Kanziku

If you are in Nairobi, weka gari full tank. And the vehicle needs good off road capabilities because this journey is rough.
Drive to kitui. Proceed to Mutomo. After Mutomo before you rejoin the the Kitui Kibwezi Road, look for this place on the left.
IMG_20200710_104953.jpg

That's where you take the road to Kanziku. It is an earth road. But the road is smooth and a speed of 50 is easily maintained. Be careful in hot weather coz getting stuck in sand is a real threat. Drive for 15kms to the AP Camp at Kanziku. Once there, locate a pub called Kanziku Classic (too bad I didn't take a pic). Inside the pub, ask for a guy called Munyithia. He's the Nyumba10 head of the village we are visiting. Most likely, he's not there, but you will get his phone number. Call him and mpesa 300 for nduthi coz wherever you are destined to can't be explained. It can only be experienced.

Munyithia will take approximately 1hr to arrive. Meanwhile, your car will have a well deserved break. Also, take time to relax and drink water (sorry, I forgot to instruct you to take at least 20lts with you). Once Munyithia arrives, tell him you want some land in Ikulungulu. And you have cash. He will get in the codriver seat and direct you through a treacherous 17kms of bush mpaka you lose your sense of direction. Strictly obey his instructions especially when he tells you to slow down on an obviously smooth stretch, otherwise you will run over an invisible tree stump and burst your tyre.
IMG_20200710_153548.jpg

If all goes well, you should arrive at Ikulungulu in 1.5hrs. That's along the boarder with Tsavo East.
Munyithia will direct you to several pieces of land of varying sizes. The price is fixed at 15k an acre. Payment is in 4 installments spread over the year. No full payment- that's the law of the community, and you aren't going to break it by paying in full.
Once you identify your desired piece, its time to call the chief and the surveyor. They are on Munyithia's speed dial. A deal means 20% commission shared amongst the three.
IMG_20200710_140842.jpg

The boundaries will be established and an agreement drafted. You pay 25%. Cash. The chief will affix his seal and you will be the proud owner of some land. You will however need to give Munyithia some 3k for erecting a fence around your property.
Next is making use of the land. First, build a house. This costs 5k. Munyithia will organize for the construction.
IMG_20200710_151013.jpg

Then build a goats shed and get goats. This will cost you 5k for the pen and 1800 per goat. Plus 50bob per goat to lead them from the market to your land.
IMG_20200710_141249.jpg

You also need a 250lts container (zile za blue huuzwa pale riverside for 2k) and 10 jerricans of 20lts- 4 for fetching the water, 2 to be sliced vertically, 2 to be sliced horizontally, and 2 for the herdsman. Buy a donkey as well-12k. Munyithia will give you a herdsman for 5k a month. He will also organize for branding for your goats (ruoro) for 500bob at Kanziku. Buy dewormer and a syringe. Munyithia is the veterinary doctor. You are now in business.

Return back to Kanziku and give Munyithia 1k for his day's work, plus another 300 for nduthi back home. Every month, send him 6k- 5k for the herdsman and 1k for his supervisory work.
If you had arrived at Kanziku by 9am in the morning, it should now be heading to 6pm. Drive Luke a madman to Mutomo and if you ain't too tired, proceed to kitui. For 1400, you will get bed and breakfast at Heritage Bliss Hotel, also called M&M.
IMG_20200710_200903.jpg

Take a cold shower and end the night in whatever way you want.
We will do the maths for the project later.

PS: before leaving Nairobi, get @Syndicate to sell you a solar lamp with 3 bulbs and torch for 3k. It keeps hyenas away from your herd.

For this investment to make sense, this is my advice based on 7 months' experience.
1) plan to have a herd size of 50 or thereabouts. Start with 25 males and 25 females. That is 90k. Within 6 months, your herd will have doubled, especially because the goats give birth to two or 3. And they breed like rats.
2) get at least 2 parcels not far from each other. Each around 15 acres. Every 3 months, move your herd to the other parcel. That's 450k. Add structures and miscellaneous and donkey, so call it 500k.
3) every visit there will cost you around 10k. And every month you spend like 7k on salt, meds and salos.
4) plan a visit every 2 months. Utapata at least 15 goats ready for market. Those will pay your expenses.
In the two months, you will have spent like 15k plus 10k for the trip, so 25k total. Each goat will fetch 5k in Nairobi wholesale price. So you have 75k. A net of 50. Restock 10 @1800, so you can comfortably count a profit of 30k every 2 months.
And your herd is forever increasing.
And its a good holiday out of nairobbery.

For this investment to make sense, this is my advice based on 7 months' experience.
1) plan to have a herd size of 50 or thereabouts. Start with 25 males and 25 females. That is 90k. Within 6 months, your herd will have doubled, especially because the goats give birth to two or 3. And they breed like rats.
2) get at least 2 parcels not far from each other. Each around 15 acres. Every 3 months, move your herd to the other parcel. That's 450k. Add structures and miscellaneous and donkey, so call it 500k.
3) every visit there will cost you around 10k. And every month you spend like 7k on salt, meds and salos.
4) plan a visit every 2 months. Utapata at least 15 goats ready for market. Those will pay your expenses.
In the two months, you will have spent like 15k plus 10k for the trip, so 25k total. Each goat will fetch 5k in Nairobi wholesale price. So you have 75k. A net of 50. Restock 10 @1800, so you can comfortably count a profit of 30k every 2 months.
And your herd is forever increasing.
And its a good holiday out of nairobbery.
Mkumbwa what about the kanju vets as you go from county to county
From Kilifi to Msa wanasumbua Sana we have to use panya routes.

Mkumbwa what about the kanju vets as you go from county to county
From Kilifi to Msa wanasumbua Sana we have to use panya routes.
Just get a No Objection letter from your vet (destination). Then ukue na za macho at the various road blocks.

Title unapewa lini? You do not want the 'community' reclaiming land once you succeed the way they do in Narok, Kajiado and Hotshit.
na hizi shamba unapata title deed ama ni agreement aina gani?
The land doesn't have a title. But they have official parcel numbers.
Indeed, its a gamble coz you never know when the ngafament will gazette the area as part of the park. Bit in the meantime, utakua umeikulia vilivyo.
Mama Saito next time ukienda usiniwache.
Great.
Shall shtua you well in advance.