Police 50 - Rona 22

I totally disagree. Hii mambo ya kuwekelea serikali majukumu siyo yake should end. Gavament uses taxes to do stuff. Buying masks and sanitary towels for deadbeats should not be part of that...
I actually believe that the government SHOULD be providing the masks and educate people on proper use. Let me explain. There are people who are genuinely poor and would rather put food on their table than spend their ever rare earnings on masks. Due to poverty, it's very difficult if not impractical to expect social distancing (slum environment) to work very well. So handwashing and wearing masks are better alternatives in slums.

Can you think of a law that requires a citizen to go out and spend money? Supposing we criminalize failure to wear mask. Wont we be criminalizing poverty for those that cannot afford? (I can only think of one, to walk around naked:p )

emali

Huko ni ngori,hakina choo, you defeacate on ndoo ya maji bila handle populary known as "ndege"

Huwa inapelekwa kumwagwa asubuhi na "tenants" of petty cases eg walevi

Asubuhi unasikia meria peleka ndege.

Mbio mlevi anakumbatia ndoo Kama brother inhaling the content Hadi disposal
wekelea hekaya...

I actually believe that the government SHOULD be providing the masks and educate people on proper use. Let me explain. There are people who are genuinely poor and would rather put food on their table than spend their ever rare earnings on masks. Due to poverty, it's very difficult if not impractical to expect social distancing (slum environment) to work very well. So handwashing and wearing masks are better alternatives in slums.

Can you think of a law that requires a citizen to go out and spend money? Supposing we criminalize failure to wear mask. Wont we be criminalizing poverty for those that cannot afford? (I can only think of one, to walk around naked:p )
Huyo mzee hawezi elewa hii mambo, to him people are poor because they are stupid

That was not my point. My position in this discussion is that the government should take care of the most common denominator. I'm perfectly happy when my taxes goes to educate some strangers child. When my taxes goes to buy a face mask to the same stranger, I'm safer because he doesn't infect me or others.

Sasa hio ndio haelewi

Sir, again I disagree. In our setting, 'poverty' has been used to excuse the most utter stupidity by the citizenry, from kuchota mafuta from an overturned tanker to robbery in the slums to just about everything.

Nimesema na nitaendelea kusema; only the most vulnerable in a society like orphaned children, the severely disabled and the very old deserve charity. EVERYBODY ELSE MUST LUG THEIR OWN WEIGHT OR DIE, THAT SIMPLE.

Kenya will never ever develop if the few of us who pay taxes - and who deserve support from those taxes - continue giving freebies to people who do not seem to care about themselves in the first place. Eti we give free sanitary towels in schools, free food in times of drought (as if countries like Australia don't get droughts), free education, free masks, free healthcare, etc etc etc ad nauseum. Pesa ya kujenga barabara na kusupport SMEs itatoka wapi?

An intelligent gavament does NOT support consumption by individuals, it supports production. I would have no problem with the gavament distributing free fertilizer to farmers, or low-interest loans to small business people INSTEAD of sanitary towels - mzazi akizaa kama panya hakuwa anajua hao watoto watataka towels?

Allow me to end with the problems - entitlement and dependency - these freebies have caused. THE OTHER DAY, KENYA SENT A FEW FLOWERS TO THE UK DONATED BY THE FLOWER INDUSTRY. Ile kelele imekuwa Kenya you might think that was the greatest evil that had ever been committed. Eti why are we appreciating NHS health workers before our own.

Bro, many of those people complaining are alive because of ARVs, anti-malarials, vaccines etc etc donated - DONATED - by the same people they don't want appreciated. The US alone gives Kenya over 40B annually to buy ARVs, and Britain also chips in na unaskia nyang'au who take the same drugs wakilalamika eti tumetuma mauwa ya 5m.

Sir, again I disagree. In our setting, 'poverty' has been used to excuse the most utter stupidity by the citizenry, from kuchota mafuta from an overturned tanker to robbery in the slums to just about everything.

Nimesema na nitaendelea kusema; only the most vulnerable in a society like orphaned children, the severely disabled and the very old deserve charity. EVERYBODY ELSE MUST LUG THEIR OWN WEIGHT OR DIE, THAT SIMPLE.

Kenya will never ever develop if the few of us who pay taxes - and who deserve support from those taxes - continue giving freebies to people who do not seem to care about themselves in the first place. Eti we give free sanitary towels in schools, free food in times of drought (as if countries like Australia don't get droughts), free education, free masks, free healthcare, etc etc etc ad nauseum. Pesa ya kujenga barabara na kusupport SMEs itatoka wapi?

An intelligent gavament does NOT support consumption by individuals, it supports production. I would have no problem with the gavament distributing free fertilizer to farmers, or low-interest loans to small business people INSTEAD of sanitary towels - mzazi akizaa kama panya hakuwa anajua hao watoto watataka towels?

Allow me to end with the problems - entitlement and dependency - these freebies have caused. THE OTHER DAY, KENYA SENT A FEW FLOWERS TO THE UK DONATED BY THE FLOWER INDUSTRY. Ile kelele imekuwa Kenya you might think that was the greatest evil that had ever been committed. Eti why are we appreciating NHS health workers before our own.

