Uhuru Anafanya kazi. Heko kwake!!

The president has welcomed the recommendations of the taskforce that establish a path towards the reduction of the cost of electricity by over 33% within four months.

Thus cost reduction will be achieved through the reduction of the consumer tarrifs from an average of KES 24 per kilowatt hour to KES 16 per Kilowatt hour

The president has welcomed the recommendations of the taskforce that establish a path towards the reduction of the cost of electricity by over 33% within four months.

Thus cost reduction will be achieved through the reduction of the consumer tarrifs from an average of KES 24 per kilowatt hour to KES 16 per Kilowatt hour
A lot of electrical energy is
a: wasted in trasmition
b: theft
Independent power production should be stopped immediately, all those fossil fuels generators shut down, executive order needed in this .
END OF MY RANT

By end of January 2022 .I will be positive and wait .

the same guy who said the Covid billionaires washikwe in 20 days, the same guy who ordered for the SGR contract to be shared? we are still waiting for these among others, pia hii itakuwa ni story. Fuel costs cannot be going up and electricity costs be going down

A lot of electrical energy is
a: wasted in trasmition
b: theft
Independent power production should be stopped immediately, all those fossil fuels generators shut down, executive order needed in this .
END OF MY RANT
Then we pay for breach of contract that were renewed by Kibaki during his last days in office

Those IPPs are very crucial in stabilizing the network. The overall effect is that they push the cost of purchasing from an average of 6 to 8. The 2 bob is a small amount to pay compared to the instability we would feel in their absence.
What is needed in efficient distribution which will only happen when the fossil monopoly KP is challenged by a worthy competitor.

YoungD

Those IPPs are very crucial in stabilizing the network. The overall effect is that they push the cost of purchasing from an average of 6 to 8. The 2 bob is a small amount to pay compared to the instability we would feel in their absence.
What is needed in efficient distribution which will only happen when the fossil monopoly KP is challenged by a worthy competitor.
si kwa ubaya but hii ni upuss umeandika hapa. how do the IPPs stabilize the network??

Budspencer

Engineer expound hapo kwa stabilisation. ION @Mongrel 1st of September nilirudi kuwa mwananchi mwema.

si kwa ubaya but hii ni upuss umeandika hapa. how do the IPPs stabilize the network??
First things first.
We do not have excess power as portrayed by politicians. We just have barely enough to run out country. And that is a fact.

Now a situation arises where one station goes offline for one reason or another. Could be a monkey shorting a transformer or anything like that.
If such a situation occurs and the load exceeds the supply, the safety mechanism is for stations to switch off. If/when that happens, it requires several hours to restart them.
So the IPPs ensure that this momentarily demand that would cause a fail of the transmission network is supplied, even if it is only for 1hr per every 24 hrs. The cost is better economically compared to a downtime that would result of the network failed

Umeelewa kitu ama bado uji imejaa kichwa?

I don't understand. Why didnt additional geothermal power provide stability?

Educate me kidogo. What is stability here?

They added to the stability. Of course no system can be 💯 stable.
And by stability, I mean resilience in the face of instantaneous peak demand exceeding the supply.
With property designed networks and minimal losses, we have enough power ! Any investor can penetrate the economy, hence job creation