Owning a drone - KCAA fees

Drone importation and registration
  1. Issuance of import permit: $30 or about KES 3,000
  2. Registration: $30 or about KES 3,000. The comparative charge for registration under the existing regulation in KES 6,000.
  3. Certificate for registration, deregistration, or cancellation: $20 or about KES 2,000. The current cost is KES 10,000.
  4. Copy of the drone register: KES 3,000. The fee has not been drafted for an adjustment.
  5. Change of ownership: $25 or KES 2,500
  6. Amendment of the certificate of registration: $40 or about KES 4,000
  7. Issuance of a temporary permit: $100 or KES 10,000
Airworthiness
The fees will be based on the current charges. At the moment, it is KES 7,000 for gliders that are not heavier than 1000 kilograms.
Remote Air Operator Certificate (ROC)
  1. Initial issue: $1000 or about KES 100,000
  2. Renewal of ROC: $500 or about KES 50,000 that is 80% of the initial charge
  3. Additional of a drone to the ROC: $50 or about KES 5,000
  4. Inclusion of the new drone Type: $200 or KES 20,0000
  5. Approval of manuals: $50 or about KES 5,000
Training Organization
  1. Training organization approval: $1000 or about KES 100,000
  2. Renewal of ATOs certificate: KES 80,000
  3. Modification/amendment approval: $500 or about KES 50,000
Authorization
  1. Operation authorization: $20 for Category A or $25 for Category B & C.
  2. Overflight permit: $100 or about KES 10,000
  3. Carriage of dangerous goods: KES 30,000 OpSpecs approval less than 5700 kgs.
Licensing
  1. Issue of SRPL: KES 1000
  2. Issue of RPL: $40
  3. Beyond Visual Line of Sight (B-VLOS) Rating: KES 2000
  4. Extended Visual Line of Sight (E-VLOS) Rating: KES 2000
  5. Renewal of RPL: $20
  6. Instructor rating for RPL: $30
  7. Reissuing of duplicate RPL: $100
  8. Validation of RPL: $50
  9. Examination SRPL: $40 from KES 1500
  10. Examination RPL: KES 2500
  11. Examinations Repeat (partial pass): Half of the normal rate.
According to the KCAA, ‘The charges are quoted in US Dollars however the conversion will be done and flexibility of payment in Kenya shillings facilitates. The exchange rates will be applied in line with other charges in the aviation charging system.’

Source

Ole Waru

I thought these restrictions were lifted, some people don't understand how innovation works, all their interested is making money.

Duke of Busia

We own a DJI mavic na sjai lipa kitu ng'o coz we use it kwa private functions ata kama authorities are in attendance.

We use it to read LCDs on installed fixtures that we cannot physically if anyone attended the First lady half marathon then you must've seen a Grey UAS hovering over the presidential dias ...yes is Mimi was piloting it

We also use it kupata aerial shots za places that need proper lighting while events go on.

Wacha ntafte pics kwa archives ni upload

DeepInYourMind

We own a DJI mavic na sjai lipa kitu ng'o coz we use it kwa private functions ata kama authorities are in attendance.

We use it to read LCDs on installed fixtures that we cannot physically if anyone attended the First lady half marathon then you must've seen a Grey UAS hovering over the presidential dias ...yes is Mimi was piloting it

We also use it kupata aerial shots za places that need proper lighting while events go on.

Wacha ntafte pics kwa archives ni upload
How did you go about importing it. Ama uli smuggle

Drone importation and registration
  1. Issuance of import permit: $30 or about KES 3,000
  2. Registration: $30 or about KES 3,000. The comparative charge for registration under the existing regulation in KES 6,000.
  3. Certificate for registration, deregistration, or cancellation: $20 or about KES 2,000. The current cost is KES 10,000.
  4. Copy of the drone register: KES 3,000. The fee has not been drafted for an adjustment.
  5. Change of ownership: $25 or KES 2,500
  6. Amendment of the certificate of registration: $40 or about KES 4,000
  7. Issuance of a temporary permit: $100 or KES 10,000
Airworthiness
The fees will be based on the current charges. At the moment, it is KES 7,000 for gliders that are not heavier than 1000 kilograms.
Remote Air Operator Certificate (ROC)
  1. Initial issue: $1000 or about KES 100,000
  2. Renewal of ROC: $500 or about KES 50,000 that is 80% of the initial charge
  3. Additional of a drone to the ROC: $50 or about KES 5,000
  4. Inclusion of the new drone Type: $200 or KES 20,0000
  5. Approval of manuals: $50 or about KES 5,000
Training Organization
  1. Training organization approval: $1000 or about KES 100,000
  2. Renewal of ATOs certificate: KES 80,000
  3. Modification/amendment approval: $500 or about KES 50,000
Authorization
  1. Operation authorization: $20 for Category A or $25 for Category B & C.
  2. Overflight permit: $100 or about KES 10,000
  3. Carriage of dangerous goods: KES 30,000 OpSpecs approval less than 5700 kgs.
Licensing
  1. Issue of SRPL: KES 1000
  2. Issue of RPL: $40
  3. Beyond Visual Line of Sight (B-VLOS) Rating: KES 2000
  4. Extended Visual Line of Sight (E-VLOS) Rating: KES 2000
  5. Renewal of RPL: $20
  6. Instructor rating for RPL: $30
  7. Reissuing of duplicate RPL: $100
  8. Validation of RPL: $50
  9. Examination SRPL: $40 from KES 1500
  10. Examination RPL: KES 2500
  11. Examinations Repeat (partial pass): Half of the normal rate.
According to the KCAA, ‘The charges are quoted in US Dollars however the conversion will be done and flexibility of payment in Kenya shillings facilitates. The exchange rates will be applied in line with other charges in the aviation charging system.’

Source
Hakuna armature free licence, kama ya radio?

Duke of Busia

I saw the price review kwa website yao nikastuka ni kama hawajui most guys buy for recreational purposes and we don't buy the commercial category drones

Point of information:

A drone can be loaded with explosives and rummed into e.g a group of politicians.

Now you know
kama ile stori ya Maduro in Venezuela,either way these are things that we should not be importing,zinafaa kuwa zinatengenezwa na watoto during art and craft pale primary