This is Guka - Finally, It Hit Me............................And I Dreamt of @Introvert ..................

Today, I decided to have some nyama at Kenyatta Market. From the junction off Mbagathi all the way to the market and inside the market itself, I saw tens and tens of struggling youth selling second hand clothes, underwears, shoes etc. I have seen the same scene almost everywhere in this country - virtually every unemployed young person is turning to selling something, usually a cheap secondhand import. The CBD is now one huge market littered with thousands of stalls selling cheap clothes.

That's when it hit me.

The reason why a good number of Kenyan youth are crying that times are hard - and they are - is that we as a society have moved from CREATING to SELLING. Creating requires innovation, imagination, and a hands-on go-getter mentality that selling doesn't. What's more, creating has many spin-offs - a carpenter will require a timber supplier, a nails supplier, a glues supplier etc etc etc - jobs created! - but a mitumba seller just needs just one importer.

In the 1970s and the 1980s, there were no mitumba or cheap clothing imports to sell. There were no fakes and trinkets from China either. If you didn't get a job you created one by being a cobbler, farmer, carpenter, mason, butcher, tailor etc. YOU CREATED SOMETHING, even if it was food. As a result, the country was food-sufficient, and life was manageable.

Today, as millions of youth cry that there are no jobs, those who have refused to follow the herd to set up roadside or CBD stalls AND INSTEAD opted to be CREATORS are making it big. And creation doesn't need to be physical - Bahati, Churchill, Omondi, a dozen Kikuyu mucisians, top bloggers and other ICT entrepreneurs, small manufacturers, innovative farmers, etc etc - are making it big because they have decided to be creators instead of sellers.

As I was driving up Langata Road, it hit me that this is what African countries like Kenya lack - an army of CREATORS and INNOVATORS who solve local problems using local know-how and resources. Which is why, by the way, we are importing everything from food to match-boxes to tooth-picks. Just why can't a chemistry graduate from UoN start a small matchbox making 'factory' at the back of his parent's house? Across small market centres in the country, I have never found an unemployed food science graduate running a small bakery making bread and cakes for the locals - they are all in Nairobi selling Mitumbas coz they can't find 'work' (in Ndeiya, all birthday cakes for kids have to be imported from Nairobi!).

Funny, but the people who are driving innovation and creation in this country are the poorly educated. Just go to Kariokor and see.

And let no one blame the gavament or the education system. Our culture of complacency, entitlement, copy-catting and laziness seems to be the problem. One guy starts an Mpesa shop, following day there are 10. Ditto mitumba.

One of the most inspirational guys I have met here is that stupid animaliser jaruopithicus, @Introvert . An educated man who, like me, likes to work with his hands. But like me too, he comes from another age. He's a ferking fossil.

Unless Kenya's young collectively decide to be CREATORS like Introvert instead of SELLERS, this country is forever ferked...............

com
Today, I decided to have some nyama at Kenyatta Market. From the junction off Mbagathi all the way to the market and inside the market itself, I saw tens and tens of struggling youth selling second hand clothes, underwears, shoes etc. I have seen the same scene almost everywhere in this country - virtually every unemployed young person is turning to selling something, usually a cheap secondhand import. The CBD is now one huge market littered with thousands of stalls selling cheap clothes.

That's when it hit me.

The reason why a good number of Kenyan youth are crying that times are hard - and they are - is that we as a society have moved from CREATING to SELLING. Creating requires innovation, imagination, and a hands-on go-getter mentality that selling doesn't. What's more, creating has many spin-offs - a carpenter will require a timber supplier, a nails supplier, a glues supplier etc etc etc - jobs created! - but a mitumba seller just needs just one importer.

In the 1970s and the 1980s, there were no mitumba or cheap clothing imports to sell. There were no fakes and trinkets from China either. If you didn't get a job you created one by being a cobbler, farmer, carpenter, mason, butcher, tailor etc. YOU CREATED SOMETHING, even if it was food. As a result, the country was food-sufficient, and life was manageable.

Today, as millions of youth cry that there are no jobs, those who have refused to follow the herd to set up roadside or CBD stalls AND INSTEAD opted to be CREATORS are making it big. And creation doesn't need to be physical - Bahati, Churchill, Omondi, a dozen Kikuyu mucisians, top bloggers and other ICT entrepreneurs, small manufacturers, innovative farmers, etc etc - are making it big because they have decided to be creators instead of sellers.

As I was driving up Langata Road, it hit me that this is what African countries like Kenya lack - an army of CREATORS and INNOVATORS who solve local problems using local know-how and resources. Which is why, by the way, we are importing everything from food to match-boxes to tooth-picks. Just why can't a chemistry graduate from UoN start a small matchbox making 'factory' at the back of his parent's house? Across small market centres in the country, I have never found an unemployed food science graduate running a small bakery making bread and cakes for the locals - they are all in Nairobi selling Mitumbas coz they can't find 'work' (in Ndeiya, all birthday cakes for kids have to be imported from Nairobi!).

