Ukiwa na deni ya mtu, you cant even raise your voice against them.

Kenyans have only gotten half the story but as usual they had to get hysterical when China was mentioned. Africans who have overstayed their visas are the ones who refuse to register for corona surveillance codes without which you cannot enter your flat. Landlords, too do not want to deal with you if you lack the codes. The claims of discrimination on colour are false and/or exaggerated.

'The new normal': China's excessive coronavirus public monitoring could be here to stay
Experts say the coronavirus has given the Chinese government a pretext for accelerating the mass surveillance
Lily Kuo

Lily Kuo in Hong Kong
Mon 9 Mar 2020 03.00 GMTLast modified on Wed 18 Mar 2020 10.56 GMT

A man wearing a face mask walks under surveillance cameras
Chinese residents say technology used to track suspected coronavirus cases has made public monitoring more obvious. Photograph: Aly Song/Reuters

Over the last two months, Chinese citizens have had to adjust to a new level of government intrusion.
Getting into one’s apartment compound or workplace requires scanning a QR code, writing down one’s name and ID number, temperature and recent travel history. Telecom operators track people’s movements while social media platforms like WeChat and Weibo have hotlines for people to report others who may be sick. Some cities are offering people rewards for informing on sick neighbours.
Chinese companies are meanwhile rolling out facial recognition technology that can detect elevated temperatures in a crowd or flag citizens not wearing a face mask. A range of apps use the personal health information of citizens to alert others of their proximity to infected patients or whether they have been in close contact.
State authorities, in addition to locking down entire cities, have implemented a myriad of security measures in the name of containing the coronavirus outbreak. From top officials to local community workers, those enforcing the rules repeat the same refrain: this is an “extraordinary time” feichang shiqi, requiring extraordinary measures.
As the number of new infections in China falls, having infected more than 80,000 and killed more than 3,000, residents and observers question how much of these new measures are here to stay.

Chinese social media censoring 'officially sanctioned facts' on coronavirus

Read more
“I don’t know what will happen when the epidemic is over. I don’t dare imagine it,” said Chen Weiyu, 23, who works in Shanghai. Every day when Chen goes to work, she has to submit a daily health check to her company, as well as scan a QR code and register in order to enter the office park.
“Monitoring is already everywhere. The epidemic has just made that monitoring, which we don’t normally see during ordinary times, more obvious,” she said.
Others are more emphatic about the future. Wang Aizhong, an activist based in Guangzhou, said: “This epidemic undoubtedly provides more reason for the government to surveil the public. I don’t think authorities will rule out keeping this up after the outbreak.”
“When we go out or stay in a hotel, we can feel a pair of eyes looking at us at any time. We are completely exposed to the monitoring of the government,” he said.
Experts say the virus, which emerged in Wuhan in December, has given authorities a pretext for accelerating the mass collection of personal data to track citizens, a dangerous prospect given that the country does not have stringent laws governing personal data.
“It’s mission creep,” said Maya Wang, senior China researcher for Human Rights Watch. According to Wang, the virus is likely to be a catalyst for a further expansion of the surveillance regime, as major events like the 2008 Olympics held in Beijing or the Shanghai Expo in 2010 were. “The techniques of mass surveillance became more permanent after these events,” she said.
“With the coronavirus outbreak the idea of risk scoring and restrictions on movement quickly became reality,” she said. “Over time we see more and more intrusive use of technology and less ability of people to push back.”
Many Chinese residents see the extra layers of public monitoring as additional bureaucratic hurdles, more frustrating than sinister, that further demonstrate the government’s ineffectiveness in handling the outbreak.

Coronavirus: the week explained - sign up for our email newsletter

Read more
China’s surveillance dragnet, while proudly promoted by officials, is full of loopholes. An ex-inmate infected with the virus managed to travel from Wuhan to Beijing last month, well after quarantine measures had gone into effect, prompting widespread criticism over how she left.
Citizens are particularly critical of a system called Health Code, which users can sign up for through Alipay or WeChat, that assigns individuals one of three colour codes based on their travel history, time spent in outbreak hotspots and exposure to potential carriers of the virus. The software, used in more than 100 cities, will soon allow people to check the colours of other residents when their ID numbers are entered.
One resident complained on Weibo that he had driven through Hubei without stopping but his colour code changed to yellow from green, indicating he would need to be quarantined. “I can’t even go out to buy bread or water,” another in Jiangsu province said, after his code inexplicably changed to yellow following a work trip.
Many described the app as “for appearances,” or xingshi zhuyi, a way for lower level officials to impress their higher ups with added strictures on citizens.
“I have a health code, a pass for my residential compound, and another certificate of health and still I can’t get into my home,” one commentator said. “This is garbage. Please release us regular people,” another said.
It’s like being in a science fiction film – my daily life in a locked-down Chinese city
Mark Bishop

