This is Guka - Hii Ni Maisha Gani Mnaishi Jameni?

Kitambo I remember we used to envy Nairobians, the people who lived in the city of lights (Kiamatawa). Piped water, street lights, paved roads, nyumba poa, choo za kuflash....

The situation was hata kukiwa na function ocha 'watu wa Nairobi' were treated like minor celebrities. Place yao special ya kukaa, vikombe zao, mchele yao...

So yesterday I had to attend a memorial service in Syokimau.

Wuueh!

Kwenda jam for like 1hr to cover 5km of a flooded Katani Rd. Kurudi, jam 3hrd to cover same distance.

Situation was so bad that volunteers took over to try and save the situation!

Worse, because the entire place is flooded, it is infested with mosquitos the size of KDF F-5s.

Sisi watu wa fresh-air, no-jam ocha tulishangaa how people can live in a jungle like that.

Saa hii am healing from PTSD hapa Ndeiya with a hot cup of black coffee shouting :never again! Maa ya Ngai, never again!'....
IMG_20240408_142720_442.jpg
IMG_20240407_171926_568.jpg
IMG_20240405_125650_212.jpg

Attachments

Couldn't agree more. The peace and tranquility away from the city is worth it bigly. Mashinani has many other advantages such as fresh produce including milk from jirani and with the connectedness we now have via spread out internet services, I wouldn't even dare relocate back to Kanairo.
Pretty scathing this 👇🏾

Couldn't agree more. The peace and tranquility away from the city is worth it bigly. Mashinani has many other advantages such as fresh produce including milk from jirani and with the connectedness we now have via spread out internet services, I wouldn't even dare relocate back to Kanairo.
Pretty scathing this 👇🏾
@mzeiya ole dume ni ile mteremko inatokea Ngong road?

I think hiyo unasema ni King'ara Road, which is the most challenging route for anyone driving a manual vehicle.
Man, I pity my Kilimani colleagues who, over the years, have seen their once serene neighborhoods turn into a slightly better impersonation of Paipu according to the first comment on this post that is over 2 years old on this forum: https://kenyanlist.net/index.php?threads/kilimani.25219/

Watu wa katani siku hizi wanaitwa "Nairobians" :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: , huko ni back of beyond. You leave the house at 5a.m and earliest you can be back is 10p.m. Watoto na bibi unawaona weekend tu, if it floods or contractor akifunga mombasa road unatafuta lodging to shower and head back to work. Hakuna tofauti na mtu ako na family Njambini / Kangema and goes to see them on the weekend
But coaches you are very lucky, nyinyi watu mli invest ndeiya decades back are reaping it big time. Ka quarter hapo late 90s and early 2000s ilikuwa how much? Sahii ni 6mike 2km from Tarmac. Tho juzi I was trying to estimate how soon till Thogoto - Mutarakwa road becomes katani road traffic wise, 5, 10, 15yrs?

Watu wa katani siku hizi wanaitwa "Nairobians" :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: , huko ni back of beyond. You leave the house at 5a.m and earliest you can be back is 10p.m. Watoto na bibi unawaona weekend tu, if it floods or contractor akifunga mombasa road unatafuta lodging to shower and head back to work. Hakuna tofauti na mtu ako na family Njambini / Kangema and goes to see them on the weekend
But coaches you are very lucky, nyinyi watu mli invest ndeiya decades back are reaping it big time. Ka quarter hapo late 90s and early 2000s ilikuwa how much? Sahii ni 6mike 2km from Tarmac. Tho juzi I was trying to estimate how soon till Thogoto - Mutarakwa road becomes katani road traffic wise, 5, 10, 15yrs?
Thogoto ukisha pita kiamburi, TTC, Murera, shell gas station all the way is a paradise of some sorts.

@Kasaman next you be driving back to Nairobi, ingia njia ya mutarakwa.... Follow Google maps prompts Kisha ufike Thogoto.

From there you can choose to use the bypass towards exit 11 then uelekee kasarani.
When ever I'm bored I just start at Ruiru, Rwaka mutarakwa , southern bypass,Eastern bypass, kangundo Road,njiru mwiki and seasons kasarani .