Thinking out loud- Can this idea work?

I'm thinking of opening up an online school for senior kids e.g. class 5, 6, 7 and 8 (smaller kids don't have the discipline of concentration)

I didn't think online schooling is working until I saw my neighbors kids school doing it. & It was serious schooling with a teacher there. Homework wanapewa na inakuwa marked.

The cost was Kshs 1,000 per week.

I told khupipi that when my kids get of age, its something I was seriously considering i.e. having my kids study online instead of physically going for classes.

Nway, the subject matter is commercialising this thing.

Get 100 kids who will be in 5 streams of 20 kids each. They attend online schooling by good teachers and they pay Kshs 1,000 per week.

That's Kshs 100,000 per week, Kshs 400,000 per month and Kshs 1,200,000 per term.

Nichukue waalimu 6 who I will be paying 50k per month (total Kshs 300k) then the other 100k is divided between the guy with the platform (I already have a friend with a tried and tested platform) and myself.

Can this idea work? Would you be willing to take your kids to an online school where instead of paying the Kshs 50,000 per term unalipa Kshs 16,000?

YoungD

The blessings of corona! it's already working else where therefore it will work for u as well. Thing is, don't involve ur friends because they will start doing the math.
btw light academy is doing it for their 844 system but the charges are crazy AF 70k per term lakini bado tunasoma, and they are saying that no one is going to repeat,

The blessings of corona! it's already working else where therefore it will work for u as well. Thing is, don't involve ur friends because they will start doing the math.
btw light academy is doing it for their 844 system but the charges are crazy AF 70k per term lakini bado tunasoma, and they are saying that no one is going to repeat,
the current progress of education being done online will be discarded and people will start afresh when school opens. Saa hii they are just trying to keep themselves busy and employed at the same time

the current progress of edication being done online will be discarded and people will start afresh when school opens. Saa hii they are just trying to keep themselves busy and employed at the same time
lakini the old system cannot beat class size ya 20 for 15-20k per term (well call it hata 25k), and zero transport. Of course kuna watoto hawawezi coz wata need kushikiwa kiboko, but for those with the discipline, hii ni distruption loading
Lakini okiya watoto need to meet with other kids every once in a while to get the other life skills e.g group work, communication, public speaking e.t.c

Jobi4

Discipline (dealing with teenagers hapana mchezo),one can simply switch you off and claim the net was down, plus Internet penetration. Which areas are you targeting where parents can guarantee WiFi every month?
Remember both parents are at work, for say half that number enrolled. How will the kids be monitored, how many lessons are you targeting per day?
Power outages. In normal schools, teaching continues regardless.
Possible but it's got it's hurdles.

Jobi4

Irony of the internet. Kijana, you're still in school and you're an Elder Lister, yet am old enough to be your father assuming you're a millennial and you're agemates with my first forum, Mashada.com

My kids school is doing it and it works well. We pay 3K per month, so your charges are reasonable.
Your costs are underrated though.

YoungD

Irony of the internet. Kijana, you're still in school and you're an Elder Lister, yet am old enough to be your father assuming you're a millennial and you're agemates with my first forum, Mashada.com
nv wacha bhangi!

A lot of things are going to change. When schools open sometimes next year, those kids who have been learning online won't repeat classes. The government will be forced to consider allowing some parts of the curriculum to be taught online.

@Okiya, your challenge will be what you bring to the table. How easy is it for a competitor to displace you? Your teacher(employee) could be your competitor tomorrow, so is the platform owner. If I were in your shoes, I would consider investing in the platform itself.

Lakini okiya watoto need to meet with other kids every once in a while to get the other life skills e.g group work, communication, public speaking e.t.c
Children need socialization...

"Stated simply, socialization is the process whereby individuals, especially children, become functioning members of a particular group and take on the values, behaviors and beliefs of the groups other members," says Carolyn R. Tomlin, who has worked in early childhood education for 33 years.

Children need socialization...

"Stated simply, socialization is the process whereby individuals, especially children, become functioning members of a particular group and take on the values, behaviors and beliefs of the groups other members," says Carolyn R. Tomlin, who has worked in early childhood education for 33 years.
Does meeting in a virtual classroom count?

so they are going to print their own national exams?

AU5

Administrator
I said it before that Uhuru was an idiot for increasing internet taxes in 2018