Shinobi - OPEN SOURCE CCTV SOLUTION

Listers , being an IT technician i try out things that are of interest .This one is for those want an equivalent of a NVR but instead using an old pc( ubuntu server -headless) preferably to also host other applications kama vile jellyfin .

The Ninja Way
Warning : The Ninja Way installs from source code. Which means many libraries from other sources are going to be installed as well.
The easiest way to install from source, directly on metal, is through git. The following operating systems are supported.
  • Ubuntu 17.10.1 and 18.04

1. Become rootto use the installer and run Shinobi. Use one of the following to do so.
    • Ubuntu17.10.1 and 18.04
      sudo su
  2. Download and run the installer.
    bash <(curl -s https://gitlab.com/Shinobi-Systems/Shinobi-Installer/raw/master/shinobi-install.sh)
  3. Follow onscreen prompts.

My Shinobi . Atom D2500 ,4GB ram ,1TB 2.5 hard disk. Currently using 2 Hikvision IP cameras.

1573670677739.png

On the low power PC i also have Jellyfin for all my documentaries ,movies and music.

1573670814238.png

1573671066216.png

How do you run jellyfin........Have an emulator to run on windows?
No i have jellyfin installed on the headless ubuntu server (same pc running shinobi). I then access the videos using browser ,vlc or the android Jellyfin app .
Bash:
sudo apt install apt-transport-https
wget -O - [URL]https://repo.jellyfin.org/jellyfin_team.gpg.key[/URL] | sudo apt-key add -
echo "deb [arch=$( dpkg --print-architecture )] [URL]https://repo.jellyfin.org/$[/URL]( awk -F'=' '/^ID=/{ print $NF }' /etc/os-release ) $( awk -F'=' '/^VERSION_CODENAME=/{ print $NF }' /etc/os-release ) main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/jellyfin.list
sudo apt update
sudo apt install jellyfin

Hii kitu ni ngumu kuset up wewe...........Nilikuwa nangoja kuona movies in the thousands lakini wapi?
I have it to serve video files that I have already downloaded but it has that option of live TV using m3u playlist files .
In your case uko stuck wapi installation ama the adding video files setup.

Update :
My biggest challenge has been to view recorded footage when i am not at home .The Faiba 4G router i use to connect to the internet doesn't have a public IP and hence its impossible to use DDNS .
After some research i bumped into Pagekite but its limited specifically on the free tier plan . Last week i came to learn of NGROK which offer a free plan which suits my needs and i am happy with the tunneling so far .Almost no lag when viewing live stream or recorded footage.
I am planning to have additional camera and do away with the POE injector for a Hikvision budget POE switch .

Gurus , help me make this better incase kuna better alternatives (opensource & free)