Greed In most Kenyan businesses

JazzMan

Me too, bro.

We now go back to where we begun. What's reasonable is what the largest number of customers are willing to pay. Maximizing volumes and numbers.

Apple produces airpods at less than Sh1,000. Customers are willing to pay, and do pay, Sh17,000 for them. Is that reasonable?
In the same vein, Sony had a stranglehold on the handheld gaming market to the point they decided to place a premium price on the PS Vita. They even forcing users to buy proprietary storage media that went for like $120 for 32 gigs. They failed and blamed mobile phones for their failure.

Nintendo came in with the Switch that was more reasonably priced, and offered great value to consumers. Guess who is enjoying sales up to today?

Stupidity tax?
Once upon a time I went to buy a TV in a site that was advertising itself via Facebook, I think I gave this same tale back in mcaville, when I went to their shop where a club Ibiza used to be, the niggas run away from me, they smelled cop I presumed from my accent. I went to Luthuli the 42 inch smart TV that has served me since 2015 is the same one I am using on my advance sitting room, where you receive all and sundry.
The gist in my argument is that, I have ensured that my siblings (4 in number) have bought from the same Somali guys in Luthuli avenue, why? They don't have crazy Mark up price.

Maybe what contractors should consider is giving attractive prices of the materials to their clients and instead charge more for their professional service. This way you make it clear to the client that you are charging for your skills, experience and efforts in building relationships/supply networks. Of course you are not obligated to reveal your suppliers. That way a smart client would feel less cheated and build more trust, which is a source of future business
This idea is yet to catch up in Kanywaji's country

Bottom line: Ni muhimu for consumers to do a bit of research before parting with their hard-earned coins.
And knowing exactly which brand you're looking for, with Chinese fakes influx utatupwa network if you go looking for unrealistic bargains, kuna siku nilienda kununua chuma na si kwenda directly to my usual hardware, nilenda ingine tu iko hio area ,after bargaining hio hardware ilikuwa less by a hundred per chuma,akili ingine ikaniambia before I buy nienda my usual hardware ni reason na mwenyewe anikatie hio mia, aliniuliza uko sure hio chuma ni same quality na ile alikuwa ame stock,akanionyesha yake, na bei akaniambia ni impossible kukata ,akanishow nilinganishe na ile niliona kwake before ninunue,kumbe ile hardware ilikuwa inauza substandard chuma

RANDY $

And knowing exactly which brand you're looking for, with Chinese fakes influx utatupwa network if you go looking for unrealistic bargains, kuna siku nilienda kununua chuma na si kwenda directly to my usual hardware, nilenda ingine tu iko hio area ,after bargaining hio hardware ilikuwa less by a hundred per chuma,akili ingine ikaniambia before I buy nienda my usual hardware ni reason na mwenyewe anikatie hio mia, aliniuliza uko sure hio chuma ni same quality na ile alikuwa ame stock,akanionyesha yake, na bei akaniambia ni impossible kukata ,akanishow nilinganishe na ile niliona kwake before ninunue,kumbe ile hardware ilikuwa inauza substandard chuma
Exactly, op thinks he got deal kumbe ni yeye alinyoroshwa ..... he is the type of client hujifanya wanajua alafu later they blame everyone for their own incompetence.

I see i hit a soft spot now you propably getting flashbacks as to why most clients are not returning for your services. Ripping people off wont keep you eating for long.

RANDY $

I see i hit a soft spot now you propably getting flashbacks as to why most clients are not returning for your services. Ripping people off wont keep you eating for long.
😁 😁 😁 .. Pole sana I work with bq and quotes... its either unatosha mboga or not. I don't have a problem with repeat clients.

Willing buyer, willing seller.
Najua tao nikienda baze za sports apparels nitapata jersey na 1,200 but I have a guy who delivers to my doorstep na ata anajua size yangu for 1,400 and I'm cool with that.
So value addition sometimes plays a part and is not necessarily the so-called stupid tax.

petlava

S
Hakuna kitu kama reasonable. If you can't get it elsewhere, or if you don't know where to get them, I'll price it how I want. I used to get some stuff I won't name for Sh19 in China and I sold them for Sh750. They moved like hot cakes until people flooded the market with them. Now they go for about Sh80 which is still a huge margin. I still have an ad with Sh580 as the price and it gets orders every now and again.
Surely, it makes more sense to sell a product bought for 19 at about 50-70 and sell loads rather than waiting for a now and again sale at 580?

X-TRAIL

research and spend if you feel comfortable the bad thing is that many people nowadays are greedy and some once they dicover you know they stop dealing with you waiting for another newbie wanyoroshe