Private hospital medical records

Ramiran

Rights of patients question.

E.g you have been taking your kids to private hospital X. They have a computer medical system that has captured all the data (for each visit for each kid over the years).

Now you have to relocate far away and you need to take a printout of your kids medical data with you.

1. What are your rights to this medical data the hospital has of your kids ?

2. Can the hospital claim its internal info ?

Asante

Rights of patients question.

E.g you have been taking your kids to private hospital X. They have a computer medical system that has captured all the data (for each visit for each kid over the years).

Now you have to relocate far away and you need to take a printout of your kids medical data with you.

1. What are your rights to this medical data the hospital has of your kids ?

2. Can the hospital claim its internal info ?

Asante
Yule dagitari from mambatha, @Luther12 do you still practice ? Saidia hapa

Kdawg254

As long as you paid for the procedures you’re entitled to ALL the results.
Lakini kama kuna watu hawapendi kuulizwa maswali in Kenya is medical practitioners!They somehow assume everyone doesn’t understand medical stuff all they answer is si mbaya ama iko sawa!!
Personally I make sure any test or scan I get a hard copy (and soft copy if applicable) report.
Shida ya your situation is you may want a lot of info printed at once which maybe a challenge.Maybe you can ask to talk to a manager and see how they can assist.

It's your data you have a right to be provided for. But kama unazungushwa probably that info you are looking for was discarded. Are the kids over 18? Is there a court case? Those are the reasons I can think of why hupewi

Ramiran

any test or scan I get a hard copy (and soft copy if applicable) report.
Shida ya your situation is you may want a lot of info printed at once which maybe a challenge.Maybe you can ask to talk to a manager and see how they can assist.
All the info I want consists of three pages, one for each kid. Its available on the system but the hospital admin is behaving like am the first person to ever request medical data. They don't have standard procedures for handing over the same to patients.

Am going back there kesho to demand and make alot of noise.

Tiriitiondo

All the info I want consists of three pages, one for each kid. Its available on the system but the hospital admin is behaving like am the first person to ever request medical data. They don't have standard procedures for handing over the same to patients.

In case you need backup let us know. We arrange escort at a fee.

Why not make the request in writing (email) and make sure you cc everyone above them. That way they will give the response in writing, in which case they will have to consult before responding. In addition, it might be helpful to hint to them that you are prepared to compel them to release the reports via legal means.