Read more
Low-tech security measures have been employed as much as high-tech ones. An army of workers guard entry points to public spaces, ordering pedestrians to log their information or questioning residents about their recent movements. Religious sites like mosques have been closed. Many cities and counties have banned group gatherings, including small dinner parties.
In February, Sichuan province officials broke up a group playing mahjong party and forced the participants to read out an apology, captured on video. “We were wrong. We promise there will not be a next time and we will also monitor others,” the group of 10 men said, heads slightly bowed.
Other videos posted online have shown local officials pushing residents to the ground for not wearing a face mask or tying a man to a pole. Local law enforcement in Wuhan were recently fired after a video of them beating a man for selling vegetables on the street was posted online.
An article by the official state news agency Xinhua last week reminded citizens that those who violate virus prevention and control measures could be subject to three years in prison, and up to seven for particularly serious cases, as outlined in China’s criminal code.

China cracks down on 'sexual innuendo' and 'celebrity gossip' in new censorship rules

Read more
“Intrusive surveillance is already the ‘new normal’. The question for China is what, if any, is a level of surveillance that the population refuses to tolerate,” said Stuart Hargreaves, an associate professor at Chinese University of Hong Kong’s law school, focusing on privacy and information law.
Some worry current measures will continue in part because citizens are growing accustomed to them. Alex Zhang, 28, who lives in Chengdu, refers to Italian philosopher Giorgio Agamben’s theory on the state of exception, and how measures taken during a state of emergency can be prolonged.
“This type of governance and thinking for dealing with the epidemic can also be used for other issues - like the media, citizen journalists or ethnic conflicts. Because this method has been used before, citizens will accept it. It becomes normal,” he said.
Additional reporting by Lillian Yang

What of the kenyans in China?
PRESS RELEASE ON THE SITUATION AND TREATMENT OF KENYANS IN CHINA

MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS

1. The Ministry’s attention has been drawn to information concerning the situation of some Kenyan nationals in China specifically with regard to a recent decision by the Government of China to undertake stringent testing of foreigners and Chinese nationals alike, to forestall imported and asymptomatic cases of COVID-19 in Guangzhou and other areas of China.

1. Unfortunately, these measures have in some instances precipitated unfair responses against foreigners particularly of African origin, from some members of the local community in Guangzhou, especially landlords.

1. The Ministry through its Embassy in Beijing is seized of this matter and has officially expressed concern about these developments and is working with the Chinese authorities to tackle the matter expeditiously.

1. The Ministry has received assurances from the Chinese Embassy in Nairobi that the Government of China takes a serious view of the situation and that the local authorities in Guangzhou have been tasked to take immediate action to safeguard the legitimate rights of the Africans concerned.

1. In view of this commitment and cooperation we expect an early and comprehensive resolution of this matter to the benefit of Kenyan nationals in China. Our Embassy in Beijing remains available to attend to any challenges that may arise and to do so in liaison with the Chinese authorities. All Kenyans in China are therefore encouraged to remain in touch with the Embassy either directly or through their Kenyan community leaders.

NAIROBI
10TH APRIL, 2020

1. The Ministry’s attention has been drawn to information concerning the situation of some Kenyan nationals in China specifically with regard to a recent decision by the Government of China to undertake stringent testing of foreigners and Chinese nationals alike, to forestall imported and asymptomatic cases of COVID-19 in Guangzhou and other areas of China.

1. Unfortunately, these measures have in some instances precipitated unfair responses against foreigners particularly of African origin, from some members of the local community in Guangzhou, especially landlords.

1. The Ministry through its Embassy in Beijing is seized of this matter and has officially expressed concern about these developments and is working with the Chinese authorities to tackle the matter expeditiously.

1. The Ministry has received assurances from the Chinese Embassy in Nairobi that the Government of China takes a serious view of the situation and that the local authorities in Guangzhou have been tasked to take immediate action to safeguard the legitimate rights of the Africans concerned.

1. In view of this commitment and cooperation we expect an early and comprehensive resolution of this matter to the benefit of Kenyan nationals in China. Our Embassy in Beijing remains available to attend to any challenges that may arise and to do so in liaison with the Chinese authorities. All Kenyans in China are therefore encouraged to remain in touch with the Embassy either directly or through their Kenyan community leaders.

NAIROBI
10TH APRIL, 2020

Hii ni kuomba serikali ya China tafadhali usiumize wa Kenya

Rape or seducing....they will both lead to a nutting...but will not leave you feeling the same....
Ngeta na kuomba...utapata lakini kesho utaomba tena?
Countrie don't go to war every time there is a dispute. That is why diplomacy exists. heshima idumu.

Kimakia

NAIROBI
10TH APRIL, 2020
How much does the govt pay you to defend or do PR for them at village level.
I hope you don't become a chief of your home area.
You can literary whack people with your ngwajuu.

