Rebuilding your brake calipers at a fraction of the cost of new

Introvert

You know your brake calipers are due for work or replacement when you experience the following:
  • Spongy brake pedal
  • Uneven brake pad wear
  • Sudden pull to one side when braking
  • Fluid leaks inner wheel surface
  • Harufu ya burning socks
If this is you, and you’re on a modest budget so you can’t stroll into a shop on Kirinyaga Road and say, “Brake calipers za Premio Nyoka ni how much per kilo?” …or replacement parts are just a headache to get, you’ll have to rebuild them yourself.

The process
Prop the patient on a proper and weight-appropriate jack stand on flat, stable ground.
IMG-20210521-WA0031.jpg

Use a stack of stones or work with the car on a jack only when you are certain that you’ve had your life’s quota of mind-altering substances.

This is what you should find upon taking apart the assembly.
54ca81aabc910_-_brake-caliper-4-0309.jpg

The subject here is a simple model from the 70s.
IMG-20210521-WA0030.jpg

Several things needed correcting here.
1. Torn dust seal.
2. Worn out bleeder bolt losing pressure through gaps in the ill-fitting threads.
3. Scored pistons.
IMG-20210521-WA0034.jpg

That line of corrosion is one reason why the piston wasn’t traveling proper in the chamber.

4. Worn brake pads.
IMG-20210521-WA0037.jpg

Remove the fluid seal.
Gently sand the chamber and piston with P600 sandpaper (avoid rougher paper).
IMG-20210522-WA0079.jpg

I could not find brand new bleeder bolts for this model.
Thank God, though, for the very aptly named Bakisha (a very resourceful hole-in -wall spares shop in Dagoretti Corner) and his bag of non-standard used bolts.
IMG-20210522-WA0070.jpg

The caliper threads had to be machined on a lathe to make sure they bleeder bolt fits properly.
Perfect fit.
Test by blowing into the nipple. No air should pass through when the bolt is fully tightened.
IMG-20210522-WA0074.jpg

Clean chamber and all components with brake cleaner spray, fit new O-rings and dust seal and return piston.
IMG-20210522-WA0068.jpg

Brake pads for this have always an import item so I have them rebonded at Varsani Brake Linings, Industrial Area.
In 2008 the Muhindi sold me a set of brake pads for 200 bob (dead stock from 1981).
What luck! 😁😁
IMG-20210522-WA0081.jpg

Fit the assembly and bleed the system.
Disc will be taken for surface skimming later.
IMG-20210522-WA0067.jpg

Reward self with pure natural apple juice and discuss economic matters with business partner.
SAM_3527.JPG

SAM_3526.JPG

Wacha nijaribu nione if I can do it myself, raincheck, Kyalo does this for me for 300 Bob, wacha nitumie your pictures as a manual, where I am the engineer and he is the technician :ROFLMAO: .
My work will be "weka hiyo hapo, aaah!!! wewe namna gani? Hapana weza fwata simple instructions?".

You know your brake calipers are due for work or replacement when you experience the following:
  • Spongy brake pedal
  • Uneven brake pad wear
If this is you, and you’re on a modest budget so you can’t stroll into a shop on Kirinyaga Road and say, “Brake calipers za Premio Nyoka ni how much per kilo?” …or replacement parts are just a headache to get, you’ll have to rebuild them yourself.

The process
Prop the patient on a proper and weight-appropriate jack stand on flat, stable ground.
View attachment 36308

Use a stack of stones or work with the car on a jack only when you are certain that you’ve had your life’s quota of mind-altering substances.

View attachment 36309

View attachment 36310

1. Torn dust seal.
2. Worn out bleeder bolt losing pressure through gaps in the ill-fitting threads.
3. Scored pistons.
View attachment 36311
That line of corrosion is one reason why the piston wasn’t traveling proper in the chamber.

4. Worn brake pads.
View attachment 36312

Remove the fluid seal.
View attachment 36313

Thank God, though, for the very aptly named Bakisha (a very resourceful hole-in -wall spares shop in Dagoretti Corner) and his bag of non-standard used bolts.
View attachment 36314

The caliper threads had to be machined on a lathe to make sure they bleeder bolt fits properly.
Perfect fit.
Test by blowing into the nipple. No air should pass through when the bolt is fully tightened.
View attachment 36316

Clean chamber and all components with brake cleaner spray, fit new O-rings and dust seal and return piston.
View attachment 36317

Brake pads for this have always an import item so I have them rebonded at Varsani Brake Linings, Industrial Area.
In 2008 the Muhindi sold me a set of brake pads for 200 bob (dead stock from 1981).
What luck! 😁😁
View attachment 36318

View attachment 36319

Reward self with pure natural apple juice and discuss economic matters with business partner.
View attachment 36320

View attachment 36321
Minus the booze and the mongerel,can this be applied The TukTuk?

admin

Administrator
I would avoid any form of sanding or scouring on the chamber or the piston since it interferes with the tolerances put in place by the manufacturer and might lead to leaks when under pressure, also a dab of copper compound behind the brake pads has been known to work well to prevent vibration and squeal.

Introvert

I would avoid any form of sanding or scouring on the chamber or the piston since it interferes with the tolerances put in place by the manufacturer and might lead to leaks when under pressure, also a dab of copper compound behind the brake pads has been known to work well to prevent vibration and squeal.
This is true (note my caveat on the grade of paper).
However, in extraneous circumstances like the band of rust on this piston P600 was inevitable.

X-TRAIL

• Spongy brake pedal
  • Uneven brake pad wear

The process
View attachment 36308

View attachment 36309

View attachment 36310

1. Torn dust seal.
3. Scored pistons.
View attachment 36311

4. Worn brake pads.
View attachment 36312

Remove the fluid seal.
View attachment 36313

View attachment 36314

Perfect fit.
View attachment 36316

View attachment 36317

What luck! 😁😁
View attachment 36318

View attachment 36319

View attachment 36320

View attachment 36321
Pewa wd 40 baridi kwa bill yako priss

I would avoid any form of sanding or scouring on the chamber or the piston since it interferes with the tolerances put in place by the manufacturer and might lead to leaks when under pressure,
Light sanding with a very fine sandpaper removes rust spots, gummy deposits, and any foreign deposits that might prevent the smooth gliding of the piston in the bore hole (Power mechanics class of 1978).

Magreb

Good stuff @Introvert. However, majority of Kenyan men are beyond help matters DIY. You won't believe it nikikwambia kuna wanaume hii Kenya hawana hata nyundo kwa nyumba zao. Kazi kidogo kama kubadilisha bulb wanaitia fundi. Tell them to rotate their tires and watch them collapse to near death. No wonder watu wa boda boda na watchmen wanawakulia mabibi.