No Reprieve Soon

@Okiya , you are mboss! This beats building a pigsty at the hacienda. Do you copy you dry bones @Guuka wa Wingroad? Na wewe pia sumbua @Wa matawa. That's the gospel from the Idiot who is neither big nor a dog 😁
Na bado. The next fed meeting is on November 2nd. They will raise interest again. In December fed will also meet and they will raise the interest again.By the end of 2022 the interest rate could be 4.25%. Institutional investors will go to US

Na bado. The next fed meeting is on November 2nd. They will raise interest again. In December fed will meet and they will raise the interest again
Why should I invest any money outside KE bowl?

If you had dollars, would you horde?

Makhalanganga

The worst thing Kenya, or any country, can do to itself and it's people is to follow IMF and WB prescriptions.

These two organisations are neo-colonial institutions whose basic mandate is to keep economies hooked to the Western extractive financial system.

They'll tell you to privatise everything so that their 'investors" (oligarchs really) can buy your public assets extremely cheaply.

Just look at Safaricon, hived off from Telkom. They knew the potential of mobile telephony and insisted that GoK sell it to a foreign strategic investor. Vodafone swopped in. The original KPTC was left with unprofitable landlines.

Don't be surprised if they now come and tell us to sell of KCB, Kengen, KP and other strategic assets for instance. They know this economy will expand tremendously in the next decade, and they want when you put on that light bulb some faceless whites continue to become super-rich...
You are very right but you forgot to mention that over the last 10 years, tulijiingiza in a very tight spot literally leaving our anuses exposed. Sasa kichwa na mabega imekwama huko mbele but matako iko wazi huku nje. Watatufanya vibaya sana hao watu bila utelezi wowote. Ama what do you understand by lender of last resort?
That aside, methinks the govt should accept IMF/World Bank terms waache banks ziteseke kidogo zirudi hawking loans kwa streets. They have the potential of jump starting out stalled economy. Either that ama tuendelee kutombwa na chinaman. Entrepreneurs tunaumia sana after being crowded out by the govt over the last 8 or so years.

Why should I invest any money outside KE bowl?
For you and me we're better off investing in Kenya.Institutional investors with millions of dollars are the ones who will go to US. UK also increased the interest rates yesterday. The effect of that?

-Shilling depreciates v dollar
-Local bonds attracting higher rates
-Falling remittances
-Surging yields on eurobonds hence Kenya will not afford to borrow from international market.
- The only option for Kenya to borrow is IMF or expensive commercial bank loans
- Investors selling off at the NSE

If we were a net exporter the shocks wouldn't be severe

You are very right but you forgot to mention that over the last 10 years, tulijiingiza in a very tight spot literally leaving our anuses exposed. Sasa kichwa na mabega imekwama huko mbele but matako iko wazi huku nje. Watatufanya vibaya sana hao watu bila utelezi wowote. Ama what do you understand by lender of last resort?
That aside, methinks the govt should accept IMF/World Bank terms waache banks ziteseke kidogo zirudi hawking loans kwa streets. They have the potential of jump starting out stalled economy. Either that ama tuendelee kutombwa na chinaman. Entrepreneurs tunaumia sana after being crowded out by the govt over the last 8 or so years.
That's exactly where we are. Right now we have no choice other than IMF. There's nobody left in the market who we can borrow from. The other option is for Kenya to halt development expenditure and massively cut on recurrent expenditure. But that has political consequences.

Thought it's obvious why the fed is increasing the interest rates. Or you don't know?
if that is the case, we will be OK since the whole world is in on it, Kenyans are more resilient when it comes to global issues. I thought it was a situation unique to Kenya.

Madam, naona kama mboch aliniambukiza kaswende. Nikikojoa naona moshi. Please advise. Thanks and God bless..

Ubongo

That's exactly where we are. Right now we have no choice other than IMF. There's nobody left in the market who we can borrow from. The other option is for Kenya to halt development expenditure and massively cut on recurrent expenditure. But that has political consequences.
Honeymoon is over...the more reasons he wants to appease so many hangers on with CAS positions....so don't count on recurrent expenditure.
We are in a difficult situation.