Keroche ordered to pay over Sh9 billion in taxes arrears

Pure witch hunting. Just like they did with Humphrey.
Kwani how much sales does keroche make? And what happens when the company can't afford to pay even if they were to dispose all their assets? I foresee them closing down.

KRA is the leading cause of poverty in Kenya.
Handshake will sort this mess,
RAO will intervene
But it's sad, killing local investors
If you recall the original KRA demand was 14B which has now been moderated by the tribunal to 9B after hearing both sides. It means Keroche must have admitted cheating for the years in question. The tribunal decision (don't forget it is Keroche who asked case be moved to trib from HC) will now be filed with high court. Waandike cheque twende kazi ingine.

I Usually smell bullshit from miles away. Like this one is pure. Someone remind me the size of Keroche, yaani all their assets and the profits they declare annually.
Anything coming from this govt is always questionable. Decisions nī ta cia waing'a.

Mawaya

If you recall the original KRA demand was 14B which has now been moderated by the tribunal to 9B after hearing both sides. It means Keroche must have admitted cheating for the years in question. The tribunal decision (don't forget it is Keroche who asked case be moved to trib from HC) will now be filed with high court. Waandike cheque twende kazi ingine.
Gachui one day whoever you work for or whatever enterprise you run will come a foul of wrong government policies and there your sadistic being Mr right side of govt will come to an end.

They are a private company they do not declare their accounts to the public. They would only be required to disclose if they were planning an IPO to raise additional capital from the public.
But the figures don't make sense, remember the way Castle breweries ya the late karume how it was brought down . I read sam script here !
Hii sector ya walevi iko na wenyewe .

Gachui one day whoever you work for or whatever enterprise you run will come a foul of wrong government policies
Amen to that.
and there your sadistic being Mr right side of govt will come to an end.
Amen again.

But let me ask; Have I done anything other than help clarify the facts of the case so far? Should I have become hypocritical and pretended to be sympathetic to tax evaders who did not bother to cover their tracks because they believed they could bribe every KRA officer sent to them?

Wakenya mnatakaga nini wajameni? Serikali ikikosa kushika wezi munailaumu...ikiwashika mnasympathise nao.

I state facts...and facts are normally cold and stubborn.

But the figures don't make sense,
Tumesema ni za miaka mingi. If Keroche had allowed the case to go to full trial we would have heard the evidence KRA had to demand 14 B. But Keroche requested to move to tribunal where they could negotiate privately and apparently they have succeeded. For the tax demand to have been reduced by a whopping 5B is no joke unless KRA now feels dissatisfied and returns to court.

Castle breweries
These were given hard tackles by their rivals EABL wakainua mikono. EABL tried the same with Keroche but it was a different game because Keroche was being cushioned by the down market makali. Eventually EABL had to also go down market and stop wasteful fights. One of their skirmishes about the brown bottles is still in the courts.

They are a private company they do not declare their accounts to the public. They would only be required to disclose if they were planning an IPO to raise additional capital from the public.
We can estimate though. Being the second in the market share, we can look at the profits EABL at the very time. EABL brands constitutes 50% of the market share while Keroche takes 20%. These are the kind of profits EABL makes
20200311_194008.png

You can guess what Keroche could have made at the same time. Also, the dispute is not complete failure to pay taxes but rather avoidance. So part of the tax has been paid already. So does these KRA/DCI make sense?

Tuemesema ni za miaka mingi. If Keroche had allowed the case to go to full trial we would have heard the evidence KRA had to demand 14 B. But Keroche requested to move to tribunal where they could negotiate privately and apparently they have succeeded. For the tax demand to have been reduced by a whopping 5B is no joke unless KRA now feels dissatisfied and returns to court.
Meaning biashara in Kenya = cheating ,stealing evading taxes ! Very sad,very sad !

We can estimate though. Being the second in the market share, we can look at the profits EABL at the very time. EABL brands constitutes 50% of the market share while Keroche takes 20%. These are the kind of profits EABL makes
View attachment 6742
You can guess what Keroche could have made at the same time. Also, the dispute is not complete failure to pay taxes but rather avoidance. So part of the tax has been paid already. So does these KRA/DCI make sense?
What you have quoted here is corporate profit for which KBL needed to pay corporate tax (saidia hapa @Okiya as I am not very sure). But what Keroche was being asked for included taxes it collected on behalf of KRA such as VAT and excise but which it withheld. I have heard Humphrey mentioned but I remember among other things he was found with tax stamps not supplied by KRA.

Mwendawazimu

How comes brookside has never gotten a taxpayer award,I mean being the largest dairy processor ?i wonder how much tax they pay??or should we revisit this after 2022 together with the ncba tax evasion?

What you have quoted here is corporate profit for which KBL needed to pay corporate tax (saidia hapa @Okiya as I am not very sure). But what Keroche was being asked for included taxes it collected on behalf of KRA such as VAT and excise but which it withheld. I have heard Humphrey mentioned but I remember among other things he was found with tax stamps not supplied by KRA.
Allow me to study this case and report back tomorrow.

Mawaya

I state facts...and facts are normally cold and stubborn.
With your facts then tell us how and why collection is so painfully enforced while spending leads to all the cases we see everyday in court of wanton waste and outright theft that normally end up to nothing.
Why not similar efforts on both ends?

With your facts then tell us how and why collection is so painfully enforced while spending leads to all the cases we see everyday in court of wanton waste and outright theft that normally end up to nothing.
Why not similar efforts on both ends?
Start another thread tutachangia.

Rem corporate tax is always more than the VAT. Ata hiyo ya Humphrey was another sham, created by DCI to raise debate and paint Kariuki as evil. Its just impossible to have such kind of tax arrears considering their market share