Rising Cost of Living

kijanamrefu

😁
Govt hospitals mix your antibiotics with Kanjo water. Kunywa maji ya tap.
Blalfakkin.
Ghasia, chemsha hiyo maji ya tap. The kanju you grew up with in the 50's is not the kanju of today. The pipes, however, are the same.

Hii attitude ya "I grew up this way and I'm fine" only holds water if the environment remains constant.

Manze joh, kila kitu imepanda gharama na hii Nairobi haikaliki na amani...my favourite water niliona ilipanda from 44 bob to 50 bob, my favourite 2kg packet of rice has risen from 800bob to 850 bob and even pizza has also risen from 900 to 1100.

Arghhh how have you guys adjusted to this rise in the cost of basic living? I only hope landlord hataongeza bei ya rent kwa maana itakuwa ngori
Hii ni muchere gani ni 400 per kg?

Disease doesn't care.

Ukienda ocha kunywa ya rùì.

Nairobi, chemsha.
All my life, I've drank piped water.
Never got sick as a result and that includes NWSC water, borehole H20 that we dag at my family home and even when living abroad in the US and Rwanda, never bought any packaged water nor boiled the precious commodity.

But since I moved to Ngong recently, the water is a bit saline so for the 1st time in my life, I'm buying water especially for the sake of Mzeiya Junior but it's all good as I have installed gutters and two 10K litre tanks which are almost full due to the recent downpour.

kijanamrefu

All my life, I've drank piped water.
Never got sick as a result and that includes NWSC water, borehole H20 that we dag at my family home and even when living abroad in the US and Rwanda, never bought any packaged water nor boiled the precious commodity.

But since I moved to Ngong recently, the water is a bit saline so for the 1st time in my life, I'm buying water especially for the sake of Mzeiya Junior but it's all good as I have installed gutters and two 10K litre tanks which are almost full due to the recent downpour.
I also used to drink tap water until a serious typhoid case affected some people where I used to live.

Additionally, on a project with NWSC, we got to see the sorry state of the pipes that supply parts of Nairobi with water, they looked like clogged arteries.

Add to that the illegal connections to the pipes by people who don't care about the safety of the water.......wacha tu tuwache.

Just be boiling the water or harvest rainwater into regularly drained and cleaned tanks if you don't want to boil @Ngimanene na Muchere . Remember to regularly clean the gutters too.

I also used to drink tap water until a serious typhoid case affected some people where I used to live.

Additionally, on a project with NWSC, we got to see the sorry state of the pipes that supply parts of Nairobi with water, they looked like clogged arteries.

Add to that the illegal connections to the pipes by people who don't care about the safety of the water.......wacha tu tuwache.

Just be boiling the water or harvest rainwater into regularly drained and cleaned tanks if you don't want to boil @Ngimanene na Muchere . Remember to regularly clean the gutters too.
What I have done is put a sieve Kwa gutter dropper so uchafu haiendi Kwa tank especially leaves .Then karibu na tank I have a provision to allow the initial rainwater to go to waste but ensures the dust on the mabati doesn't go to the tank .
Na yote tisa ,osha tank and enjoy rain water throughout . Instead is boiling I have the Unilever water filter that doesn't require electricity . Bought it almost 6 years ago and I am on the second filter . The water filtration unit cost around 5k inclusive of two filters .
Screenshot_20220423-110733.png

kijanamrefu

What I have done is put a sieve Kwa gutter dropper so uchafu haiendi Kwa tank especially leaves .Then karibu na tank I have a provision to allow the initial rainwater to go to waste but ensures the dust on the mabati doesn't go to the tank .
Na yote tisa ,osha tank and enjoy rain water throughout . Instead is boiling I have the Unilever water filter that doesn't require electricity . Bought it almost 6 years ago and I am on the second filter . The water filtration unit cost around 5k inclusive of two filters .
View attachment 59691
Hapo sawa kaka. A bit off effort and money but you're ensured of a clean water supply.

Kwanza washing off that initial gutter dust(y)

Menengai 1kg is past 250 now
Anything made of palm oil will continue getting expensive in the near future.

1650721168813.png

Queueing for the liquid gold has become the norm in the major oil palm producing countries of Indonesia and Malaysia in recent weeks.

mkurugenzi

Anything made of palm oil will continue getting expensive in the near future.

View attachment 59712

Queueing for the liquid gold has become the norm in the major oil palm producing countries of Indonesia and Malaysia in recent weeks.
The future doesn't look good. People should not blame Uhuru.

Top Palm Oil Producer Indonesia Bans Edible Oil Exports

Is palm wine made from palm oil?
Asking for @It's Me Scumbag
There are more efficient sources of allcohol but...

Natural products. The common sources of methanol, ethanol, and isopropyl alcohol have been discussed above. Larger, more complicated alcohols are often isolated from volatile oils of plants by the process of steam distillation.