Safaricom Changes How to Buy Bundles With M-Pesa

abbychumz

1661846264325.png

Safaricom has introduced changes to the process of paying for data bundles using its M-Pesa mobile money service.

Unlike at the moment where customers are requested for their Service PIN when purchasing data bundles via USSD codes such as *444# and *544#, Safaricom subscribers will from Tuesday, August 30th be requested for their M-Pesa PIN instead.

“Dear customer, from 30/08/22, you will use your MPESA PIN instead of the Service PIN to buy Neo bundle with no expiry,” a message sent to pre-paid customers on Monday, August 29th read in part.

Safaricom has over the past year been introducing a raft of changes intended to boost customer privacy and safety amid growing concerns from regulators and the public. The market-leading M-Pesa platform in particular has been a source of concerns.

The company has announced changes to how customers access M-Pesa statements, the procedure to reverse M-Pesa transactions and was reportedly initiating changes to the Lipa na M-Pesa platform to protect customers’ personal information.

This is great coz my service PIN is similar do my Mpesa pin and the former would appear numerically.

Some establishments have the annoying habit of sending spam after you pay them using Lipa na Mpesa. I hate recieving SMS spam because the inbox soon becomes overwhelming. Vendors should only get your name and a few digits of your phone number.

Cortedivoire

Some establishments have the annoying habit of sending spam after you pay them using Lipa na Mpesa. I hate recieving SMS spam because the inbox soon becomes overwhelming. Vendors should only get your name and a few digits of your phone number.
Tunashuku ni sms za amar bar

True, same with Mpesa agents na hizo vitabu zao, they should find away of protecting our details

Hii sio shida, kile peasants kama mimi tunataka ni data at affordable prices. I get 50 GBs for Kes. 1000 from Telkom while at the same price Safaricon wananipatia 7 GBs pekee.
True, prices need to come down. But that can be done in addition to securing our data. I hope the story below comes true.

Use the blocklist option bana