Unveiling the Veil: Kenya’s Unique Colonial Legacy

I've just come across this twitter thread courtesy of Wandia Njoya - someone I consider a perennial whiner but it has made me pause and ponder on the argument that she makes.
1710151527787.png

The rest of the tweets in article format courtesy of CHatGPT:
"I've tried to figure out what was unique about Kenya, and the only thing I can come up with is that we were colonized by British elites. Bruce Berman says that Kenya had the highest number of public school British people in the colonial administration and missions."

"Carey Francis, the guru of the whole lot, was educated at Cambridge. He set the tone for academic snobbery and suffocating moralism that stifles the Kenyan mind. The missionaries set the tone for a major hypocrisy that has infected the Kenyan elite and middle class."

"The hypocrisy isn't Christian vs indigenous. It's liberal hypocrisy. The idea that white people can ignore the colonial framework and represent African interests. No matter how many times you explain this hypocrisy, middle class will not hear you and pontificate about secularism."

"That's why in Western institutions, you will find Kenyans towing the line while ironically singing tirades against wazungu. It's a perfect colonialism. I almost admire wazungu for pulling it off. Binyavanga was onto something when he tried to name this insidious delusion of ours."

"He said 'There is one skill we have: we understand how to put our heads down and make small profits from being cynical sycophants and brokers in small deals for big men. We have learned that ideas are dangerous. To innovate is to threaten power.'"

"If you want to know how bad things are, come see how students struggle to write about themselves. They've been assaulted with motivational speaking and neoliberal branding that they can no longer name what they actually think or feel. That's crazy!"

"And please, spare me the white man stole our culture line. I'm sick of it. Kenyans recite this line but when they're given a racist education system, they say ok. This is a country where decolonizing conferences are sponsored by the British council. I'm not listening."

"Kenya is so good at this delusion, that Western academics love coming to do research and experiment on us. A good chunk of African studies are on Kenya, and not much of that material is enlightening."

"Wazungu scholars are fascinated at how we Kenyans play policy by the text book. For every fantasy cooked up at the UN, Kenyan bureaucrats are the most enthusiastic in forcing us into it, and writing reports about how well its going when nothing like that is happening in reality."

"This dishonesty is our modus operandi, as @m_ogada said. If you try to name reality, you'll be told to be positive and see the bright side of life. That's why my students are struggling to name what they think and witness."

"We're so clueless, that we sponsor bots to shamelessly reply with the exact stupidity and hubris that I'm talking about."

That is true, and its in every nook of society, we have neatly divided ourselves into those who are more mzungu like vs those who are at the frays of the spectrum
-Urbane vs shagsmodos
-Guys with indigenous accents vs those without
-The ellite schooled vs the harambee schooled
-Anyone holding any certificate (hata kcpe) vs those without
-Formally employed vs jua kali guys....
It goes on and on, and worst part is the guys looked down upon accept it as norm and its their duty to cross the other side or at the very least ensure their kids are not caught on the garagaria side.
And it informs the rotten society we live in, niggers will do anything to cross the rail tracks

That is true, and its in every nook of society, we have neatly divided ourselves into those who are more mzungu like vs those who are at the frays of the spectrum
-Urbane vs shagsmodos
-Guys with indigenous accents vs those without
-The ellite schooled vs the harambee schooled
-Anyone holding any certificate (hata kcpe) vs those without
-Formally employed vs jua kali guys....
It goes on and on, and worst part is the guys looked down upon accept it as norm and its their duty to cross the other side or at the very least ensure their kids are not caught on the garagaria side.
And it informs the rotten society we live in, niggers will do anything to cross the rail tracks
And it's made worse when paying taxes, not getting services and sourcing private solutions to private issues makes the bourgeoisie feel like it's a privilege. Our country is quite broken.

I've just come across this twitter thread courtesy of Wandia Njoya - someone I consider a perennial whiner but it has made me pause and ponder on the argument that she makes.
View attachment 93244

The rest of the tweets in article format courtesy of CHatGPT:
"I've tried to figure out what was unique about Kenya, and the only thing I can come up with is that we were colonized by British elites. Bruce Berman says that Kenya had the highest number of public school British people in the colonial administration and missions."

"Carey Francis, the guru of the whole lot, was educated at Cambridge. He set the tone for academic snobbery and suffocating moralism that stifles the Kenyan mind. The missionaries set the tone for a major hypocrisy that has infected the Kenyan elite and middle class."

"The hypocrisy isn't Christian vs indigenous. It's liberal hypocrisy. The idea that white people can ignore the colonial framework and represent African interests. No matter how many times you explain this hypocrisy, middle class will not hear you and pontificate about secularism."

