Aisin/Toyota CVT transmission : drain and refill procedure .

Aisin is a member of the Toyota group. Locally the below models use Aisin CVT transmission and some local mechanics claim they are sealed for life. That is not true since with time the fluid breaks down and the transmission efficiency decreases.
  • Toyotas - Voxy, Auris,Ractis, Vitz,Belta, Sienta, Noah,Rumion, Premio, Avensis,Isis, Probox, Wish, Porte variants
  • Mazda Axela ( BLFW ),
  • Demio (Model Code - DE),
  • Suzuki Swift.
I have used and serviced 2 vehicles with the CVT gearbox and most mechanics don't seem to understand how it works and it's even worse on the newer generation CVT which lacks the dipstick.Mid last month I entrusted a mechanic to perform a drain and refill procedure on a vehicle with Aisin K210 gearbox. I watched as they undid the drain plug and some fluid drained. During the refill procedure, the guy poured approximately 3.5 litres. On my way home I noted some whining sound from the left side of the vehicle whenever the RPM was at around 2000 - 3000. I called the mech the next day and he claimed CVTs whine. What followed was numerous trips to the mech on some occasions topping up the half-litre fluid that remained or draining almost a litre of the fluid but the issue persisted. I decided it was time to do some research and fix the whine. Kumbe the mechanic had refilled the wrong fluid and the quantity was not right too.

You require
-
6mm Allen wrench
- 4 Litre can CVTF ( TC or FE - This depends on the transmission ) before 2013 use TC and FE for post-2013 models. Check refill plug for details
- plastic basin (to hold 4 - 5 litres)
- Funnel (must be clean and dry)
- 1-metre hose pipe (less than 1-inch diameter and must be clean and dry)

Twende Kazi ( This must be done on a flat level surface)

*Test the refill plug first to ensure it unscrews before draining any fluids from the car .

Using the Allen key remove the drain plug, some fluid will drain. Wait for a few minutes to let the fluid drains until it slows to drops. There is an inner plastic tube that needs to be screwed out with a similar-sized Allen head key as it is threaded the same as the drain plug. Once removed more fluid will drain. This plastic tube acts as the fluid overflow drain. The same tube is what is used to get the right fluid levels when refilling.
Below is a photo of the plastic tube.

1618342860029.png

Once all the fluid is drained insert the inner plastic tube back in and screw it in without overtightening. Leave the drain plug off and remove the fill plug. The fill plug location is as captured below. The plug is easily accessible from the left front wheel well.
1618343260330.png

1618343319036.png

As shown below the right fluid in my case was Toyota CVTF FE. The part number for the fluid is 08886-02505 and available at Toyota Kenya going for Ksh 6416 vat inclusive.
1618343376207.png

Below is the fluid in a four-litre can.

1618343785373.png

If you are broke and you must change the fluid you can go for Aisin CFeX which is listed to work with on both TC and FE classified gearboxes .The four litre can will cost you Ksh 3700 available at Toyotsu .
1618344261056.png

Fill up the gearbox using the funnel and the hosepipe until the fluid starts to leak through the inner plastic tube or simply replace it with the exact same amount that was removed providing you measure it accurately (This assumes it's a factory filled vehicle which has never been refilled by a third party before).
From the literature, i have read so far the ideal fluid level is achieved when the fluid is 35 - 45 degrees centigrade. Since I didn't have a tool (professional OBD scan tool ) to measure the fluid temperature I started the car and shifted from P -R -N-D waiting 3 seconds at every gear position and repeated this 4 times to achieve temperatures close to the recommended.
Top up the fluid until it starts to drain from the tube and wait till this slows down to just drops after which you can screw back the drain plug using the 6mm Allen key.
Don't forget to screw back the fill plug.

Save your gearbox from incompetent fellows just drain and refill your CVT and enjoy the smooth drive. It's recommended to change this fluid after every 30,000 Km or 1 year to prolong the life of your belt-driven transmission.

