Wadau, we got conned!

Mr Black

So the SGR failed to breakeven for the fourth year running, Dr. Ndii warned us numerously to no avail, he may be hateful and rough on the edges but he is brilliant at what he does. Machos tupu😥😥😥

Here is an excerpt from an article he penned in 2018

In the beginning was a fiction – that the Chinese railway would freight 22 million tonnes a year, and in so doing, replace the trucking business. Turns out – and this from the government’s own internal assessments – that the maximum amount of annual freight on the SGR is 8.76 million tonnes, almost a third of what was promised. Interest alone on the $3 billion debt is in US$200 million (KSh 20 billion) per year, which works out to KSh 45,000 – KSh 60,000 per container. Contrary to official assurances, explains DAVID NDII, the railway will require both State coercion and a massive public subsidy to stay in business.

At the centre of this con is the same man behind BBI, another boldfaced con which will leave us all much worse than we are right now, please thoroughly interrogate anything this con artist proposes before buying it, múkaríríra kioro

So the SGR failed to breakeven for the fourth year running, Dr. Ndii warned us numerously to no avail, he may be hateful and rough on the edges but he is brilliant at what he does. Machos tupu😥😥😥

In the beginning was a fiction – that the Chinese railway would freight 22 million tonnes a year, and in so doing, replace the trucking business. Turns out – and this from the government’s own internal assessments – that the maximum amount of annual freight on the SGR is 8.76 million tonnes, almost a third of what was promised. Interest alone on the $3 billion debt is in US$200 million (KSh 20 billion) per year, which works out to KSh 45,000 – KSh 60,000 per container. Contrary to official assurances, explains DAVID NDII, the railway will require both State coercion and a massive public subsidy to stay in business.

At the centre of this con is the same man behind BBI, another boldfaced con which will leave us all much worse than we are right now, please thoroughly interrogate anything this con artist proposes before buying it, múkaríríra kioro
We are already crying nani. Tumebakisha kuingia ndani ya kíoro tulie saidi na kwa nguvu

There was no doubt that the cost was inflated but part of the reason why this project is failing is because they failed to extend the line to Uganda. Si walinyimwa pesa to complete the third phase and Uganda walikataa kutengeneza pia?

Also, I was one of the people who defended the project but I can admit that tunalilia choo sasa because of the poor planing and implementation. Jayden atembeze priss..

emali

The passenger ones ata sidhani zinaleta faida but still a great way to travel
that is personally all I care about.. safety...comfort... i would only be disappointed with the project if they stopped that passenger service.. ama. it became unreliable like the lunatic express

Fala12

There was no doubt that the cost was inflated but part of the reason why this project is failing is because they failed to extend the line to Uganda. Si walinyimwa pesa to complete the third phase and Uganda walikataa kutengeneza pia?

Also, I was one of the people who defended the project but I can admit that tunalilia choo sasa because of the poor planing and implementation. Jayden atembeze priss..
The inflated cost would have been sufficient to get the line to Uganda

How MANY TIMES AM I GONNA TELL YOU BONOBOS THAT THE WORLD OVER INFRASTRUCTURAL PROJECTS LIKE THE SGR ARE NOT MEANT TO BE PROFIT MAKING but to be facilitators of trade and movement? How much money has say the Nrb-Nkru highway MADE since it was built in the 70s?

Mr Black

Umesoma hio article? Annual capacity is 8 million tonnes only so increasing volumes ferried substantially would be impossible, Ndii refers to an even more damning fact, rail transport for cargo is losing its competitive edge to trucking, it will definitely be a done deal when we have electric trucks in the not so distant future

Tukubali hii kitu ni tembo mweupe pepepeeeh

Mr Black

mimi sijali kama imebreak even or ever will.. as long as naweza weka familia yangu yote hapo ndani.. clean safe and on time to mombasa.. avoiding the madness ya barabara... iko sawa
Frankly we are too poor and small a nation to even dream of having commuter trains traversing hundreds of kilometres, maybe pale jijini but not intercity

We need to tone down the grandiosity

Mr Black

How MANY TIMES AM I GONNA TELL YOU BONOBOS THAT THE WORLD OVER INFRASTRUCTURAL PROJECTS LIKE THE SGR ARE NOT MEANT TO BE PROFIT MAKING but to be facilitators of trade and movement? How much money has say the Nrb-Nkru highway MADE since it was built in the 70s?
The justification for the SGR was that it would halve our transport costs for imports and still breakeven, that is not the case and will never be, Ndii illustrates that in his article. Please stop shifting goalposts, that was the bare minimum promised.

Profitability was promised by Kenyatta's administration, that was the selling point, the lie was that we would ferry 22million tonnes via the SGR which KIPPRA downgraded to a mere 8Million tonnes, we are not only repaying the Chinese loan we are also subsidizing and will keep subsidizing KR to simply keep the trains running.

JazzMan

Mliambiwa hamkutaka kusikia. Wengine walilia ukabila ndio inafanya reli ipingwe, wengine wakalia serikali yao inachukiwa, wengine wakadai it is their time kula nyama. Mkaamka saa tisa kuhakikisha tumepakwa lube vizuri.

Kuleni ujeuri yenu.

tano tena madness.jpg

Mr Black

Mliambiwa hamkutaka kusikia. Wengine walilia ukabila ndio inafanya reli ipingwe, wengine wakalia serikali yao inachukiwa, wengine wakadai it is their time kula nyama. Mkaamka saa tisa kuhakikisha tumepakwa lube vizuri.

Kuleni ujeuri yenu.

View attachment 31031
There should be a chest-pains emoji, that is what I feel everytime Jubilee Party comes up.

We need to normalise interrogating matters much more deeply and objectively in this country, starting with BBI now that we know we cannot trust mere promises and scanty details.

Mr Black

Large scale railway projects rarely make profits, even in China there are several loss-making railway projects. Anyway, I remain optimistic because it is a new frontier and the future can only get better.
It is not a new frontier for us, we had a functional rail transport system at independence which was killed, for a country our size the initial outlay for building new railways using external debt is not viable especially compared to how much it would take improving our road network

It makes sense rehabilitating the old railways, not building a new one.

Montecarlo

mimi sijali kama imebreak even or ever will.. as long as naweza weka familia yangu yote hapo ndani.. clean safe and on time to mombasa.. avoiding the madness ya barabara... iko sawa
To be honest railways rarely break even unless you are hauling serious cargo. Read the story of Thomas A. Scott and Rockefeller...one owned a railway line the other oil....eventually Thomas A. Scott had to bow to Rockefeller

Montecarlo

Nobody has an issue with projects but let their costs be determined properly and their priority be determined soberly.....that is not too much to ask I belive