Watu wa central

Ghost

Am I the only one who hates it when a random person approaches you when asking for help or directions talks to you in Kikuyu?
Do this people know that in Kenya we have over 42 tribes kila mtu akianza kuongea tribe yake it will be complete mayhem. I have in several instances asked those people to speak either Swahili or English which everyone can understand. Most of them are old people in their 40s. Lately I started a new way of curbing that, when someone speaks to me in Kikuyu I reply back in my native language and it ends up hatuelewani so he is forced to speak Swahili. This is why tribalism never ends!

Am I the only one who hates it when a random person approaches you when asking for help or directions talks to you in Kikuyu?
Do this people know that in Kenya we have over 42 tribes kila mtu akianza kuongea tribe yake it will be complete mayhem. I have in several instances asked those people to speak either Swahili or English which everyone can understand. Most of them are old people in their 40s. Lately I started a new way of curbing that, when someone speaks to me in Kikuyu I reply back in my native language and it ends up hatuelewani so he is forced to speak Swahili. This is why tribalism never ends!
Did you know that this scene repeats in a myriad other places, only that this time no Kikuyu is involved?

I t is a only problem because it is Gikuyu.

@Ghost don't worry. The only reason it bothers you is because you are yet to find your purpose in life. When you finally self-actualize you'll realize that you'll be free of prejudice and will have learnt to accept things the way they come/are, hence you'll not be worked up by little things.

Having worked in different places in Kenya, I have encountered people who talk to strangers in their own language everywhere, there is nothing wrong with that, actually it's a mark of diversity, of the over 40 languages in the republic, terming it tribal is a projection of your individual bias.

In 1997 I Was in nyaza on official government of Kenya missions , if you recall the tribal conflicts between luos ,kisii and Masai was the order of the day. The kisiis we're fought by luos in one side and on the other side by Masai that when I realised tribalism is dagerous and can kill a country dead came face to face with death at Rongo. We left our official viecle at kamagobo and split towards kisii town but at Ahero - Kisii I quickly jumped to a Nissan heading to Ahero , Kisii was a no go zone, it was already 6:30pm , the drive decided to tie twigs on side side mirrors and advance use to shout NDP whenever we encountered road blocks mounted by mad luos ! Along Kisii and Ahero we shouted ourselves almost to death. Anyway kisumu was an no go zone for Kisii's . I managed to hike a lift in Gathanga success to Kakamega ! After 2days we left for Banana

G

Grillsman

Do you have dark yellow grills or Shiney eyes?
Why should it bother you?

Ghost

Having worked in different places in Kenya, I have encountered people who talk to strangers in their own language everywhere, there is nothing wrong with that, actually it's a mark of diversity, of the over 40 languages in the republic, terming it tribal is a projection of your individual bias.
We are in Nairobi which is a Metropolitan area with all tribal groupings. If someone spoke Kikuyu to me and I am in Nyeri or Murang'a it would be understandable since am in Kikuyuland and 99.9% of people in those areas are Kikuyus. Lakini ukioniongelesha Kikuyu na tuko Nairobi, whats does that mean really?

Nairobi is part of Central during weekdays, Nyanza in Weekends, and Kakamega at night.

Now that's an extreme, in Nairobi they should use the national language.

In 1997 I Was in nyaza on official government of Kenya missions , if you recall the tribal conflicts between luos ,kisii and Masai was the order of the day. The kisiis we're fought by luos in one side and on the other side by Masai that when I realised tribalism is dagerous and can kill a country dead came face to face with death at Rongo. We left our official viecle at kamagobo and split towards kisii town but at Ahero - Kisii I quickly jumped to a Nissan heading to Ahero , Kisii was a no go zone, it was already 6:30pm , the drive decided to tie twigs on side side mirrors and advance use to shout NDP whenever we encountered road blocks mounted by mad luos ! Along Kisii and Ahero we shouted ourselves almost to death. Anyway kisumu was an no go zone for Kisii's . I managed to hike a lift in Gathanga success to Kakamega ! After 2days we left for Banana
Mondo, kusema kamagambo ni shida, anyway you are a well travelled fellow.

[/QUOTE]
I really don't know what it means but we have Kamagambo Police Station

S

Sambam

Can’t understand you. Hii ni lugha gani?