.In this weeks 'The Nairobian

There are a million ways to make mullah in this Jamhuri. But the easiest, it has emerged, is to sell fool’s gold called "mburoti" to us mountain folks.
One, register a cooperative society with a name coined from the combined letters of your name and your wife’s. Acquire fifty acres of barren land dotted with thorny acacia in a scorched outpost on the fringes of central Kenya. Put up a gate grander than that of state house with a signpost screaming ‘gated community’. Subdivide the land into various plots sizes using footsteps or guess work but which you will later market as quarters or eighths.
Open an office in one of the bustling towns in central Kenya. Populate the sales office with specially selected yellow yellow daughters of the mountain-girls clever as the devil and twice as pretty. Make sure everyone knows the smiling belles by their first names-which are almost always Shiko or Shiro.
Next, hire a scandalous Kikuyu benga artiste as your brand ambassadeur. Splash his smiling images showing him receiving titles deeds of land he purchased from your company in billboards all over the region. Have him mention your company twice in every song during his live performances.
Outsource flashy adverts with grinning smart alecks in tight suits, sharp shooters and shiny phones extolling how your company processes title deeds within a day after one completes a payment. Buy prime slots in vernacular radio stations with a broadcaster who laughs raucously and mentions your company’s name every five minutes.
Employ some classic Ponzi tactics and make the land offers either too good to be true-or too good to miss. Or both. Mention an upcoming bypass nearby that will transform the hood into a living nirvana. Talk of an upcoming dual carriageway which will make the land prices in the area triple within a year. Base the investment on something ‘next’-the next middle class estate, the next big thing etc. Sell each plot to at least five people.
Of course the entrepreneurial mountain folks will ask questions about the areas viability. Don’t bother to answer such with concrete answers. Instead, resort to convoluted truisms like ‘Nairobi was divided up by Murang’a men when Kiambu men were asleep’. Appeal to the people’s greed for land and make them want it so badly that they will be ready to be taken advantage of.
At some point, the house of cards that you built will come tumbling. Some DCI sleuths will come sniffing around. Of course you know what to do-oil their palms with crisp brown notes.
A group of disgruntled investors will go to court which will tell them that they can’t sue you since they are members of the cooperative and you all own it. Thus cornered, they will organize a demo against you. The following day, have your ‘royal customers’ organize a demo in your support. Next, appear in a local radio station’s morning show and lament how gava is fighting investors who are doing a lot to uplift wananchi.
When things cool down, rebrand your company and head to a new town-there is always someone willing to buy plots in the moon. Finally, answer to the call of the people and run for political office.
.........In this weeks 'The Nairobian'.
323136872_1154751492076667_6664735624060930445_n.jpg
322995838_1226679677970920_6284480542342446019_n.jpg

