1730966594049.png

1730966677195.png

Even the Bondo con is catching strays...
1730966752118.png

Mr.Tutatenga might have quashed street protests against his regime but people are getting creative in expressing their displeasure.

Akin to how Mozambicans are banging pots against the electoral injustices and more similar to how Serbians did against Slobodan Milošević using art, so are our people. Check this out.
View attachment 100739
View attachment 100741
View attachment 100743
View attachment 100740
View attachment 100742

View attachment 100744
Kenyans wamesema hawatambui Libel!
In any case ataweka Wakenya wote prison gani ambaye itatoshea sisi sote?
Ama ataitisha millions in damages to become ever more richer?

View attachment 100739
View attachment 100741
View attachment 100743
View attachment 100740
View attachment 100742

View attachment 100744
Noma sana

Noma sana
@QuadroK4000,
I am really and genuinely fearful of the safety of these Artists, Matatu owners and the Operators, given Jambas’ determination to stamp out all dissent by whichever means.

Here is the reason:
Folks sometimes do not know that caricatures and cartoons can be classified as defamation by libel because they are written and drawn.
Worst of all, to satisfy the threshold to fully satisfy and successfully prosecute libel, the said written or drawn caricature or cartoon must have been broadcasted!
Now, who can broadcast to masses better than a Matattu doing roundi mwenda or a long distance truck covering thousands of miles a day?

Therein, Senators, lies my worries.

@QuadroK4000,
I am really and genuinely fearful of the safety of these Artists, Matatu owners and the Operators, given Jambas’ determination to stamp out all dissent by whichever means.

Here is the reason:
Folks sometimes do not know that caricatures and cartoons can be classified as defamation by libel because they are written and drawn.
Worst of all, to satisfy the threshold to fully satisfy and successfully prosecute libel, the said written or drawn caricature or cartoon must have been broadcasted!
Now, who can broadcast to masses better than a Matattu doing roundi mwenda or a long distance truck covering thousands of miles a day?

What would be your advice?

@QuadroK4000,

Here is the reason:

Hawaja andika jina, lakini kisogo imempeana
For a determined litigant the question will boil down to:
“Who would an ordinary objective person think is being displayed here objectively on these cartons?
What would be your advice?
So far as I can intellectually and legally decifer, the Artist (s) is safe as they have not signed, copyrighted or identified themselves in anyway as the owners or even originators of the cartoon.

However the Owner of the vehicle and the hapless Operators (makanga, turnboy and the driver) might be sued for broadcasting defamatory, reputation-damaging and sensational graphic material.

In a more practical sense those Matatus and trucks are likely to be harassed and sanctioned by Police to a point where it affects operations and business equations tremendously.

For a determined litigant the question will boil down to:
“Who would an ordinary objective person think is being displayed here objectively on these cartons?

So far as I can intellectually and legally decifer, the Artist (s) is safe as they have not signed, copyrighted or identified themselves in anyway as the owners or even originators of the cartoon.

However the Owner of the vehicle and the hapless Operators (makanga, turnboy and the driver) might be sued for broadcasting defamatory, reputation-damaging and sensational graphic material.

In a more practical sense those Matatus and trucks are likely to be harassed and sanctioned by Police to a point where it affects operations and business equations tremendously.
Isn't that just lawfare? Wasting someone's time and money in court.

As far as the creators are concerned these are images of a fictional character used for entertainment. Freedom of expression, and no real world person has been named. Some may say it implies a real world character but that's just their personal interpretation. People interpret the same things differently.

Unless someone proves they own the copyright.

You need to read this book brother.
View attachment 100768
Or watch this 👇🏾

Brother, with all due respect, your contribution to 'la revolución' ilikuwa kupuliza firimbi just one hour halafu ukarudi to your air conditioned office like a typical midro crass.

And like a typical midro crass mnapiganianga haki from the safety of your keyboards. Umeona venye democrats wameonyeshwa vumbi.

Brother, with all due respect, your contribution to 'la revolución' ilikuwa kupuliza firimbi just one hour halafu ukarudi to your air conditioned office like a typical midro crass.

And like a typical midro crass mnapiganianga haki from the safety of your keyboards. Umeona venye democrats wameonyeshwa vumbi.
Familiarise yourself with the words of Gil Scott-Heron from his classic poem/rap piece 'The Revolution will not be Televised'. Can't find a HD graphic of the same but it's available online.