High Cost Of Thermal Elec In Kenya + Solar Silver Lining

FB_IMG_1632769077619.jpg

How comes there is such a big difference in cost between off grid stations run by KPLC in places like Mandera vs a much bigger and more efficient plant run by say Thika power?

But you can clearly see the silver lining in solar, as cheap as hydro + geothermal. Wacha tuone ya eldoret watalipwa ngapi in next years report

Kwani Strathmore university is also a power producer?
Yes, they are an IPP. Hizo thermal power generators should be buried! They are uneconomical and dead!

By now we could be having 1000 MW from coal at 7 shillings per unit if Kirubi and fellow thugs had not swayed the tendering process in their favour.

View attachment 44525

How comes there is such a big difference in cost between off grid stations run by KPLC in places like Mandera vs a much bigger and more efficient plant run by say Thika power?

But you can clearly see the silver lining in solar, as cheap as hydro + geothermal. Wacha tuone ya eldoret watalipwa ngapi in next years report
Completely unacceptable, Kenyans wanaibiwa mchana na usiku !

If only they could slightly pay more to KENGEN with a guarantee that the extra amount will be invested in more sustainable and reliable power generation .Hii ukora ya IPPs haingekua.

Do you guys remember when the Energy CS was begging all of you to use more power ndio wakulie...anyway Wacha tuseme that it is a good thing

There is no way China was going to fund a project that was snatched from a Chinese firm in broad daylight. The environmental reasons given are just convenient excuses.
but centum also had another chinku firm backing them

Ubongo

Kama, Moi na Kibaki, maybe Uhunye ataacha kama ameongeza contracts zile ziko karibu kuisha. We have to fund some families for very many years. Generational wealth.
Unfortunately, watu wengi hawajuangi hii maneno....tuko tu, Hasola Vs dynasty.

I rember him telling us to use electricity to cook and I thought kichwa yake lazima imeruka.
There was some logic in this plea because excess off-peak capacity would find some use. The only issue is that the current tariffs cannot allow such usage. May be they should have started by incentivizing people to use more power by charging less for higher usage instead of doing the opposite.

I see someone here talking coal, hata nashangaa how to respond.
Does he know why China is running towards renewable energy!
Anyway everyone has their perspective, but at least try live in the century we're in.

I see someone here talking coal, hata nashangaa how to respond.
Does he know why China is running towards renewable energy!
Anyway everyone has their perspective, but at least try live in the century we're in.
Those preaching against coal have had their fill. The world is still heavily reliant on coal for cheap electricity. Only fools in third-world countries are buying the green energy narrative. For poor populations, using no coal is more harmful using coal.

There was some logic in this plea because excess off-peak capacity would find some use. The only issue is that the current tariffs cannot allow such usage. May be they should have started by incentivizing people to use more power by charging less for higher usage instead of doing the opposite.
there was no logic there, it is like telling people that we have excess fuel please buy this fuel and use it for anything and we will still charge you premium rates for using that fuel unnecessarily