Funny, but the people who are driving innovation and creation in this country are the poorly educated. Just go to Kariokor and see.

And let no one blame the gavament or the education system. Our culture of complacency, entitlement, copy-catting and laziness seems to be the problem. One guy starts an Mpesa shop, following day there are 10. Ditto mitumba.

One of the most inspirational guys I have met here is that stupid animaliser jaruopithicus, @Introvert . An educated man who, like me, likes to work with his hands. But like me too, he comes from another age. He's a ferking fossil.

Unless Kenya's young collectively decide to be CREATORS like Introvert instead of SELLERS, this country is forever ferked...............
Competency based curriculum at all levels in education will sort this.
we have graduates who don't have skills, young people who can't be innovative,
but all said and done, have interacted with successful farmers who did totally different things at university !

Sambamba

Have you thought about the system that throttles innovation and creation?
Ukijaribu kuanza you are saddled with so many regulations and bureaucracy that you give up.
You try importing chemical reagents and they are held at the port for two months as KRA thinks how much they will extort you.
You try to tender for a software gig and the corporates outsource to Indian forms.
That said, I agree with you that bobobos haziendi mahali until they start creating.

Kitu ingine ni intra Africa trade which is just 20 %.
If Africa were to become protectionist and raise tariffs on some of these non essential items that we import from China, Africa would develop in less than a generation.

Ukijaribu kuanza you are saddled with so many regulations and bureaucracy that you give up.
You try importing chemical reagents and they are held at the port for two months as KRA thinks how much they will extort you.
You try to tender for a software gig and the corporates outsource to Indian forms.
That said, I agree with you that bobobos haziendi mahali until they start creating.

If Africa were to become protectist and raise tariffs on some of these non essential items that we import from China, Africa would develop in less than a generation.
we have very creative youth but no incubation centres, or forums to exploit their ideas, funding is also a headache although monies are ever budgeted !

RANDY $

If Africa were to become protectist and raise tariffs on some of these non essential items that we import from China, Africa would develop in less than a generation.
This guy addressed this exact issue ....

Thitima

That's when it hit me.

Innovation is expensive. It is also requires a lot of trial and error. How is a broke youth supposed to attempt this?

@Kasaman and @Sambamba , the challenges of education and even KRA are there, but which country doesn't have similar issues. According to the World Bank, Kenya has improved tremendously in the last 10 years in the ease of doing business. Virtually every market centre today is served by a tarmac road and electricity. But have we seen a corresponding growth in economic output? I doubt it. Why? Let me start with a crazy statistic; over 80 per cent of Kenya's farmers are over 50 years old. That is to say, an ageset which represents less than 10 per cent of the population is producing almost all of the food in the country. The youth are too busy chasing jobs in towns to make their hands dirty. It requires very little to set up cottage industries that serve local needs such as desks and chairs for schools; pastries; dress-making (in Ndeiya I know of a guy who has become a millionaire over the last 10 years supplying local schools with uniforms); candles; soap; nails; treated fencing posts, local websites, community radio stations, etc etc. The problem is not with gavament.

Another example (but of selling): A common excuse for Kenyan youth is that they do not have capital to start businesses. A lady who sells fruits near a petrol station where I fuel, and whose business is now worth about 50K, started it with a Tala loan of 4,500/=. Of course she doesn't bet, which is what a lot of youth would have done with the money.

Hizo jobs unasema za masonry,sijui catpentry, mechanics, plumbing etc,ziliachiwa the 'uneducated'...but they are guys who are laughing all the way to the bank.
I know one plumber,who,if he could,he would clone himself. Guy's on demand for the good jobs he does. He has a graduate as an employee. That's a fact.

So like you say, @Field Marshal ,until and when they change their mentality, the will continue to sell. Not create.

Ramses

Good observations. It was not easy transitioning from employment to self employment but I am glad I made the move. I had to do a lot of trials until I found an unserved niche for my services. Still learning the ropes 1 year down the line as my sector is very fluid but it gets better every day.
That said, I tried to expand but was disappointed by quality of work from young contractors, where I had to rework their output afresh.
There are great opportunities out there if one is keen and not choosy

X-TRAIL

leo guka uko on point though ukweli usemwe you have to really struggle to manufacture something here na ikubalike na the relevant bodies

I think you are stuck in the rut of blaming gavament.......................
yes, you are correct .
it's not a dishonest government, it must collecting taxes and not offering services !
the issues on employment and the youth is a real time boom, check how the came into boda boda and the damage they have caused .I'm sure you read about alshaitani !

LeoK

That's when it hit me.

If this is the time you have been 'hit" by this yet calling yourself influential then you must be awake to the fact that you are truly daft.

Introvert

That's when it hit me.

😁😁
Muzee, I am barely into my 30s bana.

'And let no one blame the gavament or the education system. Our culture of complacency, entitlement, copy-catting and laziness seems to be the problem. One guy starts an Mpesa shop, following day there are 10. Ditto mitumba. '
This summarizes everything.
Although to be fair capital can also be a challenge to ideas. Financial systems very tricky to work with.