A truth some people don't like to hear

Hapo kwa siblings wa politicians languishing in poverty ni ukweli mtupu. Reminds me of Kibaki's siblings. His brother and sister were living in poverty despite the guy being in government for decades. These siblings sacrificed their own education so that Kibaki could get educated. Kibaki akaomoka akajitoa halafu akasema watu wafanye kazi wajitegemee :ROFLMAO: . Wangetoa wapi high paying jobs without education? Hii story should teach young people that some sacrifices are not worth making even for siblings.

Imagine being a billionaire (he used to own Union Towers hapa Moi Avenue among other assets) na hata huwezi funga macho ujengee your siblings (who sacrificed for your education) bungalow ya 4M each??

These siblings sacrificed their own education so that Kibaki could get educated.
Historical inaccuracy- Mwai's father wasn't interested in taking the children to school. He had to be persuaded to allow at least one child to attend and that's how Mwai who was the youngest got lucky to go to school.
Reminds me of Kibaki's siblings. His brother and sister were living in poverty despite the guy being in government for decades.
Maybe the culture Kibaki and his siblings belong to is alien to you. In that culture it is very rude to tell a man (more so a brother in law) that he is poor, and that includes criticizing the state of his house. you don't offer help unless it is asked for - and men and women of their generation despise begging.

So us peeping through the fence may not understand why he didn't offer the help (if he didn't).

Historical inaccuracy- Mwai's father wasn't interested in taking the children to school. He had to be persuaded to allow at least one child to attend and that's how Mwai who was the youngest got lucky to go to school.

Maybe the culture Kibaki and his siblings belong to is alien to you. In that culture it is very rude to tell a man (more so a brother in law) that he is poor, and that includes criticizing the state of his house. you don't offer help unless it is asked for - and men and women of their generation despise begging.

So us peeping through the fence may not understand why he didn't offer the help (if he didn't).
Was heading to correct a few things. Seen you already done so.

I also thought I would hear the siblings themselves complaining. Mimi naona watu ambao wametosheka na maisha yao. I never heard a Kibaki relative alieshindwa kulipia hospital bills.

People like Kibaki (successful children from poor backgrounds with zero intentions of uplifting their siblings from poverty) operate in a very clever manner. They provide financial assistance in drips or peanuts that can't really change the life of their siblings. Utaona jamaa ni worth hundreds of millions, lakini brother yake ni watchman. He sends him like 2k once a month (tied to some task e.g enda uniangalilie kama shamba boy alimaliza kazi ABC kwa farm) lakini juu beggars can't be choosers the broke brother will just accept the cash. Of course they won't see their close relatives struggling with medical bills, but that is the highest extreme they can offer financially. If that wealthy brother was intent on saving his watchman bro from poverty, angemwambia achore business plan they go through it together and then he finances the small business and maybe recovers his investment later when the business succeeds. Drip feeding money to close kin is not a viable strategy of saving them from poverty, it just cushions them from extreme hardships.

Kibaki's siblings cant complain because he probably still drip feeds money to them and beggars can't be choosers.

People like Kibaki (successful children from poor backgrounds with zero intentions of uplifting their siblings from poverty) operate in a very clever manner. They provide financial assistance in drips or peanuts that can't really change the life of their siblings. Utaona jamaa ni worth hundreds of millions, lakini brother yake ni watchman. He sends him like 2k once a month (tied to some task e.g enda uniangalilie kama shamba boy alimaliza kazi ABC kwa farm) lakini juu beggars can't be choosers the broke brother will just accept the cash. Of course they won't see their close relatives struggling with medical bills, but that is the highest extreme they can offer financially. If that wealthy brother was intent on saving his watchman bro from poverty, angemwambia achore business plan they go through it together and then he finances the small business and maybe recovers his investment later when the business succeeds. Drip feeding money to close kin is not a viable strategy of saving them from poverty, it just cushions them from extreme hardships.

Kibaki's siblings cant complain because he probably still drip feeds money to them and beggars can't be choosers.

So, you get an adult, give him a business idea, develop the plan with him and finance it? Then, adabra cadabra, your poor sibling is out of poverty!

Magical Kenya! Great thinking!

So, you get an adult, give him a business idea, develop the plan with him and finance it? Then, adabra cadabra, your poor sibling is out of poverty!

Hapo pa giving him a business idea hiyo umetoa kwa akili yako. I don't remember typing that.

Yes. Drip feeding handouts to your struggling siblings hauwasaidii (if you are very wealthy). Financing his business is actual help and empowerment. It is the equivalent of giving a man a fishing boat and nets. Give him a tool of making money instead of peanuts. Kama utamnunulia nduthi ajitegemee ni sawa pia. That's empowerment.

