Old P.C upgrade, M.2 NVME SSD via PCIE PORT

Afro

cc @Luther12
some of you may remember a previous thread, similar to the one i am about to narrate here.
Old P.C upgrade, USB 3.0 via PCIE PORT.

Now, i had also previously upgraded my very old 1st Generation Core i3 computer from a traditional hard disk, the slow type with spinning disks, to a SATA SSD.

unfortunately, i didnt do a thread about it. that upgrade turned out to be a bit disappointing since i did not get the full SATA III SSD speeds of around 500MB/s.
i have only been getting half the speeds because the SATA ports on my motherboard are SATA ii ports and not SATA III ports.
SATA II PORT.png

so, its quite an old PC

i have always wanted speeds higher than the ones above of around 250MB/s ish
so today we gonna upgrade further to a faster SSD.

the tools for the job are:

1. M.2 NVME SSD
IMG_20220322_150407_HDR.jpg

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000043752320.html?spm=a2g0o.order_list.0.0.21ef1802JDZtqj

2. A PCI Express adapter card

IMG_20220322_150754_HDR.jpg

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002319047049.html?spm=a2g0o.order_list.0.0.21ef1802lgXUeg

switch off your desktop and remove the cover.
the first step will be to insert our SSD on the port labeled NVME SSD on our adapter card and secure it on the card with a screw as shown below.
IMG_20220322_151459_HDR.jpg

then, next will be inserting our adapter card into a PCIE port on the motherboard, usually labeled XP16PCIEXP or XP4PCIEXP
IMG_20220322_151020_HDR.jpg

IMG_20220322_151635_HDR.jpg

IMG_20220322_151722_HDR.jpg

after this i switched on the computer and did a disk initialization, which is important for the new disk to be recognized by the computer.
i have pasted a link below about the small process.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/storage/disk-management/initialize-new-disks

after doing a speed test on the new disk, this were the speeds,
Screenshot (88).png

i am quite impressed by this old PC upgrade and i plan to migrate my O.S (cloning) and all other soft-wares to ran from the new faster Disk. this will
make the computer 3-4 times faster than it currently is.

JazzMan

Umeenda njia mrefu lakini sijui budget na malengo yako. Motherboard is your bottleneck na itakusumbua huko mbele.

Upgrade ya motherboard would have sorted everything but that would have meant a newer generation processor upgrade, na vile those things are not cheap. The rest would have fallen in place.

Lakini experiments muhimu kwa mwanaume.

JazzMan

Najaribu kuamsha an old laptop for an autistic nephew. Nimeingia mle nikafanya usafi na kubadilisha mpaka thermal paste. Baada ya kuinstall Windows 10 nikaona nimefanya upus. Wacha nikatafute something newer from eBay

20220305_202301_mfnr.jpg

20220307_155858_mfnr.jpg

i plan to migrate my O.S (cloning) and all other soft-wares to ran from the new faster Disk. this will
This depends on the motherboard capabilities . Some motherboards will not recognize PCI-based storage devices at boot.
Ingia BIOS menu and check if its possible to have the PCI drive as a boot drive or you can access the boot menu and check if the PCI based drive is listed .

Afro

This depends on the motherboard capabilities . Some motherboards will not recognize PCI-based storage devices at boot.
Ingia BIOS menu and check if its possible to have the PCI drive as a boot drive or you can access the boot menu and check if the PCI based drive is listed .
You could be very right, I doubt it will be possible to boot from a PCI based drive, i will still try any way for the challenge of it and see. If it fails then the O.S stays in the shower SATA SSD, then heavy softwares i use, akina Photoshop, adobe illustrator, photoscape X, nizi re install on the M.2 NVME.

Afro

IMG_20220324_093628_HDR.jpg

Luther12

cc @Luther12
some of you may remember a previous thread, similar to the one i am about to narrate here.
Old P.C upgrade, USB 3.0 via PCIE PORT.

Now, i had also previously upgraded my very old 1st Generation Core i3 computer from a traditional hard disk, the slow type with spinning disks, to a SATA SSD.

unfortunately, i didnt do a thread about it. that upgrade turned out to be a bit disappointing since i did not get the full SATA III SSD speeds of around 500MB/s.
i have only been getting half the speeds because the SATA ports on my motherboard are SATA ii ports and not SATA III ports.
View attachment 57479
so, its quite an old PC

i have always wanted speeds higher than the ones above of around 250MB/s ish
so today we gonna upgrade further to a faster SSD.

the tools for the job are:

1. M.2 NVME SSD
View attachment 57481
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000043752320.html?spm=a2g0o.order_list.0.0.21ef1802JDZtqj

2. A PCI Express adapter card

View attachment 57483
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002319047049.html?spm=a2g0o.order_list.0.0.21ef1802lgXUeg

switch off your desktop and remove the cover.
the first step will be to insert our SSD on the port labeled NVME SSD on our adapter card and secure it on the card with a screw as shown below.
View attachment 57484

then, next will be inserting our adapter card into a PCIE port on the motherboard, usually labeled XP16PCIEXP or XP4PCIEXP
View attachment 57485

View attachment 57488

View attachment 57491

after this i switched on the computer and did a disk initialization, which is important for the new disk to be recognized by the computer.
i have pasted a link below about the small process.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/storage/disk-management/initialize-new-disks

after doing a speed test on the new disk, this were the speeds,
View attachment 57496
i am quite impressed by this old PC upgrade and i plan to migrate my O.S (cloning) and all other soft-wares to ran from the new faster Disk. this will

4-times as fast? Impressive. Kudos man.