Kenyans have only gotten half the story but as usual they had to get hysterical when China was mentioned. Africans who have overstayed their visas are the ones who refuse to register for corona surveillance codes without which you cannot enter your flat. Landlords, too do not want to deal with you if you lack the codes. The claims of discrimination on colour are false and/or exaggerated.

'The new normal': China's excessive coronavirus public monitoring could be here to stay
Experts say the coronavirus has given the Chinese government a pretext for accelerating the mass surveillance
Lily Kuo

Lily Kuo in Hong Kong

Chinese residents say technology used to track suspected coronavirus cases has made public monitoring more obvious. Photograph: Aly Song/Reuters

Over the last two months, Chinese citizens have had to adjust to a new level of government intrusion.
Getting into one’s apartment compound or workplace requires scanning a QR code, writing down one’s name and ID number, temperature and recent travel history. Telecom operators track people’s movements while social media platforms like WeChat and Weibo have hotlines for people to report others who may be sick. Some cities are offering people rewards for informing on sick neighbours.
Chinese companies are meanwhile rolling out facial recognition technology that can detect elevated temperatures in a crowd or flag citizens not wearing a face mask. A range of apps use the personal health information of citizens to alert others of their proximity to infected patients or whether they have been in close contact.
State authorities, in addition to locking down entire cities, have implemented a myriad of security measures in the name of containing the coronavirus outbreak. From top officials to local community workers, those enforcing the rules repeat the same refrain: this is an “extraordinary time” feichang shiqi, requiring extraordinary measures.
As the number of new infections in China falls, having infected more than 80,000 and killed more than 3,000, residents and observers question how much of these new measures are here to stay.

Read more
“I don’t know what will happen when the epidemic is over. I don’t dare imagine it,” said Chen Weiyu, 23, who works in Shanghai. Every day when Chen goes to work, she has to submit a daily health check to her company, as well as scan a QR code and register in order to enter the office park.
“Monitoring is already everywhere. The epidemic has just made that monitoring, which we don’t normally see during ordinary times, more obvious,” she said.
Others are more emphatic about the future. Wang Aizhong, an activist based in Guangzhou, said: “This epidemic undoubtedly provides more reason for the government to surveil the public. I don’t think authorities will rule out keeping this up after the outbreak.”
“When we go out or stay in a hotel, we can feel a pair of eyes looking at us at any time. We are completely exposed to the monitoring of the government,” he said.
Experts say the virus, which emerged in Wuhan in December, has given authorities a pretext for accelerating the mass collection of personal data to track citizens, a dangerous prospect given that the country does not have stringent laws governing personal data.
“It’s mission creep,” said Maya Wang, senior China researcher for Human Rights Watch. According to Wang, the virus is likely to be a catalyst for a further expansion of the surveillance regime, as major events like the 2008 Olympics held in Beijing or the Shanghai Expo in 2010 were. “The techniques of mass surveillance became more permanent after these events,” she said.
“With the coronavirus outbreak the idea of risk scoring and restrictions on movement quickly became reality,” she said. “Over time we see more and more intrusive use of technology and less ability of people to push back.”
Many Chinese residents see the extra layers of public monitoring as additional bureaucratic hurdles, more frustrating than sinister, that further demonstrate the government’s ineffectiveness in handling the outbreak.

Read more
China’s surveillance dragnet, while proudly promoted by officials, is full of loopholes. An ex-inmate infected with the virus managed to travel from Wuhan to Beijing last month, well after quarantine measures had gone into effect, prompting widespread criticism over how she left.
Citizens are particularly critical of a system called Health Code, which users can sign up for through Alipay or WeChat, that assigns individuals one of three colour codes based on their travel history, time spent in outbreak hotspots and exposure to potential carriers of the virus. The software, used in more than 100 cities, will soon allow people to check the colours of other residents when their ID numbers are entered.
One resident complained on Weibo that he had driven through Hubei without stopping but his colour code changed to yellow from green, indicating he would need to be quarantined. “I can’t even go out to buy bread or water,” another in Jiangsu province said, after his code inexplicably changed to yellow following a work trip.
Many described the app as “for appearances,” or xingshi zhuyi, a way for lower level officials to impress their higher ups with added strictures on citizens.
“I have a health code, a pass for my residential compound, and another certificate of health and still I can’t get into my home,” one commentator said. “This is garbage. Please release us regular people,” another said.
It’s like being in a science fiction film – my daily life in a locked-down Chinese city
Mark Bishop

Read more
Low-tech security measures have been employed as much as high-tech ones. An army of workers guard entry points to public spaces, ordering pedestrians to log their information or questioning residents about their recent movements. Religious sites like mosques have been closed. Many cities and counties have banned group gatherings, including small dinner parties.
In February, Sichuan province officials broke up a group playing mahjong party and forced the participants to read out an apology, captured on video. “We were wrong. We promise there will not be a next time and we will also monitor others,” the group of 10 men said, heads slightly bowed.
Other videos posted online have shown local officials pushing residents to the ground for not wearing a face mask or tying a man to a pole. Local law enforcement in Wuhan were recently fired after a video of them beating a man for selling vegetables on the street was posted online.
An article by the official state news agency Xinhua last week reminded citizens that those who violate virus prevention and control measures could be subject to three years in prison, and up to seven for particularly serious cases, as outlined in China’s criminal code.