You can't give a struggling sibling 2k and then wonder why he or she is still poor. Haumsaidii kujitoa kwa umaskini. You are only saving him or her from starving for a week. Short-term thinking a.k.a giving a man a fish.

NB: This only applies if you are wealthy. Kama wewe ni struggling middle class ama peasant jisaidie kwanza. If you are worth hundreds of millions and can't spare just 1 to finance your brother's venture, then you have no right to boast that you are helping him or her to escape poverty because you aren't.

I once helped a relative to pay for a stall ya kanjo and stock it. She has never lacked since then from that small business. That's empowerment.

Hapo pa giving him a business idea hiyo umetoa kwa akili yako. I don't remember typing that.

Yes. Drip feeding handouts to your struggling siblings hauwasaidii (if you are very wealthy). Financing his business is actual help and empowerment. It is the equivalent of giving a man a fishing boat and nets.

You can't give a struggling sibling 2k and then wonder why he or she is still poor. Haumsaidii kujitoa kwa umaskini. You are only saving him or her from starving for a week. Short-term thinking.

NB: This only applies if you are wealthy. Kama wewe ni struggling middle class ama peasant jisaidie kwanza. If you are worth hundreds of millions and can't spare just 1 to finance your brother's venture, then you have no right to boast that you are helping him or her to escape poverty because you aren't.

You POV is simplistic at best. You seem to be allocating the responsibility of lifting the poor sibling out of poverty solely to the richer one. What's the responsibility of the poorer folk? Does he even define success the same way as the richer sibling? Does he have "the fire in the belly"?

Capital is overrated. Good ideas, business knowledge, discipline and hard work determine success. 20m or 20k could be a handout depending on how rich the giver is. Give to a handout minded fella and it's the end of it. Give it to determined fella and you will see results down the line.

You POV is simplistic at best. You seem to be allocating the responsibility of lifting the poor sibling out of poverty solely to the richer one. What's the responsibility of the poorer folk? Does he even define success the same way as the richer sibling? Does he have "the fire in the belly"?

Capital is overrated. Good ideas, business knowledge, discipline and hard work determine success. 20m or 20k could be a handout depending on how rich the giver is. Give to a handout minded fella and it's the end of it. Give it to determined fella and you will see results down the line.
You missed the point. The one we were building up to...look closer.

You POV is simplistic at best. You seem to be allocating the responsibility of lifting the poor sibling out of poverty solely to the richer one.

What's the responsibility of the poorer folk? To provide the 2k survival handouts because they can't afford lump sums needed to finance a business.

Does he even define success the same way as the richer sibling? His definition of success doesn't matter. He will need money until he dies so he has an incentive to take the offer. Also, it is voluntary and if he doesn't want it, at least you tried.

Does he have "the fire in the belly"?
You can't determine that before he tries it because you can't predict the future. Remember, it is his idea that you are financing, not your idea so he or she obviously has some interest. However, I recognize that there are unique situations that warrant drip-feeding e.g when dealing with an alcoholic.

Capital is overrated. Good ideas, business knowledge, discipline and hard work determine success.
This is total hogwash. Capital is the most important factor in business. Forget about the garbage motivational speakers have drummed into your head. You need capital to implement ideas and those two components go hand in hand. The best idea without capital is useless.

20m or 20k could be a handout depending on how rich the giver is.
It has more to do with the intended purpose of the money and less to do with the amount. Giving people money for consumption is short-term thinking and not empowerment. Give a man a fishing boat and nets, not a damn fish.

Give to a handout minded fella and it's the end of it. Give it to determined fella and you will see results down the line. You would have to be a mind-reader to know that beforehand. You have to help first and find out after the fact what type of person you are dealing with.

Watu kwa mtandao make business seem like child's play mpaka naanza kujiuliza kwani ni wapi nilikosea. Nimejaribu several businesses with spectacular failure mpaka nikapata ile inawork. Sasa hawa wanapiga hustle.moja na kuomoka in kina nano hao?

Hapo kwa siblings wa politicians languishing in poverty ni ukweli mtupu. Reminds me of Kibaki's siblings. His brother and sister were living in poverty despite the guy being in government for decades. These siblings sacrificed their own education so that Kibaki could get educated. Kibaki akaomoka akajitoa halafu akasema watu wafanye kazi wajitegemee :ROFLMAO: . Wangetoa wapi high paying jobs without education? Hii story should teach young people that some sacrifices are not worth making even for siblings.

Imagine being a billionaire (he used to own Union Towers hapa Moi Avenue among other assets) na hata huwezi funga macho ujengee your siblings (who sacrificed for your education) bungalow ya 4M each??

Don't insert yourself into sibling issues. They have known each other since childhood and grew up together. Only their family can judge, not some random outsider