This is Guka - I Miss These Guys. They Were Some of My Favourite Politicians.........

1. GEORGE THUO: The guy was poisoned, probably because he was a thug, kind of. One of his worst sins is that he helped kill KBS and threw the Nairobi transit system into chaos. But Thuo was also a polished and articulate politician. He was likeable and sophisticated, not like these run-of-the mill chokoras I see runing around.

2. GODANA BONAYA: Moderate, persuasive and tempered, Bonaya is probably one of the best foreign ministers Kenya ever had. He was obviously intelligent and well-read. His death was a very big loss for this country.

3. MIRUGI KARIUKI: His death threw me into desolation for a week. The man had sacrificed so much, including detention and having his law firm destroyed by Moi. He was down to earth, articulate and principled. A real njamba, a hero.

Today, I look at the people gracing our national limelight - Babu Owino, Sonko, Obado, Waititu - and wonder where all the good, intelligent men went. It is as if we are going through a retrovolution........................

kijanamrefu

All politicians are brilliant/intelligent. That's why they get to where they are, by being observant and ruthless.

Guys like Waiyaki above were technically brilliant but at the end of the day were not for the people, even their own. They simply entrenched an internal heirarchy of power that the mzungu created, while posturing as pan Africans and playing to the public gallery It is what it is.

So, if the country matters to us, we have to ask, can you really have a favourite politician? Or is it like having a favourite wrestler or best Kardashian. And is the status quo the best set up that we can come up with?

@field marshall , ukiona nimeharia thread, pole, panguza tu ama unitusi.

ingwe

Those were sawa politicians. But you are being very selective Guka.

Just as there were polished politicians in Mois time and also today, Moi's time also had clownish politicians.... the Sonko's of their time. Guys like Shariff Nassir, Mulu Mutisya and the like... Mois court jesters. JJ Kamotho was also an interesting case. He was a polished politician but also a KANU psychophant

These political animals exist in all their splender in all societies and for all time.

1. GEORGE THUO: The guy was poisoned, probably because he was a thug, kind of. One of his worst sins is that he helped kill KBS and threw the Nairobi transit system into chaos. But Thuo was also a polished and articulate politician. He was likeable and sophisticated, not like these run-of-the mill chokoras I see runing around.

2. GODANA BONAYA: Moderate, persuasive and tempered, Bonaya is probably one of the best foreign ministers Kenya ever had. He was obviously intelligent and well-read. His death was a very big loss for this country.

3. MIRUGI KARIUKI: His death threw me into desolation for a week. The man had sacrificed so much, including detention and having his law firm destroyed by Moi. He was down to earth, articulate and principled. A real njamba, a hero.

Today, I look at the people gracing our national limelight - Babu Owino, Sonko, Obado, Waititu - and wonder where all the good, intelligent men went. It is as if we are going through a retrovolution........................
Bishop muge was courageous man of God his death was a blow to this country . Kariuki Chotora, I always remember him when I see the trees along the road at naivasha, though irritate he was party die hard. And many more who ensured the country move on !
May their souls rest in peace.

Today, I look at the people gracing our national limelight - Babu Owino, Sonko, Obado, Waititu - and wonder where all the good, intelligent men went. It is as if we are going through a retrovolution.......................
You have in recent times given me reasons to doubt your political acuity...so this comes a a surprise when I was going to give up on you as a beyond salvage!

mZENDE

But as the saying goes, they are a reflection of the masses.
As we critique a politician we are as well questioning the very people they represent.
Babu, sonko, Waititi watu ya nyairofi wanapenda hivyo