NIS Agent Murdered in Attempt to Rescue Woman

A National Intelligence Service (NIS) agent and a Landlord were stabbed to death by a man as they tried to rescue the man's estranged wife from domestic violence.

The incident occurred in Kabiyet, Nandi County where the duo's act of kindness turned into a sorrow mission.

Benjamin Sugut, a 58-year-old NIS officer was rushed to Mosoriot Hospital alongside the woman's landlord Edwin Cheruiyot Kogo.

The two however later succumbed to the stab wounds sustained during the incident after being admitted in the hospital.

According to the police, the man had stuffed a knife while going to visit the estranged wife, Joyline Jelagat and brandished the knife upon arrival.

The incident took place at Jelagat's shop at Kapkeringon shopping centre where a fight broke up with the estranged wife screaming for help from residents.

Residents including the NIS officer responded to Jelagat's distress call with the man who was identified as Elkana going on a stabbing spree.

The man went on to stab five others before police from Kabiyet Police Station arrived to the scene and manage to put the situation under control.

Following the incident, irate residents gathered surrounded the shopping centre baying for the blood of the suspect.

Clemoooo

A National Intelligence Service (NIS) agent and a Landlord were stabbed to death by a man as they tried to rescue the man's estranged wife from domestic violence.

The incident occurred in Kabiyet, Nandi County where the duo's act of kindness turned into a sorrow mission.

Benjamin Sugut, a 58-year-old NIS officer was rushed to Mosoriot Hospital alongside the woman's landlord Edwin Cheruiyot Kogo.

The two however later succumbed to the stab wounds sustained during the incident after being admitted in the hospital.

According to the police, the man had stuffed a knife while going to visit the estranged wife, Joyline Jelagat and brandished the knife upon arrival.

The incident took place at Jelagat's shop at Kapkeringon shopping centre where a fight broke up with the estranged wife screaming for help from residents.

Residents including the NIS officer responded to Jelagat's distress call with the man who was identified as Elkana going on a stabbing spree.

The man went on to stab five others before police from Kabiyet Police Station arrived to the scene and manage to put the situation under control.

Following the incident, irate residents gathered surrounded the shopping centre baying for the blood of the suspect.
😥Very sad indeed

Doc oga

Financial problems might be the cause of these domestic wrangles culminating in death of one of the partners or both.

Yaani you read between the lines until you found mitigation for a double homicide and multiple assaults. Ukisota wewe hudunga watu visu?

I just read some comments here and wonder. One of those dead is a security officer who has sworn to maintain the law and when he dies in the line of duty we still condemn him? Kwani nyinyi maubwa, yes, MAUBWA mnataka nini? Aaaaaaaaaaah, nimeshika nare, report me!!!

Mawaya

Which takes us back to minding our own biz...
Domestic fights are usually tough to intervene in.
You separate a fighting couple then after some days you see them leave together leisurely and come back with one loaf of bread chatting warmly and laughing their heads off.
You are left feeling like a goat.
You decide to live your life and then one of them gets maimed or dies and your conscience will never give you peace knowing you should have done something.

Domestic fights are usually tough to intervene in.
You separate a fighting couple then after some days you see them leave together leisurely and come back with one loaf of bread chatting warmly and laughing their heads off.
You are left feeling like a goat.
Nandi County, Nandi North Sub County,
Kabiyet police station. OB NO. 22/3/5/2020.

Subject: Murder Incident Report. It was reported by one MR. JOHN KORIR Tel No. 0710531980, the Assistant Chief Chepkoyo Sub Location that he had received information that one ELKANA KIPLIMO SITINI of Kapkeringon village within his sub Location had gone to the shop of his wife JOYLINE JELAGAT whom they had seperated with for sometime within Kapkeringon shopping center armed with a knife. An argument arose between the two and the wife started screaming. Members of the public incuding his wife's Landlord BENJAMIN SUGUT went to see what was happening. He turned to them with the knife injuriny some people. Police officers from Kabiyet police station rushed to the scene and found five people having been stabbed by the said ELKANA. Two of them had been rushed to Mosoriot Hospital while the said ELKANA had locked himself in his wife's room and members of the public who were hostile had surrounded the house to lynch him. Police used necessary force and managed to arrest him while having a stub wound on his left arm. He was treated at Kabiyet sub county Hospital and discharged in a stable condition and is now in police custody. The SCPC and the SCCIO rushed to Mosoriot Hospital to assess the condition of those who had been rushed there and found as follows;
1. Two people BENJAMIN SUGUT aged 58 years, a NIS officer stationed at Kisumu who is also the Landlord and EDWIN CHERUIYOT KOGO had already succumed to the injuries. The body of BENJAMIN had a sturb wound on the chest and head while the body of EDWIN had a stub wound on the chest and cut wounds on both hands.
2. COSMAS KIPKEMBOI KOSGEI aged 59 years had his left thumb chopped off while COLLINS KIBET aged 20 years had an injury on the head. Both were treated at Mosoriot Hospital and discharged in fair condition.
3. NICHOLAS KIMUTAI aged 45 years had a stub wound at the left side of the back. He was referred to Kapsabet Referral Hospital. The bodies of the two deceaseds were removed to Kapsabet Referral Hospital Mortuary pending postmortem . The murder weapon is yet to be recovered.Case PBC.

Mawaya

I just read some comments here and wonder. One of those dead is a security officer who has sworn to maintain the law and when he dies in the line of duty we still condemn him? Kwani nyinyi maubwa, yes, MAUBWA mnataka nini? Aaaaaaaaaaah, nimeshika nare, report me!!!
NIS officers swear to enforce what law?
Go slow on the drinking during the day