nyamakima tax evaders

Chinese imports valued at Sh431.9 billion for the first 10 months of last year are missing from official data reported by the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA), raising concerns over the scale of tax evaded in the election year.

An analysis of official trade data published separately by the two countries' tax authorities has revealed a wide disparity in the value of imports from the Asian economic giant.

Official KRA data, as published by the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics (KNBS), placed the value of imports from China at Sh377.5 billion in the review period.

However, the General Administration of Customs of the People’s Republic of China (GACC), which is the equivalent of KRA, says on its website that the goods exported from China to Kenya during this period were valued at Sh809.4 billion — more than twice the figure given by the KR

I am not defending any of this, but there are possible explanations. Remember that China at the time was involved in major infrastructure projects, including the SGR and the Expressway. Many of the components/machinery for these could have been tax-exempt on our side.

The actual problem is with our media. In pursuit of a juicy story they never cover all bases, so we are left to wonder whether these stories are true or not.

Did they for example get the KRA position?

Chinese imports valued at Sh431.9 billion for the first 10 months of last year are missing from official data reported by the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA), raising concerns over the scale of tax evaded in the election year.

An analysis of official trade data published separately by the two countries' tax authorities has revealed a wide disparity in the value of imports from the Asian economic giant.

Official KRA data, as published by the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics (KNBS), placed the value of imports from China at Sh377.5 billion in the review period.

However, the General Administration of Customs of the People’s Republic of China (GACC), which is the equivalent of KRA, says on its website that the goods exported from China to Kenya during this period were valued at Sh809.4 billion — more than twice the figure given by the KR
This country is some sort of a joke or a magical illusion.

I am not defending any of this, but there are possible explanations. Remember that China at the time was involved in major infrastructure projects, including the SGR and the Expressway. Many of the components/machinery for these could have been tax-exempt on our side.

The actual problem is with our media. In pursuit of a juicy story they never cover all bases, so we are left to wonder whether these stories are true or not.

Did they for example get the KRA position?
but sgr was completed when mzee? Even expressway by February last year it was already opened, meaning there was no large capital construction going on..
The period in question is between January to October last year.

Expressway has just celebrated 10m car passing...

kijanamrefu

but sgr was completed when mzee? Even expressway by February last year it was already opened, meaning there was no large capital construction going on..
The period in question is between January to October last year.

Expressway has just celebrated 10m car passing...
10m cars passing averages out to 50k cars per day since the launch. Very interesting.

Your phone has a calculator. The fact that you can't use it correctly, or that you simply cant do simple maths, shows the depth of shit we in Africa are in.

Imagine if we gave you the task to calculate the tangents, thrust forces and speeds to take a craft to the moon...

kijanamrefu

Your phone has a calculator. The fact that you can't use it correctly, or that you simply do simple maths, shows the depth of shit we in Africa are in.

Imagine if we gave you the task to calculate the tangents, thrust forces and speeds to take a craft to the moon...
10,000,000 divided by 210 days(7 months) equals ~47,000.

Pls enda ukahare mahali pengine.

The government during Moi error and Kibaki era privatised public services that's why people are hard pressed to pay taxes. I went to a good public primary, secondary and university. I drunk water straight from the tap. I used to go to public clinics. I used to travel using KBS that had a timed schedule. Garbage was collected by the council. Our parents with meagre salaries would raise families comfortably.

All those things have now been privatised and it's costs way more to to have them now. So even if the hardware guy is willing to pay taxes, he will be left with nothing to take care of school, transport, health etc family comes first.

So even if the hardware guy is willing to pay taxes, he will be left with nothing to take care of school, transport, health etc family comes first
Nakubaliana na wewe on explanation but hii part naona ni kama kuna shida .Are you saying the hardware guy can't manage to support his family with 2k profit daily ?