Nganya transfer window

Magreb

Am I the only one who finds matatu culture idiotic and retrogressive? What is the end game of most participants? They just talk of buying a matatu one day and such loft dreams waomoke but how many actually do it? Buruburu and Umoja for example is full of former know it all matatu touts, conductors and driver who, in our college days, hungewambia kitu. They used to call us mafala for our ever empty pockets, presentable dressing, good English and almost zero knowledge of sheng, moderate drinking and the fact that we spent most of our time in college trying to get ourself out of some situation. Their typical day involved kuamka asubuhi, kung'ara na the latest fashion, hanging on doors like monkeys and ending the day with copious amounts of alcohol, nyama choma na madem.
Madem nao walikuwa hawashikiki hawaambiliki. Talking to them in the name of kuwakatia would end up in great embarrassment since in their own words, we couldn't afford them. Makangas had spoilt them with easy money. Most ended up pregnant for the matatu louts who took to the woods naturally. Touts would ask you not to sit in specific seats since hizo walikuwa wamereserve for their girls who would join the ride further down the road.
Well those mboys and ngirls siku hizi wamebaki kuomba mbao ya fegi ama soo ya kutoa lock every time they see you rolling in your former hood.
END OF RANT.

Am I the only one who finds matatu culture idiotic and retrogressive? What is the end game of most participants? They just talk of buying a matatu one day and such loft dreams waomoke but how many actually do it? Buruburu and Umoja for example is full of former know it all matatu touts, conductors and driver who, in our college days, hungewambia kitu. They used to call us mafala for our ever empty pockets, presentable dressing, good English and almost zero knowledge of sheng, moderate drinking and the fact that we spent most of our time in college trying to get ourself out of some situation. Their typical day involved kuamka asubuhi, kung'ara na the latest fashion, hanging on doors like monkeys and ending the day with copious amounts of alcohol, nyama choma na madem.
Madem nao walikuwa hawashikiki hawaambiliki. Talking to them in the name of kuwakatia would end up in great embarrassment since in their own words, we couldn't afford them. Makangas had spoilt them with easy money. Most ended up pregnant for the matatu louts who took to the woods naturally. Touts would ask you not to sit in specific seats since hizo walikuwa wamereserve for their girls who would join the ride further down the road.
Well those mboys and ngirls siku hizi wamebaki kuomba mbao ya fegi ama soo ya kutoa lock every time they see you rolling in your former hood.
END OF RANT.
This is replicated in almost all the hoods of Nairobi.

END OF RANT.
Them days, when rare watts wasn't rare, tulikuwa na jamaa alikuwa anaitwa Rare Watts. Msee was Buru. Alikuwa na ma-showray kiasi. Alafy konkodi mmoja

Thats how ancient my sheng is. @skampaka, jaribu

END OF RANT.
My friend Gishoni,the kyuk slang for a big guy called John, was a star during the 90s route 23. I was in college.His brother was a mat driver too. One day niga pulled a fast stunt which failed spectacularly and he broke his arm. During his convalescence,he had lots of free time to sit around and chat. Niga had the same kind of dreams,dreams of buying his own mat. But he also envied nigas like us who as he put it 'went to school'.
So I challenged him in jest to take time off during his squads and go to college using the cash he made for the mats. And nigas made money. Apparently he took me seriously and actually went to college. Took a course in supplies management. The fancy term procurement nanagement had not hit these shores yet.
I finished college, got a job and moved out of the hood.
Three or fours years later we bumped into each other along the streets of the concrete jungle that is Nairobi. Guy was looking sharp in a suit. I was impressed. Apparently,after getting his diploma in supplies,he approached a tall relative who helped him land a gig with an NGO based in Cianda House that handled UN contracts. He was also earning good money. And he thanked me for planting the idea of going back to school in his mind. Nilikunywa,nikakula na nikatega fis..all at his expense. Buddies were good like that in those times.

Methinks that some of these mat guys lack direction or ideas about what to do. Others do the job coz that's all they want to do. Like my friend Yellow. We went to college together. 5 years of riots and booze and OC. During vacations niga used to be a makanga in South C mats. By the time we graduated,he had also graduated to being a driver. Last time we met,he was operating his own mat before Michuki came in with laws....

Snowball

END OF RANT.
There is always those two types role players in every generation to balance out human survival. We need the Thinkers, Farmer, Directors, Builder, Technicians, Servers, Cleaners, Sportsmen, Hookers, Beggars and Loosers to remind us that we don't want to be like them!