There are a million ways to make mullah in this Jamhuri. But the easiest, it has emerged, is to sell fool’s gold called "mburoti" to us mountain folks.
One, register a cooperative society with a name coined from the combined letters of your name and your wife’s. Acquire fifty acres of barren land dotted with thorny acacia in a scorched outpost on the fringes of central Kenya. Put up a gate grander than that of state house with a signpost screaming ‘gated community’. Subdivide the land into various plots sizes using footsteps or guess work but which you will later market as quarters or eighths.
Open an office in one of the bustling towns in central Kenya. Populate the sales office with specially selected yellow yellow daughters of the mountain-girls clever as the devil and twice as pretty. Make sure everyone knows the smiling belles by their first names-which are almost always Shiko or Shiro.
Next, hire a scandalous Kikuyu benga artiste as your brand ambassadeur. Splash his smiling images showing him receiving titles deeds of land he purchased from your company in billboards all over the region. Have him mention your company twice in every song during his live performances.
Outsource flashy adverts with grinning smart alecks in tight suits, sharp shooters and shiny phones extolling how your company processes title deeds within a day after one completes a payment. Buy prime slots in vernacular radio stations with a broadcaster who laughs raucously and mentions your company’s name every five minutes.
Employ some classic Ponzi tactics and make the land offers either too good to be true-or too good to miss. Or both. Mention an upcoming bypass nearby that will transform the hood into a living nirvana. Talk of an upcoming dual carriageway which will make the land prices in the area triple within a year. Base the investment on something ‘next’-the next middle class estate, the next big thing etc. Sell each plot to at least five people.
Of course the entrepreneurial mountain folks will ask questions about the areas viability. Don’t bother to answer such with concrete answers. Instead, resort to convoluted truisms like ‘Nairobi was divided up by Murang’a men when Kiambu men were asleep’. Appeal to the people’s greed for land and make them want it so badly that they will be ready to be taken advantage of.
At some point, the house of cards that you built will come tumbling. Some DCI sleuths will come sniffing around. Of course you know what to do-oil their palms with crisp brown notes.
A group of disgruntled investors will go to court which will tell them that they can’t sue you since they are members of the cooperative and you all own it. Thus cornered, they will organize a demo against you. The following day, have your ‘royal customers’ organize a demo in your support. Next, appear in a local radio station’s morning show and lament how gava is fighting investors who are doing a lot to uplift wananchi.
When things cool down, rebrand your company and head to a new town-there is always someone willing to buy plots in the moon. Finally, answer to the call of the people and run for political office.
.........In this weeks 'The Nairobian'.
View attachment 83445View attachment 83446
In 1970, just after Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a land-selling company emerged in Nyeri. The promise was for people to acquire shares in the company which would translate to several acres on the moon.
If you have interacted with Nyeri folks, especially those in their 90's now, you'll know that they are the best in keeping secrets. So anyone acquiring a share in the company was warned to keep it a secret amongst a closed group of investors so that people from kiambu don't get wind of the existence of prime land on the moon. And thus, the marketing was done in hashed tones. A man with a share would remember his relatives in kitale, travel all the way (a journey of two days), steal the secret to the relatives,and return with a copy of their ID and cash for shares. He would then proceed to the company and register the relatives after bribing the officials,since the land was strictly meant for the closed group of investors.

The day to go view the land arrived. The meeting place was the DC's office in Nyeri. My grandpa just instructed the wife to pack two shirts and a trouser, a few bottles of water, some roast bananas and yams. He didn't reveal what was his mission. Just that he has some business to attend.

When the DC arrived in office at 9am, the place was filled to capacity. None of the men would reveal the secret mission. Even the DC couldn't be trusted. At 5pm, it's when one 'coward' got the guts to tell the DC what had happened. The DC just laughed and waved them away, telling them he shall communicate new dates.

My grandpa died believing the DC stole their land. I still have the original receipts for land on the moon.

there will be no more land to purchase very soon
That's a myth. In fact, the cost of land has started to depreciate in some places. Kenya is a large country (it would rank fourth in size if it were in Europe). A casual drive outside any urban area reveals swathes of unoccupied and undeveloped land all over the country. There will always be people selling and purchasing land.

Maina Kageni told us land is getting finished in kenya mzeiya....plus in Malindi the price of land has increased to the power of 10 in the last 2 years....an acre is now going for 430k...that has got to mean something.

Duke of Busia

Sasa Mimi Niko na a personal story- something close na giant stories from our class 4 primary English lakini I eavesdropped it while working for a client in 2018.

I was hired to install CCTv cameras Kwa ofisi ya watu flani wa mburoti maguta maguta kwa building 🏢 flani hapo Mombasa road on the other side ya kifaru, the watering hole.

Sasa nikiwa pilka zangu kwa laptop nikiwa nime kaa Chini one of the shiros or Nimos akaingia na client mmoja beste yake akajaribu kumpatia heads up that iyo mambo ya sight viewing asiende and they were being taken on a wild goose chase.

It happened that iyo character ya shiro alikua hired coz ya urembo yake anaweza entice Subaru Boyz wenye wanaenda Ku discuss story za prime land kwa bar sasa ubaya one of her friends ndio alijiingiza Kwa mtego.

The company was collecting mullah from clients na kumbe hawana shamba na ata hao pia ni brokers Tu.

