A two decade run, then a silly mistake...

Children of Rwandan genocide fugitive Kabuga led police to Paris-area hideout
Tangi Salaün
PARIS (Reuters) - French intelligence agents spied on the children of Rwanda’s most-wanted genocide fugitive to track him down to an apartment in a Paris suburb and end a 26-year-long manhunt, the head of the police unit who arrested Felicien Kabuga said.

A man rides a bicycle past an apartment building where Rwanda genocide suspect Felicien Kabuga was arrested in Asnieres-sur-Seine near Paris, France, May 16, 2020. REUTERS/Gonzalo Fuentes/File Photo
The inquiry gathered pace in March after an intelligence sharing meeting between investigators from France, Britain, and Belgium, home to some of Kabuga’s children, as well as Europe’s Europol law enforcement agency and a team from a U.N. tribunal.
The coronavirus lockdown paralysing most of Europe meant many investigations were put on hold, allowing a focus on Kabuga’s file, said Eric Emeraux, head of the Gendarmerie’s Central Office for Combating Crimes Against Humanity.
The dragnet subsequently closed in on one of the alleged chief financiers of the Rwandan genocide, suspected of bankrolling and arming the militias that slaughtered 800,000 ethnic Tutsis and moderate Hutus in 1994.
“We realised ... that trail from the children protecting their father converged on Asnieres-sur-Seine,” Emeraux told Reuters, referring to a Paris suburb. “We also discovered one of his children was renting an apartment there.”
ADVERTISEMENT

Wiretaps were installed and the property placed under surveillance. Intelligence indicated there was good reason to believe that someone other than one of his offspring was residing in the apartment.
“We decided to open the door, without being entirely sure of who we would find inside,” Emeraux said. “I didn’t sleep the night before.”
The 84-year-old fugitive had been living in a third-floor flat on the Rue du Reverend Pere Christian Gilbert in Asnieres-sur-Seine, a well-off neighbourhood on the northern fringe of Paris.
Neighbours described a frail, elderly man who said little and before the lockdown would often stroll outside of his apartment. One resident in the same block said Kabuga might have lived there for four or five years.
ADVERTISEMENT

GBAGBO’S LAWYER
Reuters has not been able to find any public comment made by Kabuga over the years about the charges. French lawyer Emmanuel Altit said he will be part of the defense team. He did not respond to a subsequent request seeking comment from Kabuga.
Altit was a senior lawyer on the team which successfully secured former Ivorian president Laurent Gbagbo’s acquittal on charges of crimes against humanity at the International Criminal Court in January 2019.
On Saturday, a squad of 16 elite officers, dressed in black and dubbed ‘Ninjas’ by Emeraux, forced Kabuga’s front door at 6 a.m.
“Kabuga didn’t put up any resistance,” Emeraux said. He was formally identified in a DNA test, matching against a sample taken when he was hospitalised in Germany in 2007, Emeraux added.
Kabuga’s arrest marked the end of a more than two-decade-long hunt that spanned Africa and Europe. Kabuga had 28 known aliases and was using a passport from an African country, Emeraux said.
Altit said Kabuga would be arraigned before a Paris court on Tuesday.

The court will set out the legal process before passing the case to investigative judges within eight days. The judges will decide whether to hand Kabuga to the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals. If Kabuga appeals against their ruling, the matter will go France’s Court of Cassation, which hears whether rulings conform with the law.
Kabuga’s ability to hide to evade an international manhunt for more than 20 years has raised questions over whether he had accomplices outside of his family.
“It is difficult to imagine he could have escaped into French territory without the help of accomplices,” said Patrick Baudoin of the International Federation for Human Rights. The federation has supported survivors in the prosecution of other Rwandan genocide suspects living in France

. French lawyer Emmanuel Altit said he will be part of the defense team. He did not respond to a subsequent request seeking comment from Kabuga.
Altit was a senior lawyer on the team which successfully secured former Ivorian president Laurent Gbagbo’s acquittal on charges of crimes against humanity at the International Criminal Court in January 2019.
O

By the way France is grooming Gbagbo's former youth minister, who was arrested together with him, to take over in Ivory Coast. He even got a 12-minute interview on France 24. They don't give such interviews to just anyone.

The story of this guy is what legends are made off.... Its said that he wiped rwanda's national foreign reserves as he fled... To break it down that is physical gold bars and cold cash in foreign denominations probably dollars!!!! France is a shitty country that would otherwise be in same league like kibera were it not for the francophone African countries it continues to leech on. They must have known where he was and he must have paid for protection only that he had outlived his usefulness and france wants to return rwanda to its fold! Remember kagame holds it in low regard na alibadilisha official language from french to English.

As for perspective kenyans treasure your peace! This pyscho imported three machetes for every adult hutu to 'cut down tall trees' ring a bell?

The story of this guy is what legends are made off.... Its said that he wiped rwanda's national foreign reserves as he fled... To break it down that is physical gold bars and cold cash in foreign denominations probably dollars!!!! France is a shitty country that would otherwise be in same league like kibera were it not for the francophone African countries it continues to leech on. They must have known where he was and he must have paid for protection only that he had outlived his usefulness and france wants to return rwanda to its fold! Remember kagame holds it in low regard na alibadilisha official language from french to English.

As for perspective kenyans treasure your peace! This pyscho imported three machetes for every adult hutu to 'cut down tall trees' ring a bell?
We shall treasure our peace but that shall not be a euphemism for allowing the Kenyatta's and their ilk to run down the country....a poor society knows no peace....but I get your point.

Hate to break it you son as it is there is nothing ABSOLUTELY NOTHING you can do about it!

He was formally identified in a DNA test, matching against a sample taken when he was hospitalised in Germany in 2007.
BYm4.gif

Wacha tuone if they will agree to send him to Rwanda for trial

France is just an opportunistic shiet. West African are the most stupid though we also have our mistakes in ranches

Hate to break it you son as it is there is nothing ABSOLUTELY NOTHING you can do about it!
That is what you keep telling yourself young man....even the Sudanese people at some point thought that they could t do away with Bashir.....change is imminent....the question is when and how....you haven't read enough or lived long enough to prove me wrong.....but you are entitled to your opinion

Without going into details how do you expect to do that?
1. Elections? Zero chance there the algo for 2022 is already out just waiting panel beating and fine tuning... For perspective chebkat couldn't release clean results even after 3yrs cooking in the kitchen your one vote wont even leave your polling station!!! Wewe ukiona senior welder ameinua mkono na kujoin unafikiri ameona that change can come through the ballot?
2. Revolution/popular uprising??? Wacha nicheke tu kenya is too divided, fragmented and stupid mido class to even contemplate this route! Divide and rule is so entrenched and mtu wetu syndrome so well watered that nothing useful can come through this route! Ask 'twitter general' miguna how well he is faring.... The countries that this route has ever worked is when people have unity of purpose which is not foreseeable in the near future here.
Hate or love the tentacles that the have been planted in ke by the three past president and current cant be wished away anytime!!! But what do i know???? Just a private citizen like you said opinion

The guy is 84 years-old, sickly and frail, has less decade of life left, and in that period, his housing and medicare will be taken care of by ICC. He is an evil bastard, be he'll be more than okay.