shamba system

Okay, why was the shamba system stopped in the first place? I saw Ndii trying to blame Wangari Maathai that she was wrong on this one, but is it wangari who stopped it?

I always feel the government acquiesced to extremist environmentalists who went on to capture the KFS board. I feel the PELIS system is a good method of reforesting coz as much as we root for indigenous tree cover, for water conservation, we also need plantation forests for the country's timber needs. If we lack trees for timber we will cut down the indigenous trees to meet the need, beating the purpose of conservation.
All forests under KFS should be indigenous forests. Let them be our water catchment areas with very limited interference. Let's grow wood products commercially away from public forests.

It is good for the affected families, some of who are in settlements that have been severely affected by land fragmentation.
We have less than 6% forest cover. How will opening up the forests for farming improve our food security.

Si hii ni route ingine ya looters to steal public land? Do you know that Lootall cut his tooth on stolen public land?

All forests under KFS should be indigenous forests. Let them be our water catchment areas with very limited interference. Let's grow wood products commercially away from public forests.
The mzungu system which I think worked very well was to have a plantation belt around the natural forest to shield the natural forest from human encroachment. Watu wa mashamba eka tano na watoto watano hawawezi afford woodlot on their small farm. Poverty ikiwakula wataingilia msitu.

Shida is misuse of the shamba system. People get entitled to that land. It's public land. Would they open it up to competitive bidding for exploitation? Why not?

. People get entitled to that land.
Not likely. You see unlike in the past KFS works with the Community Forest Association. These groups agree with KFS beforehand on how they will sustainably exploit any resources in the forest including areas for cultivation and establishment of a new forest. The CFA is fully involved in surveying and balloting for the plots. The farmers move out automatically when crops can no longer do well under the trees - usually three years.

Your knowledge of the pelis system is top notch.

Pelis is a fancy name for the ugly mongrel that's the shamba system. It failed and will continue failing because we are a corrupt nation. People like to "bend the rules". Check out this:

Alafu uende Kwa ground and see Bahati forest on Google maps.