China cracks down on 'sexual innuendo' and 'celebrity gossip' in new censorship rules

Read more
“Intrusive surveillance is already the ‘new normal’. The question for China is what, if any, is a level of surveillance that the population refuses to tolerate,” said Stuart Hargreaves, an associate professor at Chinese University of Hong Kong’s law school, focusing on privacy and information law.
Some worry current measures will continue in part because citizens are growing accustomed to them. Alex Zhang, 28, who lives in Chengdu, refers to Italian philosopher Giorgio Agamben’s theory on the state of exception, and how measures taken during a state of emergency can be prolonged.
“This type of governance and thinking for dealing with the epidemic can also be used for other issues - like the media, citizen journalists or ethnic conflicts. Because this method has been used before, citizens will accept it. It becomes normal,” he said.
Unapigia mbuzi ngita. It is instructive that the 'Africans' causing the mess are mostly Nigerians - the same Nigerians who are unwanted in countries like Kenya and SA. I don't know what makes some Blacks think their skin colour or whatever is a birth-right not to obey the law. You have even seen it here, people driving through the bush and panya routes to go infect their mothers and grandmothers with corona back in the village. People from this continent who visit other regions of the world must understand not everybody likes disorderly, loud behaviour. Kenyans on the whole are very well-behaved abroad but sadly they will continue to be tagged with the same brush as rowdy Nigerians, cameronians, Sierra Leonians etc because we share the same colour.

Modest

Mwalimu is talking sense, you dudes are talking sijui nini. Why do you think they are called DIPLOMATS?
Guka are you insinuating that the Chinese are not racist
When push comes to shove everyone hates everyone, race and tribe just form a medium
You must be living in a geezers bubble of blaming West Africans
South Africa is xenophobic to everyone
It's true many Nigerians are drug dealers and criminals,take into account notable nigerians abroad!!then make a comparison with distribution of the rest of Africa
You may also say that slavery was just people refusing to work for pay so they were voluntary in bondage

must understand not everybody likes disorderly, loud behaviou
Typical Nigerian. I was told one of their problems is one rents a house then brings ten others who have business that keeps them moving up and down round the clock waking everyone as they come and go.
then we have seen their consular officer shouting and fulminating to junior officers who are just looking at him embarrassed. One of the things a diplomat is supposed to learn is his host's culture. he should have known it is a serious breach of etiquette to raise one's voice to another human.

Lily Kuo

Lily Kuo in Hong Kong

Read more

Read more
Mark Bishop

Read more

Read more
just stop it gash! its one thing you defending the ruling thugs in kenya but defending the racist chinese whose racist attitudes we have witnessed even here in kenya?! please explain away all the numerous signs at shops and supermarket saying that foreigner ESPECIALLY black foreigner are not allowed. Note that they dont emphasize illegal blacks, its all blacks.

can you explain why only mainly nigerians are featuring in those videos? Did you read the article?

The one that shouts is a hundred times better than the quiet and submissive type. This is what happened next after the consular officer raised a ruckus,
View attachment 9273

What of the kenyans in China?
some people here actually think ambassador hiding from her own people like the way serem did leaving them to sleep in the cold is the best 'diplomacy'. or maybe follow our foreign affairs office by writing a communique that almost seem apologetic to the chinese for putting them in a position to be racist towards kenyans

can you explain why only mainly nigerians are featuring in those videos? Did you read the article?
yes i have. whether all are nigerians are all nigerians deserving of this. and what of the real kenyans interviewed? you think its ok to inhumanly harrass people just because they dont have papers? is it ok to treat the many chinese illegals here the same way?so you think it is ok to discriminate a whole race based on the conduct of some? would you have been ok had we as kenyans with police backing put signs and evicted chinese when corona started regardless of how long they have been in kenya? could we have evicted all chinese based on videos of some abusing kenyans? selling rotten meet, conducting criminal internet activities?

Internet

some people here actually think ambassador hiding from her own people like the way serem did leaving them to sleep in the cold is the best 'diplomacy'
Those with think that way grew up during Moi era and do not understand how Wanjiku has any rights. They get annoyed when citizens rightfully say they deserve better governance. They throw around the phrase "personal responsibility" without really knowing what that phrase means in a free nation.