When everybody becomes a farmer

The cost of food remains low ever since covid arrived. All the foodstuffs that were being consumed in schools, colleges and hospitals are here with us. People who lost jobs became instant farmers thinking they will make a killing but it can only get worse.
As for me I am one of them, am counting losses but am glad most people aren't sleeping hungry. No one is buying, kales are going for 3 Bob per kg and spinach 5.
IMG_20200925_083752051.jpg
IMG_20200925_083900779.jpg

As per hay it's going for 20bob at the farm in areas around solio, but this one I blame the govt for crippling dairy farmers who gave up.
To cut the story short what am trying to say is shule zifunguliwe January Sina pesa.

The cost of food remains low ever since covid arrived. All the foodstuffs that were being consumed in schools, colleges and hospitals are here with us. People who lost jobs became instant farmers thinking they will make a killing but it can only get worse.
As for me I am one of them, am counting losses but am glad most people aren't sleeping hungry. No one is buying, kales are going for 3 Bob per kg and spinach 5.
View attachment 22631View attachment 22632
As per hay it's going for 20bob at the farm in areas around solio, but this one I blame the govt for crippling dairy farmers who gave up.
To cut the story short what am trying to say is shule zifunguliwe January Sina pesa.
Lakini mungich ume suffer enough,from being an adherent ukatoka huko with nothing,ukaenda Dubai ukatoka huko bila, now into farming Tena huko utoke kaput?I pity you my friend

View attachment 22631View attachment 22632
Si kwa ubaya but your IQ is sub-basement;);););););), ha ha ha ha! Unataka kusema watoto hukula tuu wakiwa shule wakiwa nyumbani hawakuli so market inaisha?

ION, I really admire your lifestyle. Niki-grow up nataka kuwa kama wewe.

Sell your produce directly to the market wacha kuuzia brokers...................

Si kwa ubaya but your IQ is sub-basement;);););););), ha ha ha ha! Unataka kusema watoto hukula tuu wakiwa shule wakiwa nyumbani hawakuli so market inaisha?

Sell your produce directly to the market wacha kuuzia brokers...................
The Pirate has a point. The weather has been favourable, plus most people travelled upcountry and are now producing their own food. So there is oversupply and thus the low prices.

He is somehow right. The patterns of food consumption between school and home are different. Schools provide a sustained and stable demand for certain produce for most of the year. It is not too common to find a homestead relying on about five food commodities for nine months in a year, something common in schools. Plus those in agricultural areas partly rely on homegrown food, which would still not find its way into markets even in the absence of kids.

How many bags of dry cereals, cabbages can you consume in a month with your two kids?