"That's why in Western institutions, you will find Kenyans towing the line while ironically singing tirades against wazungu. It's a perfect colonialism. I almost admire wazungu for pulling it off. Binyavanga was onto something when he tried to name this insidious delusion of ours."

"He said 'There is one skill we have: we understand how to put our heads down and make small profits from being cynical sycophants and brokers in small deals for big men. We have learned that ideas are dangerous. To innovate is to threaten power.'"

"If you want to know how bad things are, come see how students struggle to write about themselves. They've been assaulted with motivational speaking and neoliberal branding that they can no longer name what they actually think or feel. That's crazy!"

"And please, spare me the white man stole our culture line. I'm sick of it. Kenyans recite this line but when they're given a racist education system, they say ok. This is a country where decolonizing conferences are sponsored by the British council. I'm not listening."

"Kenya is so good at this delusion, that Western academics love coming to do research and experiment on us. A good chunk of African studies are on Kenya, and not much of that material is enlightening."

"Wazungu scholars are fascinated at how we Kenyans play policy by the text book. For every fantasy cooked up at the UN, Kenyan bureaucrats are the most enthusiastic in forcing us into it, and writing reports about how well its going when nothing like that is happening in reality."

"This dishonesty is our modus operandi, as @m_ogada said. If you try to name reality, you'll be told to be positive and see the bright side of life. That's why my students are struggling to name what they think and witness."

"We're so clueless, that we sponsor bots to shamelessly reply with the exact stupidity and hubris that I'm talking about."
I honestly don't know what she's all about...sijanyita...

Essentially anasema The Brits made most nyeuthi to ape them as seen in the beliefs, mannerisms and aspirations of mostly the middle class.

It has opened up a big debate on Twitter as apparently other Africans seemingly agree with her eg
1000051181.jpg

... but then there are those not in agreement. Kenyan Asians have also been dragged into the matter, case in point 👇🏾
1000051184.jpg

Let me for once play the devil's advocate.

I don't think Kenyans bow down to Whites. They bow down to what they think is 'money'.

Just visit a restaurant in the newest Lexus SUV and see. Tip your waitress generously. Next time they'll all ignore the whites and crowd around your black ass.

The reason Kenyans crowd around whites is that they think they'll benefit financially from them.

Another thing. Comparing the behaviour of Kenyans towards foreigners (even Japanese, Koreans, etc) to how Nigerians behave is silly.

Kenya is a major tourist destination, Nigeria not so much...

Let me for once play the devil's advocate.

I don't think Kenyans bow down to Whites. They bow down to what they think is 'money'.

Just visit a restaurant in the newest Lexus SUV and see. Tip your waitress generously. Next time they'll all ignore the whites and crowd around your black ass.

The reason Kenyans crowd around whites is that they think they'll benefit financially from them.
Now explain why "Benny Hinn", the guy charges you money instead of "tippimg" you.
Wakenya think white mans prayer to white jesus is more potent, the same person anakashifu akina Owuor na Ezekiel alikuwa huko.

Now explain why "Benny Hinn", the guy charges you money instead of "tippimg" you.
Wakenya think white mans prayer to white jesus is more potent, the same person anakashifu akina Owuor na Ezekiel alikuwa huko.
Unless I'm living in another World, the Benny Hinn crusade was very unpopular with Kenyans.

What Guks amesema has been my overall observation and experience. It is the perceived wealth.

But more than that there is the chronic issue of pathetic leadership. Great leaders empower their people to think and aspire beyond their perceived limitations. Kenya has been deficient of such leadership that is why we always do the same old things expecting different results.

For example, you give a Kenyan a road repair contract and they do such a shoddy job that people ask for foreigners instead. Nobody(Kenyans) believes a Kenyan can produce anything of quality.

Online you mean. The rest walijaza stadium to the brim
Waah, you mean there were like 50m people at the crusade? Unavuta nini?
Ndio maana nashangaa.
Nyayo stadium has a capacity of 45K people and the crusade had a sizable non-Kenyan crowd, say 10%

This means, my friend @shocks that out of Kenya's estimated population of 55M, only 1 in 1,358 wananchi attended.

To put that into perspective, you'd require 97 matatus of 14-seater capacity to empty themselves in order to locate 1 Kenyan that attended the crusade.

Some perspective, huh?

What Guks amesema has been my overall observation and experience. It is the perceived wealth.

But more than that there is the chronic issue of pathetic leadership. Great leaders empower their people to think and aspire beyond their perceived limitations. Kenya has been deficient of such leadership that is why we always do the same old things expecting different results.

For example, you give a Kenyan a road repair contract and they do such a shoddy job that people ask for foreigners instead. Nobody(Kenyans) believes a Kenyan can produce anything of quality.
When uhuru took the mantle from kibaki ( MHSRIP ) he fired some ps over the same nonsense !