Maraga Fires Back at the Executive

MkukiMoto

Maraga accuses Uhuru of refusing to meet him over appointment of 41 judges

My advice to those close to the President is to have Uhuru immediately call and engage the CJ meaningfully right away.

The Executive can not win two raging battles one in parliament and another in the judiciary at the same time. The politicians he may ignore as part of the usual noise makers but Maraga has tons of credibility internationally including Western donor institutions countries. One thing we can not afford as a country is to portray a sense of recklessness on how we manage governance issues.

Chief Justice Maraga has made some serious allegations and has put a spot light on government disregarding court orders and essence in showing disrespect to ordinary Kenyans. The Wanjiku's evicted forcefully recently in Kariobangi and wazee with disability knocked down on our roads by speeding GOK vehicles.

Wait for Miguna miguna and the Tanga tanga brigade of wakina Nyoro and Kuria will jump on the court orders which will prove to be a hot potato for a divided Jubilee.

Penologist

Why doesn't he institute a go slow and tell judges and magistrates to refuse to hear any case and release suspects until court orders are obeyed.

AMONG THOSE DISREGARDED ARE COMPENSATION SUCH AS DUE TO ATTROCITIES, ACCIDENT S CAUSED BY GOK VEHICLES LEADING TO EVEN LOSS OF LIVES OR INCAPACITATION.

It's high time maraga stamped his independence,fight fire with fire.

Ukiletewa corrupt governor, refuse to charge him,refuse to sit in courts THAT IS THE LANGUAGE PEOPLE IN POWER UNDERSTAND.

It's called asserting Independence

AMONG THOSE DISREGARDED ARE COMPENSATION SUCH AS DUE TO ATTROCITIES, ACCIDENT S CAUSED BY GOK VEHICLES LEADING TO EVEN LOSS OF LIVES OR INCAPACITATION.
Hii imeniuma sana kwanza. Na yet, ukichelewa curfew the same govt is killing you for disobedience. I think riot is the language this autocrat will understand. I think we should own guns and riot, ju ukiriot they will kill you.

JSC should have sought to have the issue of "tainted judges" resolved before submitting the list to the president for formal appointment. The courts didn't help the matter either because they tied the president's hands - he either had to accept the whole list or reject it. JSC should have provided a mechanism where accused officers could have defended themselves. I do not think the framers of the constitution wanted a situation like the current one.

Yes, the president is right. You shouldn't get appointed if you have been involved with shady deals. You saw what they did with Phil's case.

Why doesn't he institute a go slow and tell judges and magistrates to refuse to hear any case and release suspects until court orders are obeyed.

It's high time maraga stamped his independence,fight fire with fire.

Ukiletewa corrupt governor, refuse to charge him,refuse to sit in courts THAT IS THE LANGUAGE PEOPLE IN POWER UNDERSTAND.

It's called asserting Independence
That's a footnote on the battle between JSC and the president. Look who is going to retire and when. It's all about the 41 judges that the president has failed to appoint. Why has Maraga failed to end extortion racket that is the traffic court for example?

Makavelli

JSC should have sought to have the issue of "tainted judges" resolved before submitting the list to the president for formal appointment. The courts didn't help the matter either because they tied the president's hands - he either had to accept the whole list or reject it. JSC should have provided a mechanism where accused officers could have defended themselves. I do not think the framers of the constitution wanted a situation like the current one.

Yes, the president is right. You shouldn't get appointed if you have been involved with shady deals. You saw what they did with Phil's case.
Pitisha iyo Fangi kipande ii 😂 😂

R_Silver

That's a footnote on the battle between JSC and the president. Look who is going to retire and when. It's all about the 41 judges that the president has failed to appoint. Why has Maraga failed to end extortion racket that is the traffic court for example?
Hapo nimekuunga mkono sana. While I sympathise with Maraga and do agree with a fair bit of what he says, he has not done much with what he has been given.

The Mwilu case.

The Waititu fake bail case.

The Akasha debacle (until uhuru gave the FBI the go-ahead to kidnap them)

The Owino shooting case, where in one of the most bizarre rulings, bail was supposed to pay medical fees.

The endless injunctions handed against gavament/individuals by the corrupt (mtu anakalia shamba yako, anaenda kortini anakaa miaka ingine 20).

I could go on and on and on.............

The Judiciary,like Caesar's wife, is supposed to be beyond reproach. The moment they lose the high moral ground we'd rather be stuck with elected officials. Nobody elected Maraga or his cabal of extremely corrupt judges and magistrates.

And just to illustrate the irony; these are people who give KRA endless injunctions against collecting taxes but when their budget is slashed you can hear the noise from here to Pluto, eti they want more money to buy Mercs.............

Pthooooooooooo!

The Mwilu case.

The Waititu fake bail case.

The Akasha debacle (until uhuru gave the FBI the go-ahead to kidnap them)

The Owino shooting case, where in one of the most bizarre rulings, bail was supposed to pay medical fees.

The endless injunctions handed against gavament/individuals by the corrupt (mtu anakalia shamba yako, anaenda kortini anakaa miaka ingine 20).

I could go on and on and on.............

The Judiciary,like Caesar's wife, is supposed to be beyond reproach. The moment they lose the high moral ground we'd rather be stuck with elected officials. Nobody elected Maraga or his cabal of extremely corrupt judges and magistrates.

And just to illustrate the irony; these are people who give KRA endless injunctions against collecting taxes but when their budget is slashed you can hear the noise from here to Pluto, eti they want more money to buy Mercs.............

Pthooooooooooo!
How is that related to disobedience of court orders?

Gus Weyne

How is that related to disobedience of court orders?
I know the question was not directed at me but I'll tell you how. You cannot be screaming from the rooftops about how someone else is undermining your office by not ensuring that the law is followed and applied to the letter, but you, who is in charge of applying the law - to the letter, cannot do it. Like few cases quoted by mzee wa Ndeiya are just an example.