Bro, many of those people complaining are alive because of ARVs, anti-malarials, vaccines etc etc donated - DONATED - by the same people they don't want appreciated. The US alone gives Kenya over 40B annually to buy ARVs, and Britain also chips in na unaskia nyang'au who take the same drugs wakilalamika eti tumetuma mauwa ya 5m.
Lets me start by agreeing that everyone should be responsible for their own actions. I agree that my taxes should not be used to support programs that aid 'breeding like rats' mentality. Subsidies should only be for life and death cases. If someone chooses sex without planned pregnancies, abebe mizigo yake.

We fail to agree on community health issues. When you are facing a highly infectious disease like covid-19, your mortality is determined to a large extent by the community you interact with both directly and indirectly. You could take all precautions to avoid getting infected but fail in just one instance and get infected if you have a large number of infected neighbours.

My point is that I'm better protected if i directly pay for interventions that stop the disease from reaching me (via other people obviously). That's why I would be happy if my taxes were used to isolate the sick, provide preventive tools to everyone (washing hands and face masks for free) and enforce all rules regarding this disease.

(Did you know that our.ancestors would banish you or lynch you if they suspected you had an infectious disease? )

TlDr: providing free preventive kits to the poor is actually more helpful in combating covid-19 disease.

Lets me start by agreeing that everyone should be responsible for their own actions. I agree that my taxes should not be used to support programs that aid 'breeding like rats' mentality. Subsidies should only be for life and death cases. If someone chooses sex without planned pregnancies, abebe mizigo yake.

We fail to agree on community health issues. When you are facing a highly infectious disease like covid-19, your mortality is determined to a large extent by the community you interact with both directly and indirectly. You could take all precautions to avoid getting infected but fail in just one instance and get infected if you have a large number of infected neighbours.

My point is that I'm better protected if i directly pay for interventions that stop the disease from reaching me (via other people obviously). That's why I would be happy if my taxes were used to isolate the sick, provide preventive tools to everyone (washing hands and face masks for free) and enforce all rules regarding this disease.

(Did you know that our.ancestors would banish you or lynch you if they suspected you had an infectious disease? )

TlDr: providing free preventive kits to the poor is actually more helpful in combating covid-19 disease.
I see your point, especially when you say that it is MY OWN interest. It's only that I am fed up with the entitlement and dependency.

Sometimes you give without expecting anything in return. In this case, you give hoping they will wash their hands and use the masks appropriately.

Snowball

You are indeed a fine example of what is truly wrong with Kenyans or Africans at large. They have no self respect. From a distance you sound as if you make sense but if someone takes a closer look, they will see your shallow rants defending indefensible for self righteous gratification.

Kenya will ONLY develop if they hold their leaders accountable how every taxpayers cent is spent and stop thinking their tribes are superior to other. Kenya sending flowers to UK is as stupid as it sounds and looks. OR majority of your kind with similar train of thought have long died out. Otherwise, you express jingoistic politics very well to a point of hoodwinking some here not challenge your nonsense. Only a poor African with a severely enslaved mind will find that to be a sensible thing to do.

You are indeed a fine example of what is truly wrong with Kenyans or Africans at large. They have no self respect. From a distance you sound as if you make sense but if someone takes a closer look, they will see your shallow rants defending indefensible for self righteous gratification.

Kenya will ONLY develop if they hold their leaders accountable how every taxpayers cent is spent and stop thinking their tribes are superior to other. Kenya sending flowers to UK is as stupid as it sounds and looks. OR majority of your kind with similar train of thought have long died out. Otherwise, you express jingoistic politics very well to a point of hoodwinking some here not challenge your nonsense. Only a poor African with a severely enslaved mind will find that to be a sensible thing to do.
Slow down. Please, twende pole pole. Let me whisper to you slowly.

Our flowers dont have a market any more. People have been dying in such large numbers in Europe that flowers are the last thing they want to think about. We have tonnes of flowers here that we are throwing away. Very many tonnes. Why would donating a few dozens of bouquets hurt our floriculture industry? We uplift someone else spirit while gaining mindshare on our biggest market.

Dont you think that it's a brilliant marketing move?

Snowball

Maybe a brilliant marketing move, but odd indeed...just like Britain would decide to send us plastic buckets for water storage as we experience floods at the moment.

I dont know about their (UK) intentions, but I know our intentions were purely made with a lot of input from the floriculture industry. This is one way of remaining 'connected ' with your former customer and gaining new ones. You might want to add that: "akufaaye kwa dhiki ndiye rafiki "

It is ver

It is very sad that you represent a large demographic that, to be honest, cannot think to save their lives.

I have given a very apt illustration on this silly entitlement, dependency and failure to see the big picture but let me repeat it; millions of you complaining and whining about Kepsa sending a few flowers to London (yes, it was private sector initiative and Uhuru only launched it) ARE ALIVE BECAUSE BRITAIN, THE US AND OTHER EUROPEAN COUNTRIES GIVE BILLIONS EAC YEAR TO BUY YOU ARVS, ANTI-MALARIALS AND VACCINES. Have you heard of Pepfar? have you heard of GAVI? Have you heard of UNAids?

When the US gives you niggas in Kenya 40b each year to buy ARVs because you ferked without condoms, you want to tell me they don't have poor people on their streets who can use the money? Is it that you are so dim not to realise that international relations are a complex art that involves give and take?

And when tonnes of flowers are rotting in our farms, why not use a few to create a marketing buzz for the post-Covid season?

You probably supported Raila the Buffoon so I can see where your ad hominems are coming from. Ugua pole pole bro, but the Babuon will NEBP.