Leo nimeshinda shambani

History Lesson.
166848451_3946649615355980_7922584362965259835_n.jpg

Chief Wambugu wa Mathangani's photo, taken by Col. Richard Meinertzhagen in 1903.
He was thought to be in his 40s at this time. Most people believe he had 16 wives but apparently they were a lot more.
He was born in Gikondi village around 1865 and probably married his first wife in the 1890s. Some accounts have it that he eventually married 42 wives of whom 7 bore no children. In total he is said to have fathered about 60 children. He used marriage to cement his relationships with the most important families of Nyeri and Kiambu.
For example, he married into the Harry Thuku family, a daughter of the family of Chief Kinyanjui Gathirimu and for Gatonye Munene’s daughter he is reputed to have paid 80 goats at a time when the bride price was only 20 goats.
Wambugu was gazetted a paramount chief on 25th April 1913 and by 1916 he was controlling the largest population in the locations of present day Tetu division. It is while living next to the present day Nyeri Golf club that it is believed that this photograph was taken.
He was an early proponent for the value of education and gave out his land free of charge for the building of churches and schools. Some being – Gikondi Catholic Church – 1920, Kagumo School and Tambaya – 1930s, School of Scotland Mission at Gatitu and Riamukurue in 1948. In 1948, he leased out for 50 years, 203 acres to the Nyeri District Council to establish Wambugu Farmers Training Centre. He also donated land for the building of Kagumo Coffee Factory.
Wambugu died on 1st January of 1959 and was buried with full military honours.
118761660_3369463896407891_9022939541898575682_n.jpg

Chief Wambugu wa Mathangani of Nyeri with his sixteen wives. C.1902
cc @QuadroK4000 uka woone mundu wa ihindi rimwe.

The best ones ni zile @Aviator alitaja juzi....

Zilikua tu zinamea na kurefuka.... Hata mvua gani inyeshe.... Actually ikianguka, bora ipate mchanga ita sprout tena... Na hakuna ku flower....

I remember kuna mama alijaza gunia shambani alafu akalipa mum 12bob.

I still ask my mum why up to this day.

Hizo skuma hakuna saa hii.

Sad!
Like with every other crop, the seed companies have ensured you do away with naturally propagating species
Zamani, we used to grow cotton. We would get the seeds from the harvest and use them for next planting. Them MonSanto came and gave us free high yielding seeds. We got a bumper harvest. But the seeds from this harvest couldn't be planted. So we had to buy seeds now.
Same thing happens with kales. And maize.
And every other crop

Like with every other crop, the seed companies have ensured you do away with naturally propagating species
Zamani, we used to grow cotton. We would get the seeds from the harvest and use them for next planting. Them MonSanto came and gave us free high yielding seeds. We got a bumper harvest. But the seeds from this harvest couldn't be planted. So we had to buy seeds now.
Same thing happens with kales. And maize.
And every other crop
Ile mbegu hawana ni ya custard apple..... Wacha nianze kuweka....

Niko na marebe matatu handu mucii..... Mbegu cia mutomoko.