cc @mzeiya

Aisin is a member of the Toyota group. Locally the below models use Aisin CVT transmission and some local mechanics claim they are sealed for life. That is not true since with time the fluid breaks down and the transmission efficiency decreases.
  • Toyotas - Voxy, Auris,Ractis, Vitz,Belta, Sienta, Noah,Rumion, Premio, Avensis,Isis, Probox, Wish, Porte variants
  • Mazda Axela ( BLFW ),
  • Suzuki Swift.
I have used and serviced 2 vehicles with the CVT gearbox and most mechanics don't seem to understand how it works and it's even worse on the newer generation CVT which lacks the dipstick.Mid last month I entrusted a ''GURU'' to perform a drain and refill procedure on a vehicle with Aisin K210 gearbox. The mech was very cocky, bragging how he is the only one amongst the brand renowned mechs to know how to check the fluid status and refill. I watched as they undid the drain plug and some fluid drained. During the refill procedure, the guy poured approximately 3.5 litres. On my way home I noted some whining sound from the left side of the vehicle whenever the RPM was at around 2000 - 3000. I called the mech the next day and he claimed CVTs whine. What followed was numerous trips to the mech on some occasions topping up the half-litre fluid that remained or draining almost a litre of the fluid but the issue persisted. I decided it was time to do some research and fix the whine. Kumbe the mechanic had refilled the wrong fluid and the quantity was not right too.

You require
-
6mm Allen wrench
- 4 Litre can CVTF ( TC or FE - This depends on the transmission ) before 2013 use TC and FE for post-2013 models. Check refill plug for details

Using the Allen key remove the drain plug, some fluid will drain. Wait for a few minutes to let the fluid drains until it slows to drops. There is an inner plastic tube that needs to be screwed out with a similar-sized Allen head key as it is threaded the same as the drain plug. Once removed more fluid will drain. This plastic tube acts as the fluid overflow drain. The same tube is what is used to get the right fluid levels when refilling.

View attachment 33814

Once all the fluid is drained insert the inner plastic tube back in and screw it in without overtightening. Leave the drain plug off and remove the fill plug. The fill plug location is as captured below. The plug is easily accessible from the left front wheel well.
View attachment 33815

View attachment 33816

As shown below the right fluid in my case was Toyota CVTF FE. The part number for the fluid is 08886-02505 and available at Toyota Kenya going for Ksh 6416 vat inclusive.
View attachment 33817

View attachment 33818

If you are broke and you must change the fluid you can go for Aisin CFeX which is listed to work with on both TC and FE classified gearboxes .The four litre can will cost you Ksh 3700 available at Toyotsu .
View attachment 33819

Fill up the gearbox using the funnel and the hosepipe until the fluid starts to leak through the inner plastic tube or simply replace it with the exact same amount that was removed providing you measure it accurately (This assumes it's a factory filled vehicle which has never been refilled by a third party before).
From the literature, i have read so far the ideal fluid level is achieved when the fluid is 35 - 45 degrees centigrade. Since I didn't have a tool (professional OBD scan tool ) to measure the fluid temperature I started the car and shifted from P -R -N-D waiting 3 seconds at every gear position and repeated this 4 times to achieve temperatures close to the recommended.
Top up the fluid until it starts to drain from the tube and wait till this slows down to just drops after which you can screw back the drain plug using the 6mm Allen key.

Save your gearbox from incompetent fellows just drain and refill your CVT and enjoy the smooth drive. It's recommended to change this fluid after every 30,000 Km or 1 year to prolong the life of your belt-driven transmission.

cc @mzeiya

Informative post. Thanks @zapp_brannigan

• Mazda Axela ( BLFW ),
  • Suzuki Swift.
I have used and serviced 2 vehicles with the CVT gearbox and most mechanics don't seem to understand how it works and it's even worse on the newer generation CVT which lacks the dipstick.Mid last month I entrusted a ''GURU'' to perform a drain and refill procedure on a vehicle with Aisin K210 gearbox. The mech was very cocky, bragging how he is the only one amongst the brand renowned mechs to know how to check the fluid status and refill. I watched as they undid the drain plug and some fluid drained. During the refill procedure, the guy poured approximately 3.5 litres. On my way home I noted some whining sound from the left side of the vehicle whenever the RPM was at around 2000 - 3000. I called the mech the next day and he claimed CVTs whine. What followed was numerous trips to the mech on some occasions topping up the half-litre fluid that remained or draining almost a litre of the fluid but the issue persisted. I decided it was time to do some research and fix the whine. Kumbe the mechanic had refilled the wrong fluid and the quantity was not right too.

You require
-
6mm Allen wrench

View attachment 33814

View attachment 33815

View attachment 33816

View attachment 33817

View attachment 33818

View attachment 33819

cc @mzeiya
Good stuff and as detailed as it can be. However, in my years as a DIY guy on virtually all the cars I have owned, this is what I could add to anyone interested in working on their own cars; you always test the refill plug first to ensure it unscrews before draining any fluids from the car. This is most pronounced when it come to transmissions and differentials. Pray tell what would happen were you to drain the fluids by removing the drain plug halafu refill plug ikatae kutoka?

Nakubaliana na wewe

🤣 I'm not sure why I'm laughing , never start anything that you can't stop !