Sasa shiro was like "wacha Nita make sure ume pata pesa zako back na please usiende iyo sight seeing coz mkienda itabidii mkubali kuongeza 150k after viewing the ghost 👻 land.

They agreed on a date yenye atakujia pesa.

Sasa Mimi coz I had already heard too much nikiwa Chini ya meza Niki Kazana na CAT 5 na crimping tool yangu, I silently grabbed my headphones na Nika amka ndio shiro na client wasijue I had already heard them n shiro was like Aya kwani mna weka mpaka wire huku na hatuja ambiwa.

Niki toka she followed me akijaribu ku jua kama naeza mpeana kwa mdosi. Ikabidii nipewe JD hapo Chini kwa supermarket with a promise ya kupewa a new client

YoungD

In 1970, just after Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a land-selling company emerged in Nyeri. The promise was for people to acquire shares in the company which would translate to several acres on the moon.
If you have interacted with Nyeri folks, especially those in their 90's now, you'll know that they are the best in keeping secrets. So anyone acquiring a share in the company was warned to keep it a secret amongst a closed group of investors so that people from kiambu don't get wind of the existence of prime land on the moon. And thus, the marketing was done in hashed tones. A man with a share would remember his relatives in kitale, travel all the way (a journey of two days), steal the secret to the relatives,and return with a copy of their ID and cash for shares. He would then proceed to the company and register the relatives after bribing the officials,since the land was strictly meant for the closed group of investors.

The day to go view the land arrived. The meeting place was the DC's office in Nyeri. My grandpa just instructed the wife to pack two shirts and a trouser, a few bottles of water, some roast bananas and yams. He didn't reveal what was his mission. Just that he has some business to attend.

When the DC arrived in office at 9am, the place was filled to capacity. None of the men would reveal the secret mission. Even the DC couldn't be trusted. At 5pm, it's when one 'coward' got the guts to tell the DC what had happened. The DC just laughed and waved them away, telling them he shall communicate new dates.

My grandpa died believing the DC stole their land. I still have the original receipts for land on the moon.
Lightning ⚡⚡⚡ indeed struck twice!! yaani ur grand pa aliingizwa, na wewe pia ukaingizwa na ule mukorino??
it seems to me you inherited stupidity...

Sasa Mimi Niko na a personal story- something close na giant stories from our class 4 primary English lakini I eavesdropped it while working for a client in 2018.

I was hired to install CCTv cameras Kwa ofisi ya watu flani wa mburoti maguta maguta kwa building 🏢 flani hapo Mombasa road on the other side ya kifaru, the watering hole.

Sasa nikiwa pilka zangu kwa laptop nikiwa nime kaa Chini one of the shiros or Nimos akaingia na client mmoja beste yake akajaribu kumpatia heads up that iyo mambo ya sight viewing asiende and they were being taken on a wild goose chase.

It happened that iyo character ya shiro alikua hired coz ya urembo yake anaweza entice Subaru Boyz wenye wanaenda Ku discuss story za prime land kwa bar sasa ubaya one of her friends ndio alijiingiza Kwa mtego.

The company was collecting mullah from clients na kumbe hawana shamba na ata hao pia ni brokers Tu.

Sasa shiro was like "wacha Nita make sure ume pata pesa zako back na please usiende iyo sight seeing coz mkienda itabidii mkubali kuongeza 150k after viewing the ghost 👻 land.

They agreed on a date yenye atakujia pesa.

Sasa Mimi coz I had already heard too much nikiwa Chini ya meza Niki Kazana na CAT 5 na crimping tool yangu, I silently grabbed my headphones na Nika amka ndio shiro na client wasijue I had already heard them n shiro was like Aya kwani mna weka mpaka wire huku na hatuja ambiwa.

Niki toka she followed me akijaribu ku jua kama naeza mpeana kwa mdosi. Ikabidii nipewe JD hapo Chini kwa supermarket with a promise ya kupewa a new client
Na slice to seal the deal?

I beg to differ. The selling of land is becoming problematic, with some incendiary politicians branding buyers "a problem" and iimpressing it upon the sellers that they were conned.